We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Ruggero Excellent owner”
Review of Rome Vatican B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rome Vatican B&B
Ranked #91 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I came with a bit of hesitations, it was my first time in B&B at the owner place.
The room was big and clean, with shower & toilets attach to him.
The place is in a quiet neighborhood, The double windows blocked the rest.
Ruggero was wonderful and was happy to give advises and printed materials for places you should see.
Just ask him and get it all!
The place is 1 minute walking from the Vatican museum.
Its located 7 metro stations (10 minutes) from the termini station – and between there are the Spanish & Popolo Piazzas.
The Breakfast is "help yourself" - and eat as much as you want. Coffee Moka (Very Good one) are made night before – and you need only to put it on heating plate or start the filter machine.
Off course – the kitchen is open and you can make your self hot drinks all day.

It’s a good place and great manager – will come back with no hesitations!
Avi

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avi198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

The B&B owner Ruggero was very helpful during our short stay in Rome. Though I did rely on my Italy roughguide, his travel suggestions were very useful. The location was especially perfect to visit the Vatican (we managed to get into St Peters Basilica around 7am to avoid any queues). Overall we thought the B&B was very good value for money. As a previous reviewer suggested, it is like a home away from home.

Mayuran & Miru

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayuran82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I loved this B&B and would definitely go back. I adored the family who ran the place and they were very responsive if there was a problem.

Clean rooms, air conditioning and convenient location....They went out of their way to be helpful...We preferred to go to a neighborhood cafe for breakfast, but the hosts did prepare coffee, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at AGV 2001 for 3 days over the Easter period. The B&B was very well located for the Vatican (~500metres to the Vatican museum entrance and ~1k to the main square).

The rooms were clean & tidy and the Satellite TV had English channels (which was not the case in other places I stayed). We asked for the room at the back which is away from the main street and was very quiet. The breakfasts in Italy leave a lot to be desired and here the breakfast was basic, but adequate. It consisted of packaged croissants, bread for toast and cartoned drinks. However, the items were available throughout the day for a quick snack after site seeing. There is also a fridge available for you to store food.

You have access to a PC and printer which I'd highly recommend using to book tickets for the Museums - this will save you from standing in queues for hours.

The main reason for recommending a stay at AGV 2001 is the owner Ruggero. He was the most helpful and generous host, who would happily sit with you making recommendations on everything from the best restaurants to how to plan your days. On his PC he has pictures of some of the more peripheral sites to see which help you locate them swiftly.

He is incredibly proud of the ratings his B&B has received and he is genuinely concerned that his guests have a good time, and goes beyond what you would expect from a B&B owner. The night before we left he gave us a bottle of wine, some sun-dried tomatoes and spiced meat that was very useful for sandwiches as he knew we were going on a long distance train journey the next day.

However, my overriding memory of his dedication was on the last night. His wife went into labour and somehow he found the time to write us a letter wishing us well and posting it under our door! I'm not sure what his wife thought of this but it did make me laugh in the morning and demonstrates his commitment to his guests.

I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here and for the money I think you would struggle to find a better place to stay.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the back room which is away from the street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabs_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Very good location a specially for the Vatican.The B & B is acceptable and reasonable priced for Rome.Rooms are OK,though my wife said it had a damp'ish smell.Slight noise from the road outside.Breakfast was only adequate,help yourself.Plus, you can make tea/coffee anytime. The Host Ruggero was first class,he was very helpful.He would spend much time with you and listen to all your plans, then give very good advice.He would down load Maps Etc.to help you get around.Then show you on the map where each place is.Could not be more helpful.His advice to go to St Peters in the mid to late afternoon was excellent which we did,and got straight in.Visited the Vatican Museum whilst the Pope was out front. So got straight in, no queue ( booked online. )Very handy location for Buses and Metro.Ruggerro will advise you on everything. Good restaurant nearby is 'La Rustichella,very popular reasonable priced .We went 2 nights in a row.Managed to see most of the sights in 3 full days ( stayed 4 nights.) Can not see me going back to Rome.My wife got robbed in the Metro so be very careful.Thanks Ruggero, for you help,hope your arm is now better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We were staying at AGV 2001 3 nights, Ruggero, the owner was very nice, gave us great tips for our stay in Rome. The place is clean, in a good area neer the Vatican, very good value for our money, We will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lehavim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed for 4 nights,& had a gr8 time. We have travelled to many places but never have we felt so much at home as we did at Ruggero's B&B. The B&B is conveniently close to the Vatican & other sights. Comfortable rooms, clean bathroom, substantial breakfast options & the best of all, Ruggero the gr8 host!Goes out of his way to make you feel at home. Gives you all the important info, maps required to go around.It was just like being one big family, all the guests together!I would love to come back, & advise all travellers to definitely spend their days in Rome with Ruggero.
Rajan & Ranjani Gehani
ranjan149@rediffmail.com

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjan256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#244 of 1,271 in Rome
603 reviews
Campanella3
#3 of 3,734 in Rome
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coffee And The City
#355 of 3,734 in Rome
53 reviews
Next Door Guesthouse
#93 of 3,734 in Rome
263 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Vatican B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Vatican B&B

Address: Via Mocenigo 26, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly AGV 2001 B&B)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rome Vatican B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Vatican B&B offers comfortable accommodation 150 metres from Vatican Museums and metro stop A Line "Cipro". 3 En-suite rooms with air conditioning, satellite tv and hairdryer. Free Internet Point in the common area. Ideal location for shopping and dining. Covered external terrace available. Blankets are changed every 3 days. Continental breakfast is buffet. Family run. We speak English, Spanish, Italian, Russian and Polish. On-site assistance for any kind of need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rome Vatican B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing