We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Ranked #361 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi and we had a wonderful stay.The staffs are all friendly and welcoming.Always ready to help.The room that we stayed in was quite elegant and really clean.Breakfast buffet was sufficient with a great selections.Overall had a fabulous time in the eternal city of Rome and the Vatican State.Would definitely come back and will happily recommend the hotel to our friends.

Thank Nanette V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you're looking for the closest hotel to the Vatican for your visit, this is it. Its small, only 4 floors and about 6 rooms per floor, but clean and convenient. Ask for deluxe room to get larger space. Breakfast included. Not a bad selection. 150 yards away from St Peters Courtyard. Plenty of restaurants in short walking distance. Subway station 3 blocks.

Room Tip: Due to proximity to St Peters and Vatican, corner rooms are more roomy but noisy with massive crowds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

WE stayed three nights and found the room clean and adequate for the two of us even if a bit small. The included breakfasts had a good selection for a small hotel, and superb coffee. With a substantial breakfast, lunches were light and more for rest and hydration. We had dinner at the hotel one night out of convenience and the food was adequate, considering that this is not a real restaurant, but more like room service in the atrium. Concierge service was amazing: we arrived looking for advice on how to hit our highlights and shortly had the reservations that enabled us to do that in a very compressed visit. Without that advice we would not have got into the Borghese Palace or had the excellent personal tour of the centre of Rome

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I called the hotel a few weeks ago to ask for some information, a receptionist (I believe her name is anna maria) answered me in an incredible rude way, honestly tehre were no reason at all for such behaviour since I was very polite.
A receptionist should never be so rude... not anywhere and especially in such a high ranked hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
2  Thank Soisialachas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palazzocesi, Responsabile reception at Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We are very suprised and bewildered, but we are also sure that it is a misunderstanding, because "courtesy and Guest satisfaction" is our philosophy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were really looking forward to staying 2 nights at this hotel during our 4 night stay in the city. Unfortunately the room we stayed in was small, I suppose expected, they were not very clean and the bathroom was awful. It had a terrible smell and felt unclean when getting washed. However the positives are that the staff are friendly although check in took a while, the location is brilliant for visiting the Vatican and the gardens are beautiful. We would not return to this hotel as the rooms are over priced. I can only imagine they charge this for the great location. However Rome also has a great transport system (metro) so easy to get about so would stay somewhere central if we return. Be aware of conmen too as we was stopped by a man driving his car and asked us for directions. He then began a story of working for prada based in Milan and he had a handful of genuine magazines. He just happened to have some in his boot that somehow he could do cheap....yeah right! We said we wasn't interested and he went on his way but pretty convincing in a decent car and he was suited and booted. We stayed here July 2011 so a little dated. So unless a refurbishment has taken place I think this review is still current.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah87-Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you are visiting the Vatican, this is the best place to stay. It's convenient, quiet and has great service. The hotel staff are helpful and very welcoming. The breakfast food was nutritious with lots of choices, and I loved having a glass of wine in the inner courtyard's open-air patio. I was traveling alone on business so it was so convenient to drink a glass of wine, and do some reading in peace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I would give this hotel a 4.5 ( but that score isn't available). It's almost on St.Peter's Square.

So: Great ambience. An oasis of tranquility when you walk through the door into the central courtyard of the hotel. Trees,garden,fountain,statues and a large seating area, for a glass of wine or a beer(6€),accompanied by complimentary nibbles. terrific.....memorable even.
Good breakfast;bacon,sausage,scrambled egg and the usual cold meats and cheese. All consumed on very small plates,for some reason,resulting in one or two trips back and forth for top ups. Domestic quality toaster, but no queues so perfectly acceptable.
Had some food in the courtyard one evening,ok but nothing special.A nice bottle of chilled white was 20€ (Aug2013).
Room (102) was very pleasant, street level,but not troubled by street noise, AC was very good (it was 92f outside most days). Bathroom and shower were cruise ship sized (very small but functional).Nearby,lots of fast food and cheap drink outlets (Pironi 2.5€ 330ml).
Cardinal Cesi compares favourably with other Rome hotels I've stayed at (Hotel Forum being a particular favourite), and would happily stay again if The Vatican area was,once more, my desired location.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PPAinsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#128 of 1,271 in Rome
491 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#57 of 1,271 in Rome
736 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#612 of 1,271 in Rome
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#43 of 1,271 in Rome
785 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#170 of 1,271 in Rome
309 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#163 of 1,271 in Rome
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Cardinal Cesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cardinal Cesi

Address: Via della Conciliazione n. 51 | Zona Vaticano, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Rome
#123 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#200 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £104 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Cardinal Cesi 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, only a few yards from St Peter's Square, on Via della Conciliazione, is an oasis of peace and spirituality drenched in history at the very heart of Christendom, with the enormous privilege of being able to stay so close to the Holy Father's residence. As you enter through the imposing door, leading to the secluded cloisters, experience the reassuring sensation of taking a step back into a bygone age, leaving behind you the hubbub of the city to enjoy the luxury of settling down in an elegant haven, surrounded by every comfort of to the highest standards of first-class accommodation, where everything has been carefully designed to welcome you, and to make you immediately feel at home.Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, sulla magnifica Via della Conciliazione, nel cuore della Cristianita, a soli pochi passi da Piazza S.Pietro, e un'oasi di pace e spiritualita, intriso di storia.Splendido palazzo del '400 con delizioso chiostro interno,. Un elegante rifugio, con tutti i confort di un 4 stelle, dove si e circondati da un'atmosfera calda, curata ed elegante che fa sentire l'Ospite come a casa propria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Cardinal Cesi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Rome
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing