We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option”
Review of Rome Vatican B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rome Vatican B&B
Ranked #102 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Great place to stay. Ruggero is a great host, really caring about your stay and confort. The location is just great, about 200 m from the underground and close to many bus stations. You can even see St Peter from the street. Very clean, big rooms, lots of tv channels (but that's not very useful when you are in Rome. GO OUT!), and a very kind host. What can you ask for the prize?
Maybe a better breakfast???
Seriously, if you are in trouble, try this.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

Had a great stay in this B&B! Perfect room, location and very friendly host! ( had great tips for Rome and surroundings). Very reasonable prices.

Thanks Ruggero, for the nice 3 days!
Marjolina & Marcus

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cous_CousRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We were 4 friends who stayed at the B&B for 5 nights in total. The place is very easy to find because of the close metro station and the map we received from Ruggero in advance. The rooms (very clean) are equipped with a large bed, towels, air condition, TV, an own bathroom + toilet and also a hairdryer. I did not expect this kind of luxus for such a reasonable price!
What I liked most was the terrace, which has no view but you can sit outside very privately. The kitchen is perfectly equipped with a koffee machine (+ koffee and tea), a mikrowave, a fridge and some snacks you can prepare all the time. If you deny the typical Italian beakfast (packed croissants, toast, butter, jam) you can walk arround the corner to the next pannini/tramezzini bar.
There are also a lot of very good restaurants beside the B&B, where you can get pizza or Spaghetti for € 5.- to € 8.-
Ask Ruggero for restaurants or some sightseeing tipps and he will tell you everything you need to know. He also called Taxis for us or made our reservations.
Beside this we could also use the internet access for free.

We liked this place and I can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MASGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed here over the Easter period, and would highly reccommend the AGV 2001.

The place is extremely clean, the host Rugerro is fantastic, and knowledgeable, is keen to help you at all times, and does what he can to illuminate your visit to Roma.

The rooms were a decent size, with ensuite bathroom, the room had satellite tv with a huge range of channels, including BBC and CNN. Breakfast was served in the kitchen, and was typical roman fare, croissants, bread, toast, juice and coffee.

The location was very good, approximately 10 mins walk from the Vatican, in a quiet street, 5 mins from the Cipro metro stop.

I would highly reccommend this place .

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roma81jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2007

I am utterly bemused as to why this B&B is currently only 171st best in Rome and why it has received average reviews in the past. Our stay was virtually perfect. I can only assume that the stays in 2005 were with a different owner.

We received a warm welcome from the owner and were plied with tonnes of information on where, when, how and what to and do.

The rooms were very clean and in good condition. The location was fantastic - just 150m from the Vatican museum and a bus ride away from the main town and all the other tourist attractions. I don't know why another reviewer said that a nearby square is noisy. The B&B was quiet and was nowhere near said square. The main reason why we booked it was because it was not in the Termini/Colosseum area, which is where the majority of hotels are but it is the roughest part of Rome. The AGV, however, is in a relatively safe area and we never felt anything threatening or sinister going on.
The same review states that you don't have a private bathroom. This is not the case; all rooms are ensuite.

I cannot believe that many B&Bs are better than this in Rome if not Europe (particularly for the price, which was very reasonable).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cougar_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

We stayed at the AGV 2001 for three nights in Sept. '05 and found it a very friendly, clean, pleasant place to stay, and a very good value (80 euros/night). Pluses: The room was clean, crisp, bright and seemed to be very newly redone, including the bathroom hardware. Nice towels. It was a reasonably good-sized room. The location is very convenient to the Vatican -- a 5-10 minute walk. Same for the metro. We love to walk, and we walked to all of the major sites, including the Coloseum on the other side of town. If you're up for it and the weather's good, it is a great way to take in the city. AGV is located in a residential area. (Contrary to the other reviewer, we did not find the area to be particularly noisy or rowdy and did not feel unsafe.) Our host, Ruggero (who speaks super English, as well as Spanish, and of course Italian), could not have been more friendly and helpful. Getting his take on life in Rome definitely embellished our visit. Free internet access was a nice extra. Minuses: Breakfast was pre-packaged and nothing special, except the espresso, which was great -- you help yourself to the machine. The terrace was a little untidy, and sometimes closed for breakfast. The walls were thin, so it could be noisy if other guests were staying next door. Good restaurants nearby were hard to come by. That said, we thought the pluses far outweighed the minuses, and we were thoroughly happy with our stay at AGV. We would definitely recommend it.
(Note, if you're mapquesting the address, the street name is Mocenigo, not Moncenigo as listed by TripAdvisor.)

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
19
Reviewed 9 July 2005

I found this bb to be very convenient, in a quiet location and well priced for the area. The hosts are delightful and very chatty, they provide some information what they think are some of the best highlights of Rome from a Romans perspective, which is a nice touch.
The general area is very nice and safe, close 10/15 min walk to Octavianno San Pietro Metro Station, and near to some fabulous food markets.
Well worth a visit. In fact we have another 2 nights booked there at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
4.9 mi away
Coffee And The City
Coffee And The City
#374 of 3,721 in Rome
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piazzetta al Vaticano B&B
Piazzetta al Vaticano B&B
#278 of 3,721 in Rome
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Campanella3
Campanella3
#2 of 3,721 in Rome
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B Laocoonte
B&B Laocoonte
#430 of 3,721 in Rome
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Pietro Candia 25
San Pietro Candia 25
#486 of 3,721 in Rome
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Impero Vaticano B&B
Impero Vaticano B&B
#142 of 3,721 in Rome
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Vatican B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Vatican B&B

Address: Via Mocenigo 26, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly AGV 2001 B&B)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £43 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rome Vatican B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Vatican B&B offers comfortable accommodation 150 metres from Vatican Museums and metro stop A Line "Cipro". 3 En-suite rooms with air conditioning, satellite tv and hairdryer. Free Internet Point in the common area. Ideal location for shopping and dining. Covered external terrace available. Blankets are changed every 3 days. Continental breakfast is buffet. Family run. We speak English, Spanish, Italian, Russian and Polish. On-site assistance for any kind of need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rome Vatican B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing