We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is Primo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serena Hotel
Ranked #377 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location is Primo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Perfect travel spot. Clean, amazing and friendly staff. Typical European room size but spotless. The location is close to the Metro, the train, restaurants and shopping. Across the street is a restaurant that for about 10 Euros offer a wonderful menu and very good service. The elevator is a treat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    383
    138
    31
    35
See reviews for
137
320
85
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Couple, 50's . Cannot fault this hotel spotlessly clean , very helpful staff ,polite and informative, only down side no tea coffee facility in room and not available elsewhere in hotel . Little tip ! Turn right out of front door, cross the road and turn left , little restaurant first on right , fantastic, for 10 euros 3 courses and bottle of wine , nice elderly couple .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparra9032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I got this hotel through Bookings.com though it was recommended by Road Scholar and I did research it on TA prior to selecting it. The Serena is a typical small hotel in a commercial building, and when they called it a "single" room they weren't kidding! You won't be able to spread out, that is for sure; I can't speak for the doubles. Even so, it had a new TV, a frig and adequate bathroom and was very squeaky clean. High enough up to diffuse street noises. The staff was exceptionally helpful and got me all the train schedules I needed and advised me on best times to visit local attractions. Breakfast was ample and delicious. I can't find anything negative to say about this place. Got it for 95 euros/night which was a better price than others I checked.

Room Tip: High up and off street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Roma at Christmas and the hotel Serena is a wonderful family oriented place to stay. Very clean rooms and a delightful breakfast with a wonderful staff. Hopefully,
we will stay there again this holiday. Very good location, very helpful and informative front desk.
the Restaurant just across the street is excellent.

Room Tip: Great room, we had no problems at all with the hotel. Hopefully like I state above we will be back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellieabcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I've been staying at Serena Hotel in December 2011. It's a 3 star hotel with perfect location very tiny room and ants... We woke up one morning to find ants all
Over our toilet floor, and our bed. We were moved to a different room but that should never happen. Wifi Internet connection was very slow and we had to get a different password every morning which was a bit annoying. Would I recommend this hotel to anyone well as I said location is ok but that's about it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyLorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

we stayed in hotel serena in early nov for 6 nights and we paid 470 euros in total (tax exclusive)

good points:
- good location though there are a lot of hotels in the same area perhaps with better price
- good and helpful management

bad points:
- very smelly room, strange smell of sewage coming from the toilet, had to close the door at all times
- power out thrice in 6 nights, door didnt work as it was powered by electricity, had to eat breakfast in dark
- a lot of ants on the breakfast table one day
- the hotel only occupies certain floors in the building, it shared the same building with 2-3 more hotels, even though hotel serena has a separate reception there is actually a side door for the other hotels and ppl could come in freely through that door
- lift very old fashioned
- room is very small and the bed is very small for a double bed

conclusion:
the price totally doesnt worth the standard of service received

Room Tip: try to ask for a room facing court yard - shd be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Had a 2-nt stay in November by myself. Booked here to be close to the Termini train station, which is a very short and easy walk. Neighborhood is OK but not great. They offer free wi-fi, but I had trouble getting it in my room, but they have cheap internet cafes across the street. Breakfast was good, but not great. Front desk staff was very helpful in answering my travel questions and outlining on a map how to get to a requested site. Reservation was OK with no problems and room was ready when I arrived. Room was small, but that was expected for the price I paid (E65 per night).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
California Hotel
California Hotel
#340 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#217 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#273 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#286 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#262 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#267 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel

Property: Serena Hotel
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing