We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, costly but good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Ranked #354 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My wife and I were here for a Rome week-long meeting that involved a lot of business at the Vatican. This meant a simple stroll up the street to be there. Felt very safe all the time and the hotel was very good. The rooms were small as expected, including the shower which would not suit a large person. The breakfasts were good, and wine around the courtyard made for a nice end of day moment. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

The great location is the attraction for this hotel. Walk out the front door and you are right there in front of St. Peters. There are many shops and good restaurants in the area. The hotel rooms are small and the bathroom is like being in an RV bathroom. Don't drop the soap or you have to open the door to bend down to pick up the soap. The breakfast is very good. If you do not want to walk far to St. Peters then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve74017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend from the moment we arrived the staff were so so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Ity is a very quiet place to stay. I felt really safe here as the doors are always locked at night, It is peaceful and calm. I will come and stay here again it will be the place I will always stay in when I come to Rome

Room Tip: The top floor was lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Enjoyed this hotel very much, clean, friendly staff beautiful courtyard. Great experience would recommend this hotel highly. Love the location right next door to the Vatican and many other place so close by. When visiting Rome that will be my hotel I will choose again and again.

Room Tip: I would think any room is wonderful
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I agree completely with amm4747. This hotel is a wonderful oasis against the moneychangers in the temple. It is right next door to the Basilica and vendors and buses are everywhere. But when you step inside the massive door the quiet strikes you immediately. (The door is locked at night and you use your key to enter so it is very safe.) The hotel is beautifully kept and the staff is amazing! Yes the room is small, but the beds are wonderful. I loved the shower because it had a sliding door that locked and kept the water inside. I'm a large person and partially disabled and it was the easiest in and out shower that I experienced on the entire trip! They have a beautiful dining room for breakfast, with a little room for a light supper in the evening, which they do serve. We had pizza there one night and soup and salad the next. We only had one full day in Rome, saw St. Peter's in the morning and took a 4 hour golf cart tour in the afternoon so the quiet garden was very welcome when we got back to the hotel. It feels like a monastery garden in one of the holiest cities in the world, so what could be better? Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jra7750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed here for a week and it was lovely. The rooms are small, but nicely furnished, clean and surprisingly quiet. The baths were very small by American standards, but contemporary wall to wall marble, chrome and glass, so very nice. A hearty breakfast was included daily in a beautiful dining room, and there was bar service in the open courtyard/lobby in the evenings. (No other meals available on site.) This courtyard was my favorite. The photos on thier website do not reveal how delightful it is. After a hectic day on the streets of Rome, returning to sit in the open air and enjoying a glass of wine by the fountain and schrubbery was wonderful.
The location is outstanding too. Step out the palatial front door, look left and you are at the base of Vatcan Square. Still in walking distance to all the best restaurants and most of Rome's antiquities.
Keep in mind that half of this property is still a monastery, and a quiet reserve is expected. If you plan to party, find a chain hotel.
But if you want a classy, gracious environment, the Palazzo Cardinal Casi is perfect.

Room Tip: Only one tiny, slow elevator. Seek a room on the first or second floor. I often had to climb to the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amm4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We chose this hotel because of the photos we saw online, the proximity to Vatican and the fact that the hotel had Vatican museum tickets in the package. We were a group of 4 adults and one child (3 years) and we were informed that we had to book as per 5 adults since my son is above 3 which we were fine and booked/paid online for 4 nights stay before arriving. We had an unpleasant shock on check-out when we were informed that we had to pay an extra Euros 236 for the extra bed. This was not stated at all on the website or upon confirmation when we made our booking. We had no choice but to pay up, even though my son hardly used the extra bed as he was hopping in with us thoughout the nights. Additionally, due to last minute medical problems (my in-laws couldnt attend the museum visits due to bad knees) we thought we could get a refund of the tix (we were charged by the hotel for 5 adults at Euros 137, not 4 adults and 1 child which the agent selling the tix to the hotel would charge at 10 euros cheaper). We were turned down even when we returned it unused back to the hotel. So the whole experience left a bitter after taste of being ripped off. Would never return here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzocesi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Sir,

As you can see from the many positive comments that release our faithful Guests, we always try to give all our best so that everyone feels good in our Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, in order to spend a fabulous time in Rome.

We can assure you that never, under any circumstances, we tried to fool or "rip off" our customers!

The free tickets for the Vatican Museums with preferred entrance were part of a prepaid package not refundable and so can't be refunded also if not used.

We hoped to have clarified everything, also the matter of the extra bed, on site with you at the check out and that you had understood the misunderstanding and agreed the solution.

In anycase we are every time at your complete disposal for more information you might to require.

The Management
Anna Maria Molinari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#128 of 1,267 in Rome
467 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#627 of 1,267 in Rome
808 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#47 of 1,267 in Rome
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#144 of 1,267 in Rome
299 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#38 of 1,267 in Rome
745 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#402 of 1,267 in Rome
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Cardinal Cesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cardinal Cesi

Address: Via della Conciliazione n. 51 | Zona Vaticano, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Rome
#123 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#143 Family Hotel in Rome
#193 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £143 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Cardinal Cesi 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, only a few yards from St Peter's Square, on Via della Conciliazione, is an oasis of peace and spirituality drenched in history at the very heart of Christendom, with the enormous privilege of being able to stay so close to the Holy Father's residence. As you enter through the imposing door, leading to the secluded cloisters, experience the reassuring sensation of taking a step back into a bygone age, leaving behind you the hubbub of the city to enjoy the luxury of settling down in an elegant haven, surrounded by every comfort of to the highest standards of first-class accommodation, where everything has been carefully designed to welcome you, and to make you immediately feel at home.Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, sulla magnifica Via della Conciliazione, nel cuore della Cristianita, a soli pochi passi da Piazza S.Pietro, e un'oasi di pace e spiritualita, intriso di storia.Splendido palazzo del '400 con delizioso chiostro interno,. Un elegante rifugio, con tutti i confort di un 4 stelle, dove si e circondati da un'atmosfera calda, curata ed elegante che fa sentire l'Ospite come a casa propria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Cardinal Cesi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Rome
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing