We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean. One block from Piazza Navona. Would stay here again.”
Review of Hotel Teatro Pace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Pace
Ranked #210 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2008

I just spent four nights at Hotel Teatropace and what a great location! It's on a very tiny street so there is virtually no vehicular traffic noise, yet it's only one block from Piazza Navona. There are dozens and dozens of restaurants and cafes within five minutes of the hotel - plenty of dining options.

I am a slow stroller, and the Pantheon is less than a 5 minute walk. Campo di Fiori is about 10 minutes away, and Trastevere was an easy 15 minute walk. I didn't go to the Vatican on this trip, but it would probably be a 20 minute walk.

The hotel itself has no lobby, just a desk inside the front door. Be aware there is no elevator; the staff carries luggage to your room. There is a wide circular staircase all the way up.

Upon arrival, I was shown to room 204 which is off by itself up another tiny spiral staircase. I had emailed the hotel and requested a room with a bath tub...which the room had. Be aware though that the tub is very short - not enough room to stretch out and soak. Oh well. The room had a hardwood floor and lovely walnut furnishings - a desk/dresser and a wardrobe. There is an Internet connection on the desk and an electric kettle with a selection of tea and instant coffee (although you can get a wonderful cappuccino at the corner cafe). There's also a mini-fridge which is stocked with an assortment of beverages at a very reasonable charge.

The bathroom was completely tiled in marble and contained new fixtures: sink, bidet and tub. There is a wall-mounted hair dryer.

Continental breakfast was included and served in your room. I found it was more than adequate. Selections include coffee, cappuccino, milk, yogurt, rolls, cornetto (choice of plain, chocolate or apricot), jams, etc.

Don't be put off by my rating of 4; I would say the hotel is high in its category but it has no lobby, elevator or breakfast room. The hotel is clean and quite charming. The staff was very helpful in making restaurant reservations and re-confirming flights. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank YoPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2008

We stayed in room #206, it was quiet and spacious, the bathroom was really nice and the closets were awesome. The only negative about the room was the size and location of the window. It made the room a little dark, but it really didn't matter because we weren't there during the day.

The bed was comfortable and the room had a thermostat so we were able to control our own temperature. Breakfast is delivered to your room and the apricot croissants are FABULOUS! I wish I could order some and have them sent here to Texas. Note: typically, there are no wash cloths in Italian hotels, just hand and bath towels. If you are accustomed to using a wash cloth, we suggest you bring your own.

We really liked the location, just off the Piazza Navona. Nice perk, the hotel offered to have a car pick us up from the airport for a fee. We took them up on the offer and it was the best 60 euro we spent to not have to worry about navigating downtown Rome to get to our hotel.

The staff was super friendly and very helpful. If you're not big on climbing a spiral staircase to your room...you might want to find a different hotel. Our room was 64 steps up and we weren't on the top floor. There is no elevator. But the staff will take your luggage to your room.

Great little restaurants just around the corner from the hotel, much better than the restaurants on the piazza.

Teatropace is within walking distance to the Pantheon, the Vatican, the Trevi Fountain and the ruins. The Spanish Steps is a bit of a walk. We jumped on a hop on/hop off bus to get to the Spanish Steps.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsully_pg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

For the location, Hotel Teatropace can't be beat. Two mins to Piazza Navona, most everything else 15 to 20 mins walk. The building was beautiful, located down a narrow street with restaurants and small shops. The rooms were quiet. The rooms were gorgeous--high wood beamed ceilings, hardwood floors, nice furniture, large and clean bathroom (yes, with a small shower, but we dealt with it). We ordered our breakfast each night and it was delivered promptly at the time requested the next morning. We loved having breakfast in our room. We could eat while getting ready for the day and not have to worry about looking presentable for a dining room. Would recommend staying here if you are looking for location, good price, and a lovely room.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SwissItaly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

We stayed at the Teatropace 33 in our short stay in Rome last year. The location was ideal for our 4 days of walking through Rome. We walked everywhere from the hotel and did not need to use public transportation. The location allowed us to spend the morning at the Forum, Palatine Hill, etc. and stop by the hotel to freshen up before going to St. Peters's.

We loved everything about the hotel. The room was beautiful, the view was fantastic, the services was outstanding, and the price was perfect. If we had to find something about the hotel that was not 100% perfect, maybe the thickness of the walls. We could hear the family in the room next door snoring and talking and then the newly weds next door enjoying their honeymoon... If you know what I mean?

Overall, it was a great experience and was much better than we expected when reserving. We were 5 mins from the Pantheon, 15 mins from the Forumn, 15 mins from the Vatican. It is in the ideal place and very quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxadixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

I stayed in the Hotel Teatropace 33 late November-early December in 2007, for 5 nights with one of my girl friends from work. We had been working really hard and decided we needed a treat to a city break.

I'd been to Rome several times so knew the areas well. I'd stayed previously off the Via Veneto and Via Nazionale but wanted something around Piazza Navona. Several internet searches led me to this little gem. I found a great deal on Expedia but was a bit anxious about paying up front, so I emailed the hotel direct and they were only too obliging to match the Expedia cost - what a result!

The hotel is literally a minute away from Piazza Navona - wear comfortable shoes as high heels and boots do not mix with the cobbles!

We had a twin room on the 2nd floor and was absolutely excellent for us. The shower is small, granted, but there was ample hot water and smellies for us to use. We had no problem with noise through the walls (it was previously a palazzo in the 17th century, so that said thick walls to me!), although we heard someone above us walking about in high heels.

Breakfast was served in the room and this arrived on time every day. It was just what we needed - a couple of yoghurts, tea, coffee, orange juice, croissants and rolls.

The staff were lovely and very helpful and I'd asked them to reserve a couple of tables for me for the Friday and Saturday nights, to which they did. And we also took advantage of the hotel's Merc back to the airport - boy did that man drive extremely well in the alley!

Places roundabout - you must go to Bar della Pace just out of the lane and to the left. A lovely place for a cocktail before or after dinner. La Maison is one of the best discos in town - and it's 2 minutes away from the hotel, down a side street. We left at 3am one morning and were in our beds by 3.05am!

Okay it's not a 5-star hotel, but that's not what we were after. The location is superb and we walked through Piazza Navona almost every night, passing the Christmas market. A lovely city break.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank Pashmina_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2007

Nice basic hotel. Good location. Room basic. No lift. Stairs only. Breakfast in your room each morning. No restaurant. Car service to airport available. Small shower. Main attraction is location. For luxury - avoid it. For location - stay here. For a base to visit tourist attractions during the day - it is ideal. But if you want the small touches that make the difference don't bother.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

As noted here previously, you will not like the Hotel Teatropace33 if (1) you have a problem climbing stairs and/or (2) you require a full hot American-style breakfast with cereal and waffles and pancakes and four kinds of meat every morning. If either of these apply to you, you can stop reading now and look for somewhere else to stay.

For those of us who appreciate a reasonably priced, quietly elegant, low-key place to stay in Rome in a location that can't be beat, however, the Hotel Teatropace33 is well-nigh perfect. We stayed in a double room on the second floor for seven nights earlier this month (November 2007), and I can't think of enough good things to say about our stay.

About that staircase: yes, if you have problems climbing stairs it could get to be a bother. But the hotel's website states very clearly that there's no elevator on the property, amd rightly asks whether anyone would really want to give up such a beautiful architectural element for an elevator to be installed. The property is a former cardinal's residence, and there are several elements throughout that indicate its former incarnation, including high wood-beamed ceilings and parquet floors.

Our room was a decent size, cozy rather than spacious, and extremely quiet thanks to the fact that it faced onto a back courtyard; it was hard to believe at night that the bustle of Piazza Navona was only a couple of blocks away. Like most Italian hotel beds, ours was a bit on the hard side - but after a long day of sightseeing, sleeping was never a problem at night.

The location of the hotel is really one of its strongest selling points. Piazza Navona is literally a two minute walk away, and it's also ideally situated for exploring all the sights in Rome's historic center. Tourist areas like the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto are a but further afield, but after spending some time in each of those areas we were happy to return to the Teatropace every evening - it felt very much more like the "real" Rome.

There are several great restaurants near the hotel as well - Da Franesco and Ciccia Bomba came recommended by the desk staff at the hotel and did not disappoint. And Lo Zozzone, adjacent to the hotel itself, is a great place to grab a quick lunch or midday snack - they serve what many believe to be the best pizza romana (= sort of like a stuffed foccacia sandwich) in Rome, and the woman who runs the place is absolutely delightful.

Breakfast was served to us every morning at the time we indicated the night before and was basic, but perfectly decent. It was actually nice being served breakfast in our room every day - why some people would rather trade breakfast in bed for a boring old buffet experience is beyond me, but to each his own I guess.

If I have any negatives to say about the hotel, it would be the size of the shower in the bathroom - which itself was a decent size, but the shower stall was pretty darn tiny. However, there was plenty of hot water and more towels than I've ever seen in any Italian hotel room, so it's not something to really complain much about.

In short, I loved this hotel, and look forward to staying there again the next time we visit Rome. I can't give a better recommendation than that.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gumbolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#120 of 1,269 in Rome
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#152 of 1,269 in Rome
1,087 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#436 of 1,269 in Rome
262 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#651 of 1,269 in Rome
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Pace

Address: Via del Teatro Pace 33, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#258 Family Hotel in Rome
#311 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £80 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teatro Pace 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Teatro Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatropace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing