We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dump. It's not a hotel but rather some rooms in a building.”
Review of Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Garda
Ranked #577 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Avoid this place. Traveled through out Italy for 20 days. Our last night we stayed here since we were flying out of Rome. Was tough to find a good hotel for one night so we had no choice. The breakfast was a joke. They lady who made cappuccino made water. They have fancy cappuccino maker but no one knows how to use it. The front desk is a joke. Not helpful and useless. Asked for a wine bottle opener and the guy said he didn't have. Instead he used his pen to try and open. Ruined the top. Showers didn't function correctly. Too hot or too cold. Called to have them check on it, left and came back and asked for a status. Was told that I need to adjust lever to make it warm. Asked if someone came to room was told no. Who in the world doesn't know that you need to adjust lever to get water to be warm. The guy would t send anyone to check on it because he felt we didn't know this. What a poor excuse for a hotel. Total dump. Avoid at all costs. Wouldn't stay there again if it was free and they paid me.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelmendez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is on the fourth and fifth floors of a five-story building on Via Lombardia, easy to miss from the street. Our room was on the fifth floor. It was spotlessly - clean, air-conditioned, with a mini-bar and wi-fi. Not fancy , but certainly satisfactory.
The breakfast was also modest, but adequate for our needs.
The staff -especially Roberto at reception- was very helpful in providing tips which proved useful. Location :right near Villa Borghese and the Spanish steps and not far from the subway and bus lines.
Recommended for travellers to Rome looking for a moderately-priced hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor, not facing the street, and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathansTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We went as a couple and were absolutely delighted with our stay at Hotel Garda.

We chose to use the 50 euro transfer from the airport to the hotel as we landed late and wanted to have a safe choice as far as reaching the hotel. The driver greeted us at the exact location where he was supposed to be and showed us to the car which was a spacious, new Mercedes. There was no issue with fitting our 4 bags into the trunk. The driver took us through the center of Rome and we got a glance of some of the major attractions, the Coloseum being one of them.
When we reached the hotel it was a bit tricky to find the entrance inside the building but eventually we found it down the hall, to the left and then up to the 4th floor with the elevator. We were greeted and quickly got our key. The room was clean with a queen-sized bed. The room also had a safe and a cheap minibar which we made use of a few times during our stay. Towels were changed every two days while trash was taken out daily and the floor was swept daily aswell.

The breakfast was not what I had hoped for or what I am used to from hotels in Sweden (Where we live). The bread was dry and hollow and I personally do not enjoy croissants or other sweet pastries for breakfast as I try to avoid the sugar. I would have enjoyed to see some fruits or ham/salami to go with the rest of the breakfast aswell as a wholegrain bread. I think some healthier options would have made the breakfast a lot better. The coffee was freshly made according to our wishes and service during breakfast was good.

All four guys working the reception were great and had really helpful tips for shopping and tourist attractions. They were happy to draw on maps for us each and everytime we had a question and even when we thought we knew what to do and where to go they gave us more info that further helped us in planning our days in Rome. The 24/7 reception is perfect when you are in Rome for the first time and really need all the help you can get. A big thumbs up to the guys working those hours!

The location of the hotel is good with short distances to the Metro (line A), Spanish steps, Via del Corso (shopping street) and the lush park VIlla Borghese.

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Garda very much and we will make sure to book here again when we have the next opportunity to visit Rome.

Good:
Clean room with a safe and cheap minibar
Great service
Location is good
Transfer service to the hotel well worth the money

Bad:
Breakfast
A little bit noisy on occasion
Hard to find the entrance first time you get there

Room Tip: The room we had was located on the entrance floor with the window toward Via Lombardia. This was a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeKoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This 1 star rating is intended as a warning, please spend a little more to find a nice hotel so your trip to Rome wont be spoiled - there are many better hotels available for a similar price.

After going through the difficulty of finding this hotel ( behind 2 closed gates on the 4th floor of a normal appartment building ) we found that our room was not yet ready, even though it was 1:30pm.

Once we returned and entered the room it was so small (2x2.5m + 1.25x1.25m shower with toilet) that all that fit was a bed. We constantly had to step over our luggage as there was no space for it.

The bed itself was too small for anyone over 1.75m, causing us quite some discomfort as we're both taller. After inquiring we found all rooms had these beds. In addition during our 7 night stay the sheets were not washed once.

The shower went from scalding hot to cold and the trick was to get washed in the 20 seconds it took to go from one extreme to the other. On complaining we were shown by the maid how to use it properly, which went ok for about 20 seconds until the temperature switched again, but by that time her demonstration had been done.

One night we were called in our room by a woman speaking italian in a "dirty" manner, by which we could only assume she was a prostitute and had been put through to the wrong room.

There is free wifi but we did have evenings were it only worked in the foyer.

The redeeming qualitied: the staff was polite and the location is excellent.

All in all we really recommend looking elsewhere as this place was the big downside on our otherwise fantastic trip to Rome - had we not been stuck to our advanced booking we certainly would've.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nameles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I recently stayed for a short 3 nights in the Rome's hotel Garda. The location of the hotel is great and the metro station is just a short walk away. My single room was of perfect size and reasonably clean. The only problem with my room was that the shower area was really tight and impossible tome move in. The room rate included a continental breakfast which was of a great bonus to my stay. The staff of the hotel was great, especially the friendly Russian speaking guy who helped me greatly with directions and information about the city. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Hotel Garda in Rome has a good location and walking distance to Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain . You know you're in a good area when Sofitel and The Intercontinental hotel are very near. The hotel is closer to Via Veneto,in the opposite direction. But you need a cab to The Vatican and other areas.
The bed was a bit soft for me and might need replacement . The bathroom also very clean. At that time, the hotel was fully booked and the breakfast area was filled to capacity after 8:30. Breakfast was simple. Your choice of coffees , croissant, breads, cereal, juice etc.
There are restaurants on the ground floor if you want something more substantial .
The entire hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Paulo, a fellow Filipino , was very friendly and helpful to us pinoy tourists. He was genuinely happy to see us.
We were more than satisfied with our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonkiramos711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The room was small (especially the shower), the bed was hard which was great, but everything in the room very clean. Breakfast was simple, but ok. Staff were friendly. Location is great, everything is within walking distance.

Cost was 480 Euros for 3 nights for a double room which was about £415 GB pounds - so costly enough for bed & basic breakfast (roll/crossisants, tea/coffee and cereal)

Room Tip: We were in Room 207 which is actually the 5 floor as the hotel is based on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Cinquantatre
Hotel Cinquantatre
#457 of 1,271 in Rome
408 reviews
Elite Hotel
#359 of 1,271 in Rome
152 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#706 of 1,271 in Rome
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#671 of 1,271 in Rome
531 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#894 of 1,271 in Rome
422 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Panda
Hotel Panda
#605 of 1,271 in Rome
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda

Address: Via Lombardia 30, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garda is situated around the corner of Via Veneto and five minutes away from Piazza di Spagna in the city's most exclusive district. Our hotel is rated with 3 stars, it is situated in an elegant building dating back to the late 1800s, at 30, via Lombardia, close to the famous via Veneto, the "dolce vita" street, within walking distance from Spanish steps and via dei Condotti, and near the green park Villa Borghese. From its excellent location all the main tourist sites, such as the Coliseum, the Vatican and the Roman Forum are easily reached. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing