We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away, for its price you can easily find better”
Review of Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #552 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stay away from this hotel. It is expensive, but you get only a small room with cheap and low-quality furniture (they call it "minimalistic!). Parquet on the floor, but with clear scratches on it. TV was still a huge cheap old model (no flat screen here). Shower doors didn't close well so water escaped on the floor. Small lavatory in a corner, no light over the mirror. At €150 breakfast and wifi access had to be paid separately. Thin windows glass, noise outside isn't kept out. Early morning rubbish collection awoke me this moring. And this morning the corridor was filled with a greasy taste coming from who knows where - not the smell you'd like to meet when you leave the room. At that price you can easily find better, even in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmorwath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

First off, let me say that this hotel is WAY off the beaten path. In fact, we kind of got lost trying to find it as we were roaming neighborhoods well outside the tourist hotspots. Also, it is about a 10 min walk from the closest metro. Oh, and it wasn't just us lost. Locals near the station weren't even aware of it so it really wasn't big by any means.

All that said, once we found it and got settled in we were pretty happy. It's a nice walk to/from the metro once you know where you are headed. I kind of liked the charm of being in a quite part of town and just seeing people roaming about their normal day-to-day lives. Also, the hotel is cute, but very small. Nothing too fantastic really, pretty standard, but it was clean and I knew what I was getting into for the price/other reviews.

This seems best suited for students or couples like us that don't mind staying a little out of the main areas to save some money(so you can spend it on more meaningful things of course).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tacoSEVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

A very minimal hotel
No restaurant or room service
No fitness center
No complimentary wifi
Staff seems to have an attitude
Shower is *really* small, literally elbow space only. Drain pipe would get clogged and will take a while to clean up.
Most likely would not stay with a family here, prefer a hotel with a restaurant/room service at least. There are no tourist spots near by the hotel as well. The nearest ATM machine is also about 0.5 km.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArunGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel St Paul for three nights (Wednesday, Thursday & Friday nights).

We arrived at Roma Termini railway station. From there it was a Metro ride (about 15-20 minutes) to Basillica San Paulo and from there a ten minute walk to the hotel.

Check-in was good and the man at reception spoke good English and gave us a fantastic tourist map of Rome and highlighted the main tourist sites. We found that this map was more helpful than the guidebook that we had purchased before leaving home !

Our room was clean and located on the top floor (the 5th). The complaints we have about the room are
1) 1 pillow per person. This was quite flat and an additional pillow would have been welcome.
2) The hot air heater was sometimes not sufficient to keep the room warm. It was a choice of either having a noisy heater on all night or allowing the room to become somewhat chilly. I suppose, with hindsight, we should have asked for a blacket and extra pillows.

Brekfast was very good. Lots of choice. Ham, cheese, eggs (hard boiled and scrambled) and sausages (hot dog type). Tea, coffee, lots of fresh fruit. Cakes, biscuits and much more !

Wi-Fi is in the hotel but is chargeable. There's a computer in the reception area that guests may use the internet free of charge - however they suggest no more than 15 minutes of use to allow other guest to access the service.

Sadly our last night was spoilt by loud noises made a bunch of alcohol induced neandrathal idiots who found it extremely amusing to arrive back at the hotel at 3am. Not the hotels fault - but a blot on an otherwise peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We went on a family vacation to Rome. We stayed on Hotel Saint Paul, the first night we noticed that the security camara was pointing to the parking right in front of the hotel which was awesome. The next day we got back to the hotel at 9:05pm, went to the lobby to use the computer and 6-7 minutes later my husband and my daughter went to the car which was parked in front of the stairs of the hotel. When my husband went to the car there was a guy basically inside of our car, they broke the window of our new car and they were trying to get the seat down. My husband put our daughter on the stairs of the hotel and stared chasing the guy. When he was chasing the guy he heard our daughter running behind him, he rushed to the reception area and told the guy on duty to call the police. Well, they took 40 minutes to call the police. When we request to see the security video they told us that they never had the security camaras pointing to the parking because is illegal on Italy to record public places. Really? The other couple that was traveling with us saw the same thing the night before!!! When we questioned this they were in the defensive, and really rude. We requested the manager to come to the property and he never showed up! We asked the hotel to give us the money back for that night and two other nights and they told us that there was nothing they could do for us. It is false advertised as being centrally located, everything is far from that hotel and is in a really bad neighborhood. I will not recommend this hotel at all. We went to the Holiday Inn after this experience at it was worth it, private parking and nice staff. For the price that we paid for Hotel Saint Paul we got much more in the Holiday Inn and the beds are really comfortable!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, this hotel is a terrible choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MiriamT2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Although it is not centrally located it is only a 10 minutes' walk to the metro station Basilica S. Paolo and the area is a quiet one.
The rooms and bathrooms are big and very clean and the only things that bothered me were the fact that the wireless internet was not free of charge and that they didn't provide slippers and there was no carpet on the floor.
Good buffet breakfast with a wide range of choices.
I wouldn't rate it as a 4 star hotel (as the rooms don't have coffee/tea making facilities and the toiletries in the bathroom were basic) I'd rather say it is a good 3 star hotel.
Overall it's a good value for money and I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clau08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Bad parts:

* Really cold room, despite the thermostat set to maximum level.
* I have been assigned to a room with handicap equipped bathroom, with big diseases for showers.
* Bed not comfortable.
* No way to completely prevent light from coming into the room.

Good parts:

* Good breakfast at 4 euros

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#190 of 1,272 in Rome
215 reviews
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#402 of 1,272 in Rome
654 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#100 of 1,272 in Rome
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Area Roma
#480 of 1,272 in Rome
169 reviews
Hotel Turner
#781 of 1,272 in Rome
958 reviews
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#540 of 1,272 in Rome
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Paul Hotel

Address: Via Vito Volterra 43, 00146 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#274 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £33 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Paul
Saint Paul Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing