We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Ranked #339 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location is unsurpassed. Walk out the front door and you are immediately close to the Vatican City and all the history it has to offer. Otherwise hop on and off a choice of Tourist Buses and all Rome is accessible from 100 yards down the street. The room was clean, cool and comfortable. No bath but we were aware of that when booking. We found all the staff we came into contact with, friendly and helpful. In particular, Zara showed a dry dense of humour we particularly enjoyed. The Cloistered garden was a serene haven, particularly at night when lit with candles. The noise of Rome melted into the background.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

My sister and I were in Rome from May 06th - May 09th 2014. It was my 4th trip and my sisters first. I booked the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi not just for its location but because of the exceptional reviews that it received on this website. AND WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED. Our transfer dropped us at the door of this hotel and from the minute we walked through the doors i knew that we hadn't made a mistake in booking it. We received a very warm welcome and were dealt with immediately, there was no waiting around. Very efficient staff showed us where to go and we were booked in within 5 minutes of getting there. Our room was to the side of the building and was lovely and cool thanks to air conditioning and very comfortable beds ensured a good nights sleep. The street was quiet also. A good sized twin room with ensuite, safe, TV and phone. The bed linen was changed every day and the shine on the floor in the corridor both in our room and outside our room was amazing. Breakfast is served in a beautiful quite and peaceful room and what a breakfast it is. A huge array of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, cereals, yogurts, hot food, pastries and tea served in proper china tea pots!!! Plenty of choice to set you up for the day. The Cesi Garden was so beautiful and cool especially at night when it was lit up with lanterns. It was a peaceful place to retreat to after a busy day shopping and sightseeing in Rome. Zana was an excellent bar tender and great company for a chat!! Anything we needed or wanted was provided without question and quite willingly. The staff have excellent English and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The nearness of the hotel to St Peter's Square was fab and it meant we could take a walk around the square at night without having to fight our way through other tourists. We did everything we plannd to do and saw everything we wanted to see and the location of this hotel made that so much easier. I really can't speak highly enough of this hotel and would certainly recommend it to anyone travelling to Rome. Now that I have found this little gem I won't be staying anywhere else in Rome. Thank you all at the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi for a wonderful trip to Rome. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 50Lucia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very close to St. Peter's -- we loved the location. We took a couple of evening strolls and enjoyed the area when it was cool and the crowds had thinned out. The service was excellent. The rooms were small but quiet and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretBenefiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We carefully researched hotels prior to our trip to Rome and chose this one due to the proximity to St. Peter's. We loved the location. We were able to attend early morning Mass at St. Peter's as well as being able to be in line at 6 a.m. for the Papal Audience. We took a couple of evening strolls to eat and walk around St. Peter's square when the crowds were gone. The hotel personnel were very helpful. They even arranged transportation for 12 people (only 2 were staying at the hotel) to transport our group to our cruise ship after the Papal Audience. The room 102 was very clean and was quiet. We knew that the rooms and bathroom would be smaller when we booked it but then again we were staying in a 14th century building instead of a modern hotel. I would definitely stay here again. We stayed 4 nights. The location and ambiance made up for the smaller rooms.

Room Tip: Room 102 had 2 windows and was a deluxe room. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were quite excited to be staying in a converted Cardinals palace and on arrival you are greeted with a lovely cool palazzo with a bar area perfect for escaping the activity and heat of the city. However on entering the room, although pleasant, we were quite shocked at the basic and small nature of it. We have stayed in Rome many times so expected a small room however small and Spartan with no facilities other than a tiny tv we did not expect. The bathroom is almost beyond description, we are both small people and found it to be phenomenally small, with a shower that it was impossible to lift the elbows up in. The shower had two old sliding doors with cracked tiles around, which is not the worse thing but when the cost of the room is 269 euros plus tax we could not understand how on earth the hotel charge this! Again, in comparison to other roman hotels, some more and some less expensive I wouldn't have expected to pay more than 150 at the very most for a stay here. A further problem was noise from adjacent rooms. From our bed, through an evidently thin wall was next doors bathroom and we could hear activity - not pleasant. I had to sleep with earplugs only reserved for trying to sleep on aircraft to get any sleep. The location was fantastic for the Vatican but if you are staying in Rome to see all the attractions in the city his hotel is at the very perimeter of how far away you would want to be. I would recommend a more central hotel for seeing all the attractions if you are planning on doing it on foot. One plus was the breakfast which was very good. Unless you have business at the Vatican we would recommend a different hotel if you are planning on visiting Rome, this is insanely overpriced, overrated (how is this 4 stars?) and there are far better options

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GoldenFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a delightful secluded hotel as near as you can get to St Peter's Square. It is entered through a shaded tranquil garden. The staff are particularly helpful and provide informed information on restaurants, events, sightseeing and much more. The rooms are of modest size but very comfortable and well appointed. The buffet breakfast is set out in a delightful room and is of a high standard. There is a small bar in the logia which is perfect for a pre-dinner aperitif. It is close to the Vatican Museum and Castel St Angelo. The centre of Rome is within walking distance. An ideal spot for a quite relaxing exploration of the Vatican and Rome

Room Tip: The rooms are at the back of the building and do not face the Via della Conciliazione so are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It is lovely to enter the hotel in a peaceful setting after a long day of walking through Rome. If you like to stay close to the Vatican this is the place to be! Only a few steps away from the St. Peter's square. If you want to be there on the wednesday audience with the Pope you can arrange free tickets at the reception of the hotel. The rooms (we had a deluxe room) are nice and clean but the bathroom is really small compare to other hotels we've visited in other places. Breakfast is good with a lot of variety and in a quiet ambience. There is free wifi in the hotel but it doesn't work always very well. You can take any (yellow, green, red) hop on hop off bus in the beginning of the street to discover Rome. Overall we had a great time in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#121 of 1,273 in Rome
487 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#59 of 1,273 in Rome
714 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#625 of 1,273 in Rome
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#42 of 1,273 in Rome
778 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#159 of 1,273 in Rome
1,150 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#167 of 1,273 in Rome
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Cardinal Cesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Cardinal Cesi

Address: Via della Conciliazione n. 51 | Zona Vaticano, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Rome
#123 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#186 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £98 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Cardinal Cesi 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, only a few yards from St Peter's Square, on Via della Conciliazione, is an oasis of peace and spirituality drenched in history at the very heart of Christendom, with the enormous privilege of being able to stay so close to the Holy Father's residence. As you enter through the imposing door, leading to the secluded cloisters, experience the reassuring sensation of taking a step back into a bygone age, leaving behind you the hubbub of the city to enjoy the luxury of settling down in an elegant haven, surrounded by every comfort of to the highest standards of first-class accommodation, where everything has been carefully designed to welcome you, and to make you immediately feel at home.Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, sulla magnifica Via della Conciliazione, nel cuore della Cristianita, a soli pochi passi da Piazza S.Pietro, e un'oasi di pace e spiritualita, intriso di storia.Splendido palazzo del '400 con delizioso chiostro interno,. Un elegante rifugio, con tutti i confort di un 4 stelle, dove si e circondati da un'atmosfera calda, curata ed elegante che fa sentire l'Ospite come a casa propria ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Cardinal Cesi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Rome
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing