We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Like In A Movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Palazzetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Palazzetto
Ranked #529 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Todos Santos
Level Contributor
273 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Just Like In A Movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I mean it....It feels just like stepping into a scene from the classic Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone....I was given a private tour of this little gem...entering through an iron gate at the top of the Spanish Steps and the location just doesn't get any better than this in Rome! There were multiple levels of terraces and the gorgeous iron spiral staircase was the centerpiece of the interior. The intimacy you feel inside transports you to another century when a noble family lived in these rooms.
I love that Roberto Wirth, owner of the famed Hassler Hotel just steps away, bought this little palace and has turned it into such a cool place for drinks and people watching, even if you are not staying there. The rooms are elegantly appointed and inviting. Breakfast is included at the Hassler, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilkmaidTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    16
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
66
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The location is excellent. That being said the hotel is neither fish nor fowl. Not really a hotel, not really a bed and breakfast. Almost luxurious, but you are not really in a palazzo as the name implies because the only room you can use in the building is your room, unless you want to sit in an outdoor, smoke-filled roof top bar. It must be truly clastrophobic in bad weather. There is no place to hang out as they have closed the parlor and the dining room. Our room had a very bad odor, as another guest on Trip Advisor has said, " it smelled like a dirty diaper." I pointed it out several times, got a smile and some laughs by the staff and some muttering about airing it out. In desperation I asked for a room spray which I used everytime I came in the room. The breakfast at the Hassler was okay, but not up to the standards of other 5 star hotels that I have stayed at in Italy. Would not recommend it to my friends. It may be cheaper than the Hassler, but all in all I found Il Palazzetto a hassle.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roamerNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We only had a drink in this perfect terrace bar overlooking the mayhem of the Spanish Steps. Impeccable service - an abolute delight!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a fantastic little gem of a place, nestled right on the spanish steps, we had room 4 on the fourth floor, with amazing views out onto the steps, and access to the outside terrace, which we had all to ourselves...... i have to be honest i felt a teeny bit smug as i sat on my balcony, sipping a glass of fizz, with people on the steps looking up and wondering ' how did she get there?! hehe! pure class. the location is bang on the money, the rooms are very luxurious, the bonus of a kettle and tea/coffee was very welcome, the bathroom is huge compared to other hotels, and i loved it! the staff very friendly and helpful, everything was top dollar, even the price, worth every penny. The breakfast over at the Hassler was v good, and I liked that I got to use the Hassler, but stayed at the younger and more hip baby sister on the steps - as it was less pretentious and 'old'(no offence Hassler, just personal taste :) . if i get to return to have another Roman holiday - i will most definitely stay here again. I loved it and it made my trip to this beautiful city even more magical.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 - it's at the top and it's the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummymummynorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We loved Il Palazzetta. Right on the Spanish Steps. Wonderful assistance by the desk personnel, especially Daniella. And the amenities of the Hassler without the cost of staying in the Hassler. We loved our room (#4), thoroughly enjoyed breakfast at the Hassler. I used their fitness room, and we used their bikes (could use some new bikes, or at least some good repair!).
We also recommend using Context Travel for city walks. Their docents are great. We left Rome feeling like we had really experienced it. Here are some things we recommend doing:
Eating:
Best Gelato: Crispina
Best Coffee: Saint Eustachio
Best Roman Trattoria: Gino's
Great Roman dinner: Al Moro
Must see: the Burghese Museum, reservations required.
Great walk: The Ghetto (Richard Steve's book is good for this)

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms. Am sure all are great, but #4 is right at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have travelled around the world and have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the finest hotels ... and I would rank this among them. It is small, it is quiet, the staff is discrete and pleasant, it is central, clean... in short, quite perfect. Not inexpensive, but by Roman (and Hassler) standards, not breaking the bank either. Thanks very much for a quick, perfect layover.
Karen, Montreal

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtl-vt-itl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in Il Palazzetto #4, which is on the 4th floor with easy access to the rooftop balcony overlooking the Spanish Steps. Ask for room #4 if you stay here! There are only 3 other rooms in the hotel (Il Palazzetto is an offshoot of Hassler Hotel across the street), and we were the only ones staying there in late February. All three desk attendants at Il Palazzetto were friendly and helpful with reservations/directions, etc. The breakfast buffet at the Hassler Hotel was excellent, and although our reservation suggested continental breakfast, they had no problem with us participating in the full breakfast each day. We highly recommend Il Palazzetto!

Room Tip: Il Palazzetto #4, only room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b9mccaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#60 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#36 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna View
Piazza di Spagna View
#567 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Palace
Condotti Palace
#528 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzetto

Property: Il Palazzetto
Address: Vicolo del Bottino 8, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Rome
#268 Family Hotel in Rome
#329 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Il Palazzetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Palazzetto Hotel Rome
Il Palazzetto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing