We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT Location & Atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Cardinal Cesi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Ranked #309 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT Location & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

A 3 minute walk to St Peter's Square, you're right in the middle of the excitement if the Pope is saying Mass or making an appearance. Quiet & peaceful, well appointed, VERY helpful and friendly staff. we were 4 women traveling together and felt very safe and well cared for.

Extensive breakfast buffet. We didn't take advantage of the evening cocktail/light meal offering but always ended the day with some wine on the open-air foyer.

Rooms are rather small but we're all cruisers so that's not a drawback for us...others might not feel the same.

we booked out FCO and Civitevecchia transfers thru the hotel; very professional drivers, clean comfortable vehicles at essentially the same price we'd have paid had we booked thru another company. Plus the car service charges went straight to our hotel bill, no need to carry wads of Euros. 3 Bancomat ATMs a 3 minute walk away, well lit and very safe.

Other reviewers mentioned street noise.....we didn't hear much noise, certainly not enough to disturb our sleep.

Highly recommend Palazzo Cardinal Cesi!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    96
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
66
173
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cloudland, GA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

So nice to have a quiet, calm, peaceful retreat amongst all the chaos of Rome. Excellent location just steps from St. Peter's square. Staff always attentive and helpful. Room very comfortable with nice walk-in shower. Loved the electric blinds that shut out all light and noise from the outside. Good breakfast well made and served buffet style. Some people have remarked about homeless people hanging out nearby. There were some, yes, but not bothersome in the least, and were never there very long. I imagine the police made them leave sometime during the night. I walked alone at night in the main areas and felt perfectly safe. Always people around - I saw tourists in this area literally 24 hours a day! Some decent cafes within walking distance. The hotel can prepare some food during the day, but options are quite limited - better to venture out to eat. The courtyard downstairs was very inviting and comfortable, and just beautiful at night with candles lit. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just visit Rome and had the wonderful experience of staying in this little boutique hotel. The location is fantastic, the hotel inside is like an oassis and the most of all the staff. Starting from Nina at the reception and every single one makes your stay unique. Thank you very very much for the detail about my birthday. You juts gain all the stars... I'll see you soon..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cdacamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel only houses 49 rooms, it has a wonderful calming retreat like area as you enter. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You couldn't get any closer to the Vatican, and St Peters Square. The breakfast buffet was great with a good selection, making a great start to each site seeing day. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and as I understand this piece of history was converted into a hotel in 2004 so even though it is an old charming structure everything is modern. We walked to everything and enjoyed the recommendations that the staff made for dinner, etc. The Pope made an appearance while we visited, so there were a lot of visitors on Sunday, if you do not want to hear the people talking early on the street, shut the electric shutters (problem solved) Definitely would go back

Room Tip: Our friends were in room 103, it was smaller, but nice, we were upgraded to 403 which was a corner u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel was a lovely peaceful place to return to after a day of sightseeing. The staff was very helpful with every question we asked whether related to hotel services or getting around Rome. No better place to stay if you are visiting the Vatican or going to a Papal Audience - 5 min walk. Room was clean and updated. This street has fewer restaurants open in the evening so no nightlife right nearby. Heard people in neighboring rooms a bit. It is a longer walk to sites in central Rome so we occasionally used taxis. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for three nights, room was clean, good size bed, small shower room/ toilet, but very modern, towels o/k not exceptional. The location is exceptional, as near to the Vatican as you can get. St. Peters Square is about 100 Metres from the entrance of the hotel. The staff were very helpful, breakfast was very good, selection good. The courtyard garden was a haven to enjoy a glass or two, away from the bustle of the busy Rome streets.

There was quite a lot of noise from the street at night, which was annoying, particularly from the dust carts emptying the rubbish bins, woke me up a few times, not the fault of the hotel,

Good selection of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. Overall good choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simmo3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi and we had a wonderful stay.The staffs are all friendly and welcoming.Always ready to help.The room that we stayed in was quite elegant and really clean.Breakfast buffet was sufficient with a great selections.Overall had a fabulous time in the eternal city of Rome and the Vatican State.Would definitely come back and will happily recommend the hotel to our friends.

Helpful?
Thank Nanette V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#115 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#588 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#166 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#37 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Atlante Star
Hotel Atlante Star
#374 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Cardinal Cesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cardinal Cesi

Property: Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Address: Via della Conciliazione n. 51 | Zona Vaticano, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Rome
#123 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#143 Family Hotel in Rome
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Cardinal Cesi 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, only a few yards from St Peter's Square, on Via della Conciliazione, is an oasis of peace and spirituality drenched in history at the very heart of Christendom, with the enormous privilege of being able to stay so close to the Holy Father's residence. As you enter through the imposing door, leading to the secluded cloisters, experience the reassuring sensation of taking a step back into a bygone age, leaving behind you the hubbub of the city to enjoy the luxury of settling down in an elegant haven, surrounded by every comfort of to the highest standards of first-class accommodation, where everything has been carefully designed to welcome you, and to make you immediately feel at home.Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, sulla magnifica Via della Conciliazione, nel cuore della Cristianita, a soli pochi passi da Piazza S.Pietro, e un'oasi di pace e spiritualita, intriso di storia.Splendido palazzo del '400 con delizioso chiostro interno,. Un elegante rifugio, con tutti i confort di un 4 stelle, dove si e circondati da un'atmosfera calda, curata ed elegante che fa sentire l'Ospite come a casa propria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Cardinal Cesi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Rome
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing