We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding!”
Review of Nicolas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nicolas Inn
Ranked #225 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Pasco, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed a full week at the Nicolas Inn during our first visit to Rome. Melissa and Francois are amazingly helpful and we not only chose their Inn for the prime location but because Melissa grew up in the U.S. and speaks fluent English not to mention that Francois speaks six languages himself. Our room was very comfortable and Melissa was there to greet us every morning with pleasant conversation and a wealth of information and tips about Rome. She even ran a special errand to find some cardboard for us to protect artwork we were transporting in our luggage when the local shipping/supply store was closed. We wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Nicolas Inn and if we ever go back to Rome we won't stay anywhere else. Tim and Kim WA State USA

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet so no need to worry about which are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    85
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
77
497
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our room was comfortable and quiet - in the center of Rome! The personal service and breakfast with the locals make this the place to say. It was a delight to see a couple like Francois & Melissa work together. Rest assured anyone we encounter headed to Rome will get a five star recommendation to stay at Nicolas Inn

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our third visit to Rome and our third stay at Nicolas Inn. We would never think of staying somewhere else. Their suggestions on what to see and where to eat are priceless. Our stays have been a big part of our wonderful memories. We look forward to future visits in the years to come!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leroy0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent 3 days in Rome before heading to the Amalfi Coast. We could not have been happier with our stay at the Nicolas Inn. The room was a great size and clean. The owners are incredibly nice and very, very helpful with recommendations and tips to navigate the city. The location is fantastic. Breakfast was at a nearby cafe and was a great start to each morning. If we ever return to Rome, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spend 3 nights at the Nicolas Inn. What a great place to stay! Great location for taking a break from all the walking and still be right in the middle of all the sights. Melissa greeted with a lovely room, map of the city and suggestions on sights and restaurants. All her suggestions where great and we enjoyed our stay in Rome. I can't wait to come back to Rome and I know that we will stay at the Nicolas Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our second hotel in Italy, and being a typical American, I considered it small by our standards but I loved my stay at the Nicolas Inn. The location couldn’t have been any better for my needs and the owners went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Melissa gave great advice on dining, and didn’t make me feel like an idiot when I plugged a US surge protector into the outlet and blacked out the entire floor. :)

I must admit, I was a little concerned when I learned that breakfast was served at a nearby deli but it turned out to be one of the most pleasant memories of the stay. The deli owners made us feel at home and I loved watching the local Romans as they enjoyed their espresso and pastry at the counter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2TakeMeAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from a 2 week visit in Italy. Our first 3 nights and last night before flying out were spent at the Nicolas Inn near the colosseum in Rome. What a great place to start the trip! Melissa greeted us with a beautiful, clean and quiet room waiting for us. After a refreshing glass of tea she brought us a map of Rome with suggestions on sights and restaurants. The room included breakfast near by as well. She made reservations for us and answered any questions we had. The Inn was in such a perfect area to walk to all the main attractions. The metro and main train station were all within walking distance. We walked with our backpacks and carry on luggage to the train station easily. The area around the Inn felt so safe that we walked all the back streets and alleys that were lit up by beautiful lanterns and never felt uneasy. Great little cafes and small restaurants with little tables set up outdoors all over off the busy street (Cavour). Francois and Melissa were very accomidating with anything we needed. If we are lucky enough to return to Rome, we would absolutely return to the Nicolas Inn!!

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms and they both face the street but were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#335 of 1,259 in Rome
412 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#174 of 1,259 in Rome
562 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#34 of 1,259 in Rome
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#231 of 1,259 in Rome
213 reviews
Monti
Antica Locanda
Antica Locanda
#551 of 1,259 in Rome
154 reviews
Monti
Nakissa Inn
Nakissa Inn
#664 of 3,669 in Rome
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolas Inn

Property: Nicolas Inn
Address: Via Cavour 295 | Scala A, Int 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicolas Inn is a small accommodation in the center of Rome just just a few steps away from the Colosseum and the ancient Roman Forum. This service-oriented Inn offers a welcoming atmosphere in an authentic setting for your vacation in Rome. Nicolas Inn is recommended by Rick Steves, Frommers, Lonely Planet and DK Eyewitness Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nicolas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolas Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing