We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel in outer suburb!”
Review of Vintage Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Hotel Rome
Ranked #776 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel in outer suburb!”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel appears to be really new and the rooms and hallways look really nice and trendy. All the room doors on the hall side have an enlarged scene from a classic movie or a classic actor. The rooms are really spacious with tile flooring, making the place really look and feel clean. The bedding was a nice and comfortable queen bed. Although i did book a twin room for my sister and i, but we didn't bother changing rooms after we informed reception. Don't except any views or anything but this is to be expected for the affordable pricing of the hotel and the location of the hotel. The buffet breakfast was very nice with a wide selection of food including hot and cold food. The hotel is located in the Anagnina region which is about a 20 minute metro ride from Termini station. The downside is though that the metro is only running until 9pm and the public buses that go to the hotel (2min bus ride) don't run after 9pm or there abouts. The hotel does have it's own shuttle bus service, however the times are quite limited. I mention that the bus ride is a short 2 minutes from Anagnina metro station, sad thing is that you cannot walk from the metro as there is a highway in between and there is absolutely no way to get to the other side (i tried a couple of times). So if you arrive to Rome late at night there is a bus service from Termini that will take you to Anagnina and then you will need to take a taxi from there which will put you out of pocket by about 10euros.
Hotel is also in close proximity to Ciampino airport and has a shuttle service there too.
Staff at the hotel were nice and more often than not had a smile on their face. Would definitely recommend this hotel for people who wish to save some money and not stay in the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L4ZY_80Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    85
    91
    51
    42
See reviews for
55
79
15
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were delighted with the room when we checked in, it really is a lovely modern hotel for the price and although the location is not ideal, the shuttle bus to the airport is only 10 euros per room. We could find only kebab vans and McDonalds close by to eat, as we had arrived too late to eat in the hotel, but the continental breakfast was adequate. The PROBLEM is the car race on the street and carpark outside. Hundreds of people lined the streets to watch from 10pm until the early hours of the morning. Speeding cars and bikes drove round and round, skidding and spinning their wheels.When the really noisy souped up cars cars arrived after midnight, the crowd cheered and clapped for them. Not sure if this occurs every night or if the noise is as bad at the rear of the hotel, but please check before booking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeyave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel as the service we received was unacceptable. We had booked 2 rooms for 3 nights through an online booking site and few days previous to arrival I sent the hotel an email asking them to confirm the booking and to inform them we would arrive late at night. They never bothered to reply. On the day we were due to check in I rang them to tell them what time we would arrive in Rome. Then I am told that there is a problem and they don’t have rooms for us! It was very obvious they had over-booked and decided to book us out to another hotel in the same chain. This was located much further from the airport and I had chosen this hotel as it would be close to the airport and cheap to take a taxi as we arrived in the middle of the night. Now we ended up paying 3 times more for the taxi!

Arriving at the other hotel no-one at reception even seemed to take notice. When we finally get to check-in we have to wait for about 20 minutes and when I ask them what the problem is they tell us they are fully booked! All this time they were very arrogant towards us, never apologized for the inconvenience they caused, nothing! For the following to nights we had to go back to the hotel we booked originally, and first they wanted us to go there by the metro. I said we won’t accept that as we have luggage and this wasn’t our fault but theirs, so they arranged a shuttle for us. I was very upset as we only had 2 days to spend in Rome and now ended up wasting half a day to move hotels!
We never received any sort of compensation or any apologies from anyone. I also had problems with the room as there was something wrong with the AC that made an awful lot of noise (even when turned off) so it was impossible to sleep in the room. When I complained about this I wasn’t taken seriously and the receptionist suggested I open the window a bit (!) like that would solve the problem. Eventually maintenance came and sorted it for me.

The hotel looks nice on the photos as they have refurbished the reception and public areas but the rooms are a bit old and especially the bathrooms. Not 4 star standards. Breakfast was also very poor if you are used to continental or hot.

I am in the hotel business myself and if this hotel is nothing close to a 4 star. I am still upset by the horrible customer service, and having travelled all over the world this is my worst hotel experience ever!

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel as the front is close to busy traffic and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

It was first time on my trip, when I haven't room in hotel. I was booked two rooms four month before by hotels own websites and still we haven't rooms. What could I do more??? First night we stayed some hotel about 1,5 km from this and two nights we stay here.

In weekend there are really noisy rally outside, don't even dream to sleep. Luckily it's stopped 1 am.

Hotel itself is good. Rooms are nice and breakfast was ok.

Parking is free. You can't walk to metrostation and you must use bus. If you want to see Rome everyday without car, maybe this isn't right place

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skuuga13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The service is terrible, actually no service at all, the location is very bad, far away from city center, only close to airport, restaurant only for breakfast,, very small, many people including groups, not enough food.
If something is wrong in the room, do not expact that it will be fixed!!
many phones in rooms doesnot work, its always:tomorrow will be fixwd", but they never fix it.
in reception some of the receptionists try to be polite, but their english is terrible!!
This is not a way to welcome tourists!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liebe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, South Yorks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed here on the return leg of a trip to the Cilentan coast. We flew to & from Ciampino and stayed here for the last night before our flight home. It was cheap at £70 excl Rome City tax and convenient for the airport, but theyre the only redeeming features. The room was comfortable, but no better than that. The location is odd - a small shopping mall and an Ikea nearby but thats all. There was 1 local pizzeria about 10 mins walk away but it seemed a bit grotty so we opted for the only other option - a new place called Salotto Culinario which turned out to be fantastic. We were so impressed that I have reviewed it separately.
Walking back to the hotel, very well-fed and watered and looking forward to a good night's sleep, imagine our horror when we found some kind of boy racer rally in the car park. They were literally racing around the hotel and we had to run across the "track" to get to the lobby. There were hotdog stalls etc so it's clearly a regular, organised event. The roaring of boy racer exhausts and screeching tyres went on until after 2am so we were far from refreshed when we got up at 7 for breakfast, which was decidedly average.
The free shuttle bus took us to Ciampino, taking about 15 mins.
There is no way we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian110466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Our travel agency booked this hotel for our entire tour group, the hotel is relatively new ( renovated I believe because some room has updated modern bathroom layout while some have very old tiles and toilets).

The hotel is packed with group tourist so check-in can be hectic. We checked-in on a Friday night and there was only a lady working out there alone around 8:30pm.

The biggest problem is that the hotel is within a shopping mall complex, which is normally fine but on a Friday night, the parking lot turns into the illegal racing hotspot for all the pimped-out rides. We were first okay with it because the drivers and audiences were just doing their things without disturbing tourists.

However, because the air conditioning dont work in our room we had to open the window which means we heard the tire-screeching sound for whole night. Luckily police came and the crowd dispersed, however they came back until someone got into accident.

You can fulfill some shopping needs there, and there is a McDonald's around the corner open 24hrs.

Room Tip: Make sure air conditioning work !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wescbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.6 mi away
La Mela
La Mela
#878 of 1,258 in Rome
191 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cervara Park Hotel
Cervara Park Hotel
#706 of 1,258 in Rome
146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#397 of 1,258 in Rome
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,054 of 1,258 in Rome
285 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel degli Imperatori
Hotel degli Imperatori
#587 of 1,258 in Rome
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#559 of 1,258 in Rome
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Hotel Rome

Property: Vintage Hotel Rome
Address: Via Torre di Mezzavia 25, 00173 Rome, Italy (Formerly Idea Hotel)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#323 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ocated in the south - east of Rome, just a few kilometers from the center of Rome reachable by the nearby underground, and a few miles from the exclusive area of the Castelli Romani, Vintage Hotel Rome is set inside a modern shopping center where there are some international brands and exclusive activities. The Vintage Hotel Rome with 120 guest rooms, some of which are deluxe. Colors, splashes of shades reign in the reception hall, photographs of Italian film artists who have helped make Italy famous throughout the world. Candles, heat, home, smiles and professionalism, everything that makes your stay unique We devote a full breakfast in the morning, original, sweet and very Italian tasty. External parking area, shuttle, limousine service, free wi fi, conference room, private event , birthday party, company reception, vintage hours, Morover the Vintage Cafè is the right place where listening music 70's, 80's and more with exposed rare collection of vinyl records, reading a real book, tasting snack created with artistic sense, not least the various cocktails, craft beers, wines by the glass. There is a little Vintage Hotel Rome in all of us we expect you! Corners curious to discover, patterns, books, vintage hours, collected indelible vinyl records, photographic exhibitions, exclusive music CDs, aperitif dinner, objects and memories with many details of the past but always present. Small pets allowed (10 € per day) No Smoke in the Hotel We remind our customers that smoking is prohibited in all public areas and guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anagnina Hotel Rome
Anagnina Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing