We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and serene. Steps to vatican” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Cardinal Cesi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Ranked #302 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene. Steps to vatican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Lovely inner courtyard. Not a bad size room but as usual the small shower didn,t please my husband. Quiet back street which our window overlooked. Helpful staff. Helped us with tour bookings and restaurant suggestions.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back street. Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladywithceliacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    96
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
66
173
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I did a lot of research before choosing my hotel in Rome and after reading the reviews on here and other sites I decided on the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi. Am I glad I did. Its location is perfect for the Vatican; you are literally 50m from the boundary fence of Vatican City! St. Peter's basilica is right on your door step. Whether you’re religious or not it is majestic and magnetic, drawing us to it day and night.
As you walk through the hotel doors you are instantly struck by the serenity and calmness, leaving the hustle and bustle of the city behind you. You have to walk along the tiled cloister corridor to get to the reception area. The check-in was smooth and painless and the bellboy took our cases up to our room on the 5th floor in the small but adequate lift and showed us how to work the door key, lights and electric window blind. This was great, it blocked out all the light, much more so than just curtains would have... The beds were really comfortable and we slept great, which is important if you are going to be busy sightseeing. The bedroom was small by American standards but big by Rome standards. It had a flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, complimentary toiletries, nice fresh smelling crisp sheets and pillow cases, and as the floor was tiled you were supplied with a free pair of slippers which you can bring home too. The aircon system was very effective and was easy to turn off at night. There were spare blankets in the wardrobe if you needed them. Everything was spotlessly clean and in the bathroom the toilet was also a bidet, great.
The complimentary breakfast was really good. The breakfast room servers were almost invisible; you only knew they were around because nothing ever ran out, or if you had a question. The breakfast selection had something to please everyone. There was cereal, fresh fruit, fruit cocktail, yoghurt, cheese, meats, pastries, jams and sauces, fruit juice, toast, rolls, hot bacon, eggs and sausages, coffee and a wide selection of teas. It was lovely. The staff went out of their way to ensure your stay was perfect.
The monastery and hotel live side by side in perfect harmony. The hotel has 30 rooms and we never really heard any noise from the other guests. The courtyard is beautiful but you are not allowed in it. The quiet reflective atmosphere is enhanced in the evening by candle light which helps you wind down after a hectic day sightseeing. You can have a nice coffee or glass of wine or snack before turning in for the night.
There is a lovely coffee shop over the road, Café san Pietro, and gift shops, ice cream shops pizza shops all along the street. The hop on hop off buses stop right opposite the hotel and they are a great way to get from one attraction to another without walking too far. If you turned right out of the hotel it took you 2 minutes to walk to Castel Sant'Angelo.
At nightfall the impressive main door is locked but your room key opens it electronically. This 1400 century building is beautiful and well maintained. We loved our stay here and if we ever visit Rome again we will defiantly stay here. (Yes I threw my coin in the Trevi Fountain)
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and its staff. If you want an honest answer to any questions just ask. Check out my pix.
Have a great time and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed here 4 delightful nights. Breakfasts were excellent. Nice but small bar located outside with limited food menu. Rooms were excellent with great maid service. Staff excellent. Very quiet neighborhood after 8 pm.

Walk out the front door and you are 70 steps from the Vatican!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank servok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

location was perfect .Walking into the hotel was like walking into a secret garden with a beautiful courtyard and was a beautiful place for peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle outside.
staff were great very courteous .Room was fine only downside was the shower too small . but this is only a minor detail.
Breakfast fine and overall we had a great stay at this wonderful hotel right beside the vatican and within walking distance of many Rome attractions.
would love to return sometime

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worboyssandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Over priced for what we got, breakfast was nothing special and the stickily floor at the breakfast bsr was off putting

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Location - perfect. Right next to St Peter's Square, it's a 5 min walk from 2 bus stations, about 10-15 mins away is the St Angelo Castle. It's right in the middle of a very busy neighborhood but you'll be surprised at how tranquil it is inside the hotel. The taxi stand is also almost right next to the hotel so our taxi arrived 3 mins after the receptionist called the taxi company.

Staff - for the price we paid, we didn't expect the high level of customer service that we got. We were treated like VIPs the minute we entered, with people from the reception fussing and making sure we knew where we were going, giving tips on what's good to see in the city, discreetly tucking our luggage into our room, helping us book for tours. You feel generally safe in their hands, so to speak.

Room - tiny, but as expected for the price and for European standards. Bathroom is also small but adequate, with daily supply of towels and the usual small bottles of toiletries. The only downside was that our window was right next to a construction site, so it was a little noisy in the morning and early evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hotel is conveniently located to the Vatican-just across the St Peter's Square, and has a very serene atmosphere-You ca not tell from the outside, as it has walls and buildings around--but as soon as you enter, you will be surprised by a very nice courtyard-with plants and serenity--theres a sculpture of Christ and the Cardinal in the garden...beautiful cafe overlooking a patio...Rooms are clean and classic..big screem TV and good breakfast buffet in a historic monastery...You can feel the history of the place, but has modern comfort.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with good view of the garden -it has nice windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genghis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#57 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#595 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#176 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#400 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Cardinal Cesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cardinal Cesi

Property: Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Address: Via della Conciliazione n. 51 | Zona Vaticano, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Rome
#123 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#143 Family Hotel in Rome
#163 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Cardinal Cesi 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, only a few yards from St Peter's Square, on Via della Conciliazione, is an oasis of peace and spirituality drenched in history at the very heart of Christendom, with the enormous privilege of being able to stay so close to the Holy Father's residence. As you enter through the imposing door, leading to the secluded cloisters, experience the reassuring sensation of taking a step back into a bygone age, leaving behind you the hubbub of the city to enjoy the luxury of settling down in an elegant haven, surrounded by every comfort of to the highest standards of first-class accommodation, where everything has been carefully designed to welcome you, and to make you immediately feel at home.Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, sulla magnifica Via della Conciliazione, nel cuore della Cristianita, a soli pochi passi da Piazza S.Pietro, e un'oasi di pace e spiritualita, intriso di storia.Splendido palazzo del '400 con delizioso chiostro interno,. Un elegante rifugio, con tutti i confort di un 4 stelle, dove si e circondati da un'atmosfera calda, curata ed elegante che fa sentire l'Ospite come a casa propria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Palazzo Cardinal Cesi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Rome
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing