We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't go back. I went to Rome & The...”
Review of Domus Carmelitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Carmelitana
Ranked #492 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I won't go back. I went to Rome & The Vatican with my family in the holy week.
If you have come to Rome, you know that, in general, service standards for corresponding fees are far away of other cities and countries in general, but this one, is far below that parameter. I had issues with breakfast and frontdesk personnel regarding silly things but having really bad moments.
The hotel is close to the Vatican and normal-clean standard ...and that's it.
I am sure you can go to better options for the same price range.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rilvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2009

It is a simple hotel, but with great service, good food and wonderful location - all the major sites withing walking distance. I have stayed there 3 time already, and am looking forward to the next one.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed at the Domus for four nights in February 2009 as part of an organised tour from our local church run by the specialists Vapour Trails Direct.

The location of the Domus is very good. A maximum of ten minutes gentle walk to the Vatican. It was also around ten minutes walk to the Metro.

We stayed in a quad room. The room itself was basic but fine. Very clean with satellite TV and good sized bathroom.

We ate breakfast each morning and this was very good. A selection of breads, croissants, fruit, yogurt, fruit juices, meats, cheese and tea and coffee. This was always a good start to the day.
We also ate in the restaurant each evening. A set four course menu was provided, which was not to everyones taste. There are plentiful restaurants within easy walking distance.

The staff are friendly and the bar an enjoyable place for a coffee and cake during the day, and to sip wine with friends during the evening.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Domus, and I hope we can visit again one day.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJLGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We selected this property for its reasonable charges, but we would have preferred a little less austere accommodations. It is not easy to find reasonably priced rooms in Rome, and after searching online and reading reviews, we picked Domus Carmelitana based on reports that it was clean and modern.

Our room was clean but stark. The first thing to strike us when we got to our room was the sight of two very low twin cots on the tile foor. While the beds were comfortable, their height gave the appearance of a doll house. The bathroom was extremely small, and the very tiny cubicle that served as a shower had a slippery plastic drain board on the floor, which caused me to nearly lose my balance every time I showered.

The included breakfast was very nice.

Location is very convenient to walking to the Vatican (about 6 blocks) and there are nearby bus stops to take you to other parts of the city.

Front desk staff was very helpful and gave good advice about using the busses.

There are a large number of restaurants nearby between the hotel and the Vatican that are less than a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brucegary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Technically a religious house, rather than a conventional hotel per se.

Very close to the Castel St. Angelo and a short walk to the Vatican.

Beds were very narrow but quite comfortable.

Rooms were clean and a/c worked well. Modern bathroom fixtures. Shower is American style with fixed showerhead, but stall is very tight.

Rooms have very high ceilings.

May have road noise if on side of building next to busy street. Our room was on other side and was very quiet.

Wonderful european style continental breakfast, but with American coffee and orange juice. I actually miss having prosciutti and cheese on bread for breakfast now!

Staff was wonderful and helpful. Not all spoke good English, but they always did the best they could!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jgulecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

When I was making plans for my trip to Rome with my son (9), I chose Domus Carmelitana mainly for it's excellent central location, less than 10 minutes from St Peter's. I was pleasently surprised when discovered that children pay only 50% of the price - a rare offer in Rome! I certainly recommend it to families with children.
Domus Carmelitana is listed as a catholic guest house, but it is really a very cozy hotel, with moderate, but comfortable and modern rooms and a magnificent roof garden, where it seems that you can touch the dome of St. Peters cathedral with one hand, and Castel Sant'Angelo with the other. We also loved the view from our room - seeing Castel Sant'Angelo from our beds made us really feel in Rome. Breakfast was very copious and fresh and very tastefully presented. My son liked the satellite TV in the room and internet in the lobby. I liked the chapel. For people coming by car there is a lot of parking space in a private yard, and for all of us, impatient to explore the eternal city, there is a terminus stop of a very useful express bus line right around the corner. (It also gets you directly to the Termini Station in just 15 minutes or so).
We will always remember our stay in Domus Carmelitana. It made our stay in Rome even more memorable. ... And it also taught my son (who loves ancient Rome and Romans) once and for all, that the Latin word "domus" is one of the very few nouns ending in -us that are not masculine but feminine; therefore, not "Domus Carmelitanus", but "Domus Carmelitana"!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nikica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

We stayed in Domus Carmelitana for 2 nights with my boyfrend and it was great! Super super clean, nice receptionist, good breakfast, and very centrally located. You can actually walk from it nearly anywere (specially Vatican, but also Piazza Navona, etc.). I would definately come back! Plus, the area is very very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank saraloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#529 of 1,273 in Rome
351 reviews
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#407 of 1,273 in Rome
1,019 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#623 of 1,273 in Rome
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Casa Valdese Roma
Hotel Casa Valdese Roma
#479 of 1,273 in Rome
115 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#64 of 1,273 in Rome
1,252 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#42 of 1,273 in Rome
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Carmelitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Carmelitana

Address: Via Alberico II, 44, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £63 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Carmelitana 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Carmelitana is located right behind Castel Sant'Angelo, close to St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums and is well connected to the major attractions of Rome. The magnificent dining room with vaulted ceiling, the frescoed meeting room and mandarin garden parking are just some of the aspects that make us unique! Our highly qualified staff takes the job of meeting the expectations of serenity and comfort of our guests always very seriously. - Very central location - American breakfast, always included - Panoramic terrace with breathtaking 360° views - Internal car/bus parking - Bar and reception open 24/7 - Quiet and secure location in silent side street, with large green areas for sitting and relaxing - Very close to via Cola di Rienzo, one of Rome's main shopping streets - Free Wi-Fi in all inside and outside areas and multilingual satellite TV in every room - Suggestive conference room for meetings, events and receptions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Carmelitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Carmelitana Rome
Domus Carmelitana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing