We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby weekend”
Review of Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garda
Ranked #575 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here for the rugby as a group from Coventry.Hotel was ideal for all the historical sites.Room was basic but adequate for an all male party.Breakfast was ok,staff were very pleasant and the price was very good.We`ll all be back in 2014

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daffyduck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Rooms and location are perfect. Staffs are very kind and helpful. Whatever you want you can ask for advice to them. Rooms are very clean and lively. Hotel is close to everywhere. You can walk very popular places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After getting married, we went the next day to book a last minute holiday and whilst we werent expecting much, we werent let down.
It was our honeymoon and even though it doesnt guarantee you anything a simple 'Congratulations' would have been nice but not even that.

The good points for this place a few - location is very good, coffee in the morning is fresh and great plus it is a great feeling to leave the hotel in the morning.

Ok then, here goes;
The staff from the minute we got there were miserable and werent bothered at all, not sure we sure 1 smile during our stay (breakfast staff are the exception, very friendly).
The bed is the most uncomfortable i have ever slept on, rock hard and just terrible.
Room is dated.
Pillows were a joke, waking up every morning with neck ache was not fun.
Marks in the bath, on the ceiling in the bathroom.
No shower curtain and a shower you had to hold.
Didnt acknowledge honeymoon.
Breakfast is poor, limited choice.
Air conditioning is very loud.
Ruins a lovely day in Rome when you have to go back there.
When we checked out, after 4 nights, no one asked us if we had a nice time.

It is the little things that make a hotel for me and this was just really poor.
If you are going to Rome, pay more as it will be very worth it.
Id like to go back to Rome but will go nowhere near this place.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulowhittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed in Hotel Garda for a week, and everything was great. The staff was very nice and helpful. The airline had lost my luggage, and the hotel staff did everything in their power to try and help me located (it finally arrived after a two days). The hotel was very clean and the size of the room was a typical European size (not too big). The breakfast was also very Italian (coffee, croissants, cereal ect ..) which was perfect. I would recommend this hotel to everyone (from the tourists to the businessman).

Room Tip: Since breakfast was included, take advantage and eat at the hotel for breakfast because the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitaly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just returned from our daughters wedding, stayed at this hotel, Great location,close to Spanish steps and metro links,very helpful staff especially Luigi night receptionist ,would recommend and use this hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel in June - in Rome for Niece's wedding. Clean,Tidy, Luigi on Reception was most helpful and very friendly. basic breakfast but plenty. great location. Will use this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie6760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The staff of the hotel was very friendly, breakfast was very good, and the location of the hotel is great, but... the mattress was awful (there was a hole of the thousands of people who have already slept there), the shower was either too hot or too cold, and it seemed as if the walls were made out of cardboard, because you could hear everything the neighbors were saying. Perhaps this was only the case for room 214, so if you plan on staying there, just make sure you don't end up in this room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamia_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Cinquantatre
Hotel Cinquantatre
#464 of 1,271 in Rome
412 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#270 of 1,271 in Rome
742 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#702 of 1,271 in Rome
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
City Hotel
City Hotel
#498 of 1,271 in Rome
238 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#153 of 1,271 in Rome
1,298 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Casa I Cappuccini
Casa I Cappuccini
#410 of 1,271 in Rome
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda

Address: Via Lombardia 30, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #575 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £50 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garda is situated around the corner of Via Veneto and five minutes away from Piazza di Spagna in the city's most exclusive district. Our hotel is rated with 3 stars, it is situated in an elegant building dating back to the late 1800s, at 30, via Lombardia, close to the famous via Veneto, the "dolce vita" street, within walking distance from Spanish steps and via dei Condotti, and near the green park Villa Borghese. From its excellent location all the main tourist sites, such as the Coliseum, the Vatican and the Roman Forum are easily reached. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing