We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place in Centro Storico”
Review of Hotel Teatro Pace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Pace
Ranked #233 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pinedale, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place in Centro Storico”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Just left after 5 days at Hotel Teatro Pace and it was perfect. Location was great, it was an excellent building. It was very quiet. Very well managed. On my next trip to Rome I would not think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaRoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    202
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
68
197
67
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location of hotel is excellent. Just two steps from piazza Navona. Cozy, calm and nice hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Rooms is big and clean. The only minus is small shower, but this does not disturbed us
The hotel is for people who is looking for nice location in historical center of Rome
Looking forward to get back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

There are so many things to recommend this hotel. First and foremost all the staff we met were consistently welcoming, friendly and helpful. The location is superb, right in the centre of the old town. You have excellent restaurants, bars and cafes on your doorstep. Transport wise, there are buses minutes away to get you everywhere you need. The hotel itself was full of charm. The room was quite simply magnificent. A large terrace with a view which was incomparable. Breakfast is served in the room and you have a very good choice of items. When we return to Rome we will certainly come back here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meander2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great location, very close to the Piazza Navona, many useful bus lines--87 to Coloseum; 64 (usually crowded) to Termini or Vatican, 40 (express) to same as 64. I walked to the Vatican Museum. Took the bus home. I stayed 6 nights in Rm. 303. Fantastic room! Very spacious. Large desk (by Italian standards) for laptop and breakfast. Separate dressing room/foyer with large closet. Separate area to store my bag including a dresser. Large windows. Fantastic light to wake up to in the morning. The best A/C I experienced in 24 days in Italy. Lots of restaurants out the door. My room was quiet, facing interior of neighboring buildings. Room safe was perfect for storing my extra cash. I found breakfast options plentiful. Eat breakfast like an Italian. Lose weight!! Firm bed. Staff helped me book Vatican Museum tour and advised on buses. I didn't take advantage of their advice for restaurants. I probably should have.

I also walked to the Spanish Steps at night and back. And from the Catacombs of San Sebastian all the way back, the long way since I got lost. I don't advise that, but it's not impossible to walk--about 6 miles. Also, do not take the 87 bus to the catacombs. It takes forever. Take the subway and then the bus.

Negatives: Refrigerator not very cold. wi-fi really needs to at least be brought up the spiral staircase to the higher floors. Sitting out on the 2nd floor landing or tiny lobby area was a crappy way to post photos, etc. Shower was tight, I'm pretty lean. My elbows tended to hit the faucet turning it cold or hot when I turned. But not terrible. Not much to be done about it though. Also, this is in the heart of tourist Rome. It's very hard to "escape" other tourists.

Next time I may stay in a less touristy area, but to see the sites, this is a great place.

I stayed in August and the rates were very low. October rates were about 2.5 times higher!!

Room Tip: My room was in the main building up the center staircase. Back side of the building was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The best advice I can give before you read reviews for any hotel in ancient Rome is: lower any American expectations. It's hard to believe that in the 21st century, in major international cities like Rome and Vienna, the hotels don't have internet in the rooms and an elevator. But for these old neighborhoods in Italy, that is common, and it's true for this hotel. But the hotel is beautiful and has the feel of ancient Rome. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bad is you have to leave your room to get wireless. There's a couch or a chair, or you can sit on the stone steps of the stairway. Many reviewers complain of climbing this to their rooms, but the steps are huge and not steep at all (See pics) and they will carry your luggae up for you. The food is good, but not much variation - coffee is awesome! - and almost every day they left something off. Ex: twice we had cereal and there was no milk - but they'll cheerfully correct it, if you just ask. Our room on the second floor had twin beds, a dresser, lots of closet space, was huge, quiet, air conditioned, and very clean. Caution: they may not all be this big. The shower is tiny and the hair dryer weaker than my oven fan, but this is standard across Italy. The staff speaks fluent English. It's expensive to stay in this part of Rome, but everything we wanted to see was here (Vatican, Ancient Roman Ruins) and the time we saved by not having to travel back and forth was worth it for us. The shuttle vans can't come down this street so it's about a block from where you'll be dropped off. (Some taxis are brave enough to come to the door.) Look at the pictures online so you'll recognize the hotel. It's easy to miss. If you have to ask, it's pronounced Tay-AH-tro PAH-chay. We bought a 48 hr pass on the HOHO bus to preview the sites, learn our way around, and for transportation. The bus has a pre-recorded audio guide. Take the trip around sunset on the upper deck and it's just beautiful. The stops themselves aren't that convenient to the sites and the Vatican stop is the closest to this hotel, but it is cheap and helps you learn your way around. Not to sound like a commercial, but we used Booking.com and we changed our dates twice within days of our arrival with no fees.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor so you don't have to walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had high expectations given the reviews and the price we were paying. The location was ideal but quite congested and noisy. The room lacked the kind of amenities that we would expect given the price. The lack of a lobby (or any common space) and elevator were a big drawback. Service was adequate but again, not exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_VDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location of this hotel is its strongest point; you are right at the heart of the old city.

Surrounding you is a pleasant network of mainly pedestrian alleyways lined with restaurants, bars and the usual tourist brick a brack shops. So you can spend £7 on a beer in the Piazza Navona which is a minute away watching the tourist goings on or £4 in one of the alleyway bars. There is a taxi rank 3 or 4 minutes walk away and the Parthenon is only 7 or 8 minutes strolling.

The area is of course mobbed with tourists (and we visited end of October) but that's Rome for you.

Hotel is very compact and doesn't have any public areas - having said that if you are planning on being out and about for most of your stay then there's little point paying for pools, gyms or other amenities so this will suit you. Rooms though are clean and equipped with decent furniture; couldn't be described as luxurious but more than comfortable. There is a small fridge in the room for your own use, air con, a safe and decent enough bathroom with powerful shower (nooks and crannies of the shower could benefit from a bit of a deep clean!). The hotel does serve a continental breakfast in your room at 8e but in all honesty I'd skip it and go out to one of the dozens of eateries where you can sit at a table to eat and people watch.

Wifi only works in the reception area. The nature of the property is tiled floors so if you are unlucky and get a noisy person above you then you may get some early morning chair scraping - there is noise from outside in the morning (as mentioned in some other reviews) but, as already mentioned, you are in the heart of the city.

The staff couldn't be faulted; happy to book table reservations or organise a taxi to come to the door to pick you up if you don't want to walk to the rank.

We enjoyed being out and about in the evening and then being able to head back to the Piazza for a nightcap where the place was buzzing - great to have somewhere like that on the doorstep.

Room Tip: We liked room 212 - it had a shuttered window looking out into the street; the hotel is quite dark s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Navona
Hotel Navona
#124 of 1,261 in Rome
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#165 of 1,261 in Rome
1,055 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#309 of 1,261 in Rome
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Pace

Property: Hotel Teatro Pace
Address: Via del Teatro Pace 33, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#258 Family Hotel in Rome
#312 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teatro Pace 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Teatro Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatropace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing