We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Nicolas deserves to be #1”
Review of Nicolas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nicolas Inn
Ranked #207 of 3,621 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Nicolas deserves to be #1”
Reviewed 14 July 2005

What can we say that has not been said? We just got back from 3 days in Rome as part of a 3 city anniversary trip. The Nicolas Inn was a great place to stay. The location is perfect- you can walk to the Trevi fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Jewish Ghetto, the Colloseum, the Pantheon and even the Vatican. Melissa is a wealth of advice and recommendations and was always right on with her help. Breakfast in the room was a hoot and the rooms were spacious by European standards. The a/c worked perfectly and the shower was stronger than ours at home. Melissa and Francios work hard at keeping their guests happy and it shows. A word of caution; it is a little hard to find. You may be expecting a separate entrance with signage but it is actually an apartment with 4 rooms in a building with a courtyard between several businesses on a busy street in Rome a few blocks from the Colloseum. Watch for the street number. I would stay nowhere else in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    85
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
495
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2005

We stayed at the Nicolas Inn for three days. The accommodations are excellent, and Melissa's recommendations on restaurants and tips on when and how to see the sights were great. She even arranged our reservations to see the galleries in Florence. The location is perfect, with everything we wanted to see other than the Vatican within easy walking distance. The bus stop to the Vatican was just around the corner. We highly recommend this B&B for anyone traveling to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pointski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2005

Great location, great service and very clean rooms. Breakfast was very nice. Mellisa made slight changes to breakfast per our requests which showed great service. A/C worked excellent. No room noise but the Inn is small so there is some noise overflow between rooms. Recomendations on site seeing and restaurants were PERFECT!!! Highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2005

Had a wonderful experience staying at the Nicholas Inn. Location made it easy to get around, and Melissa was a wealth of great infomation. She made our kids birthdays extra special(both had b-days while we were traveling). Thanks Melissa and Francois, Hope to return someday. Fondly, The Stucker Family

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TravelGirl900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 July 2005

We stayed at the Nicolaus Inn in early May of this year. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and conveniently located to the sites and transportation ammenities. The owners are very thoughtful and eager to make their guests feel at home. They had great dining recommendations too. The Nicolaus Inn is a wonderful place and superb value!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 July 2005

Stayed at this B&B 23-25 June 2005. Greeted by Melissa who was very friendly and helpful during the entire stay. The room and ensuite bathroom was clean and modern. Rome was very hot during our visit but the room AC was efficient and quiet. Breakfast was OK but we would have preferred a separate breakfast room and a bit more choice. The B&B is very centrally located to all the normal tourist spots. We would recommend this B&B to others.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keystone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2005

I loved them so much, Francois waited forever untill we got there and Melissa is wonderful as well!! They also have beautiful rooms that are comfortable as well as super clean. The breakfasts were very wonderful and Italian, people forget where they are sometimes. Italy is different then anywhere else and they brought out the best possible. They reffered us to a wonderful reataurant walking distance to the inn, Ristorante Santa Christina, I fell in love and there is nothing better than that. They know what I'm talking about! But stay at Nicholas Inn and dine where they tell you which will be Ristorante Santa Christina. Thank-you guys! Ciao!

Helpful?
9 Thank e2inrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#314 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#424 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Monti
Hotel Lancelot
Hotel Lancelot
#35 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Rome Downtown Accomodation
Monti
Caesar House Residenze Romane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolas Inn

Property: Nicolas Inn
Address: Via Cavour 295 | Scala A, Int 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 3,621 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicolas Inn is a small accommodation in the center of Rome just just a few steps away from the Colosseum and the ancient Roman Forum. This service-oriented Inn offers a welcoming atmosphere in an authentic setting for your vacation in Rome. Nicolas Inn is recommended by Rick Steves, Frommers, Lonely Planet and DK Eyewitness Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nicolas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolas Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing