We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Ranked #350 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel in our most recent trip to Rome. What a great place. The staff is very polite and helpful from the moment you check-in. The hotel is clean and rooms are nice. Free Wi-Fi and internet are provided. Free breakfast is also available and it is always fresh and offers a great selection. Most of all you just can't beat the location. Right near St. Peter's but still private enough for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just got back from a five night stay at the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi. The hotel is magnificent! You cannot beat the location - steps from St. Peter's Square and and the Vatican. Yes, the rooms are a bit small, especially by American standards, but they are very comfortable. And if you are spending a lot of time in your room then you are missing all that Rome has to offer. My husband and I are especially grateful to Anita, who gave us some really good tips which helped a great deal with our site seeing. We walked everywhere from the hotel: Vatican City, the Colosseum and Forum, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, all the major squares, fountains, and monuments, and many churches. We even took a long day trip to Naples and Pompeii. Don't forget to start off each day fortified by the delicious breakfast and make sure to stop by for a small bite and a glass of wine in the courtyard in the evening. You cannot go wrong if you stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. If I were to stay there again I would stay on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend with my mum. It's a really lovely, quiet hotel very close to all the sights. The garden is beautiful and nice place to have a bite to eat and a drink after a long day of sightseeing.
Bathroom and bedroom are smallish but not tiny.
Beautiful hotel and would definately stay here again if i'm ever in Rome again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireElizabeth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I just returned from Rome on 3/13/14. While in Rome for a week I stayed at the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi. It was a wonderful experience, from Anita and Evelyn in the office, to Joanna who manages the bar and kitchen. People went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. They were very knowledgeable about Rome and were very happy to share their insights. The rooms were very comfortable also, and very clean. It is only a short walk to the Valican, and going the other direction a short walk to Castel San Angelo. I look forward to the next time when I can return to the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

When our transport dropped us off at the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi we knew we'd made the right choice. The hotel is literally steps from St Peter's Basilica and we enjoyed seeing the view of the square every time we left and returned to the hotel. Had to pinch ourselves to make sure it was real. The hotel is small and clean and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning, this was buffet style with meat, cheese, cereal and bread along with tea, coffee and juice. Our room was small but perfect and clean with a small en suite shower room again perfectly clean. Lovely shower. The courtyard is lovely at night all lit by candles and is quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle outside. We loved it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank topsyturvy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is our second visit to Palazzo Cardinal Cesi. We stayed here last February and when we decided to return with friends this was our first choice. The staff are courteous, helpful and friendly. They phoned taxis, looked up day trips, booked restaurants and printed out our boarding passes. After a morning of walking and sightseeing, the courtyard at Palazzo Cardinal Cesi is the perfect place to sit and have a coffee before heading off to do more sightseeing. In the evening, we had a drink before dinner and on our return sat in a small room beside the dining room for another drink. Breakfast was buffet style and delicious. A selection of cold meats and cheeses, rolls, pastries, cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad, hot food and fruit were available as well as fruit juices, tea, coffee and delicious, thick hot chocolate. What we ate at breakfast was more than enough to keep us going until we had a panini later in the day and dinner in the evening. The location is perfect for visiting St. Peter's and the Vatican Museum and is within walking distance of all the things we wanted to visit - Spanish steps, Castel San'Angelo, Trevi fountain, Pantheon, Colosseum, Roman Forum as well as too many beautiful churches to mention. I hope to return to Rome next year and stay again in Palazzo Cardinal Cesi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvOz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at this small hotel steps from the Vatican. The staff was efficient and very helpful confirming reservations for me in Italian and making me feel welcome. I enjoyed relaxing in the lovely serene courtyard with a glass of wine after a hectic day of touring Rome. The room was well appointed and the included breakfast in the lovely frescoed dining room was great. If I ever get to go to Rome again, I will stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street at the back of the hotel. The garbage pickup at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#129 of 1,271 in Rome
481 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#61 of 1,271 in Rome
699 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#172 of 1,271 in Rome
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#41 of 1,271 in Rome
772 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#633 of 1,271 in Rome
825 reviews
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#92 of 1,271 in Rome
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Cardinal Cesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cardinal Cesi

Address: Via della Conciliazione n. 51 | Zona Vaticano, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Rome
#123 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#143 Family Hotel in Rome
#189 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £104 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Cardinal Cesi 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, only a few yards from St Peter's Square, on Via della Conciliazione, is an oasis of peace and spirituality drenched in history at the very heart of Christendom, with the enormous privilege of being able to stay so close to the Holy Father's residence. As you enter through the imposing door, leading to the secluded cloisters, experience the reassuring sensation of taking a step back into a bygone age, leaving behind you the hubbub of the city to enjoy the luxury of settling down in an elegant haven, surrounded by every comfort of to the highest standards of first-class accommodation, where everything has been carefully designed to welcome you, and to make you immediately feel at home.Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, sulla magnifica Via della Conciliazione, nel cuore della Cristianita, a soli pochi passi da Piazza S.Pietro, e un'oasi di pace e spiritualita, intriso di storia.Splendido palazzo del '400 con delizioso chiostro interno,. Un elegante rifugio, con tutti i confort di un 4 stelle, dove si e circondati da un'atmosfera calda, curata ed elegante che fa sentire l'Ospite come a casa propria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Cardinal Cesi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Rome
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing