We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously Impressed”
Review of Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #550 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I spent two weeks travelling Italy and this was by far the best hotel I stayed in. The room was huge compared to what we had had before, I managed to snag the double bed while my cousin had the single. The room had great working AC, a mini-bar we used as a fridge and working free Wi-Fi. The hotel isn't in the greatest neighbourhood but it's only a 10 minute walk to the Metro Station where it's easy access to anywhere in Rome.

The breakfast was amazing, lots of choice, everyone is catered for. Bacon and eggs (and the option to make yourself a toastie), cereal, croissants (really fresh and tasty), pastries, yogurts (I had two every morning they were just divine), juices etc. The staff we came across were also very friendly and spoke good English. I would definitely stay here again if I were to return to Rome (sadly, I couldn't throw my coin in the Trevi Fountain, so this isn't guaranteed!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear customer,
thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased that the Hotel Saint Paul, its staff, the service and the breakfast were satisying. Our Hotel is a small company trying to pay close attention to the little things and details like the breakfast and the staff client relationship, essential to us. The breakfast consists of a refined selection of quality products and the staff is always ready and available to any extra as a result of various request of our customers. The neighborhood of St. Paul is near the city center and you can reach all the main tourist sites in 10 minutes by subway.

I hope to see you very soon again, if you want I will give the commitment to throw a coin into the Trevi Fountain on your behalf. kind regards

Best regards

Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Positive =
- Big Triple Room = double bed + proper single bed (not sofa)
- Location = 7min walking to metro and also close to train station Roma Ostiense
- Not noisy
- Helpful and friendly staff

Negative =
- Poor Breakfast selection. I'd expect more from a 4star hotel
- Really tiny shower, although bathroom size was actually OK

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inthebox_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear customer,

thanks for sending us a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the layout of the bed in the triple room instead of a sofa bed. The shower room although small is a standard measurement. I am convinced on the other hand you may have liked the assignment of a triple room with balcony instead of a standard triple. When possible is important for us to give a free upgrade to our customers.
Our position, as you have seen on our website, it is in a very quiet residential area just 10 minutes by metro from the city center.
I want to thanks for positively reviewed our personnel, you definitely are ready to satisfy all information and requirements with maximum availability.
Breakfast at Hotel Saint Paul is a standard breakfast for a four star hotel and our products are fresh and of high quality. In addition we provide a coffee bar on request totally free and unlimited.
Thanking you again for your review I take this opportunity to invite you to stay with us again.

Best regards

Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay in rome! The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, although the room was small it was everything we needed for our stay in rome as we were only there to sleep. Our room was cleaned daily and we had free access to a safe where our belongings were secure. The hotel staff helped us find places to eat and tours for our trip and the location was near to everything on the metro line. 4 stops to colosseum, about nine stops from the Vatican and the beach. The metro was a ten minute walk and very easy to find. The hotel provides maps for all these places. Breakfast was nice and full of options. On top of all these the hotel kept our suitcases safe on our final day after checking out. In all, for the price we paid hotel Saint Paul was a hidden gem. I would have liked more English channels but hey when in rome..... (You don't care for TV much). Rome is the most beautiful place I have ever visited and we are already planning to go back and stay at hotel saint pauls again. Thank you so very much for a welcoming, comfortable stay and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Ciao for now

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mr. Barry,
thank you for your warm review. We are very pleased that your stay at the hotel Saint Paul was good and in particular that you appreciated the professionalism and the friendliness of our staff. In addition, as you have already described our personal Housekeeping, highly qualified, refreshes the laundry rooms on a daily basis to provide a service worthy of a four star hotel.
Thank you on behalf of Hotel also for mentioning the free services made ​​available to the customer including the use of in-room safes, concierge service at the front desk and luggage storage.
The Saint Paul ,as you can see from the map on our official website, is located in the south of Rome near the Basilica of St. Paul and about ten minutes by public transport from the major sights of the city of Rome.
Another of our strengths is the breakfast and I am glad you enjoyed our variety of quality products.
So I hope to see it again at the Saint Paul Hotel Rome.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We chose this hotel for a 4 day sightseeing trip of Rome and would recommend it for that purpose.
The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. Although the rooms are small they are adequate and are kept superbly clean and there are fresh towels and bed linen every day. Breakfast was sufficient.
To see the attractions of Rome you will need to catch the 170 bus which will take you to the Coliseum and from there you can walk to all other attractions. The 170 bus stop is just around the corner from the hotel. If you turn left from the hotel then left again and then cross the main road you will find the bus stop on your left and a news agent’s stand a little further along sells the bus tickets. Also, where the bus stop is, you will find a lovely restaurant serving delicious meals all at very affordable prices.
Dining by the river in the Trastevere area makes a lively evening where you will find stalls and bustling restaurants with live entertainment and the 170 bus will take you there too.
A word of warning about pick-pockets; they are rife and especially on the Metro at the interchange. It really is best to avoid the Metro interchanges where crowds become crushingly horrific and easy picking for the thieves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Mr. David,

thank you for your kind and exquisite review.
It 'been a pleasure to have you here with us and to have a pleasant conversation about the wonders of Rome.
Thank you very much for appreciating the attitude of courtesy and helpfulness of our staff and the meticulous cleaning, these factors are fundamental and essential to us.
As you may already have noticed and fully describe the "170" is a great public means of transport that in less than 30 minutes takes you through the quaint neighborhood of Trastevere right in the center of Rome. It 'an excellent alternative to the subway to see the city and enjoy the outdoors so full of wonders offered by Rome.
Talking about wonders of Rome we cannot live out its renown cuisine. Nearby there are many restaurants that, following your valuable advice, I shown on a small local map which we usually give our guests on arrival.
Among the recommended ones our restaurant "The Glass Mediterranea" located in the central Piazza Venezia where you can go by taking advantage of a voucher dedicated to our guests, with which you can access to special prices at a no limits buffet.
Regarding pickpockets are a big problem in all large cities and Rome unfortunately is not immune.
Thanks again for your preference and do not hesitate to contact us on our official website to show us new tips or book a new stay by taking advantage of the best rates.

Best regards

Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

It is a 4 star hotel so I'm expecting a bit more. The staff are friendly but the room is bit small so it's hard if you have big luggage. Breakfast is good enough but always the same variety throughout our 3-night stay. Located within a university area makes it noisy during lunch time as there is a restaurant beside it where most students dine. The metro station is 15 minutes walk and there is a bus stn 3 mins away. At night though it's dark outside so I wont suggest strolling alone. Next time I prefer to stay somewhere near the rome city center to have more açcessibility.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Harlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your valuable review.
Ours is a hotel that has all the features and functionality that requires a four star. I wanted to point out in this regard that the Saint Paul has a variety of rooms from standard economic small (the room you booked) to the normal standard, up to the most expensive double room with balcony. So it is understandable that your room was very small but in fact it was just the type you choose.
I hereby confirm that our reception is always ready and willing to do an upgrade of the rooms chosen, availability permitting, if that does not turn out to be actually booked liking.
In this regard, I thank you heartily for having highlighted the kindness of our staff.
Being in a university neighborhood during the day the attendance of the students in the vicinity is conspicuous, but after 5 pm the area is completely empty. The night is very quiet being a hotel that is located outside the city center. This aspect must not be misleading, peace is not synonymous of danger.
To complete, I confirm that the nearest subway station is "Basilica of St. Paul," a 10-minute walk, with three stops and you are in the heart of the Imperial forums of the "Circus Maximus" and "Coliseum".
Contact us through our official website for a new reservation, we will suggest the best possible solution with respect to your requirements.


Best regards
Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break in June . Fantastically clean hotel and lovely polite and helpful staff and nice selection buffet for breakfast ( fruit, bacon , varies eggs , cereal , cakes , juice , cold meats etc )
It is very near Basillica San Paulo metro station approx 10 to 15 minute walk .there are only 2 lines on the metro ( a and b and this is on line b ) . About 15 minutes takes you to everything you could possibly wish to see . Tube does close at 11.30 so any later than this and you will need to get a cab or night bus . Would recommend for anybody interested in a reasonably priced hotel in a good location

3  Thank Kilris
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. Our Hotel is a small Hotel situated in the south business area or Rome Between the centre and the suburbs as you can see on the map of our official web site. Our staff is highly trained and they focus on the customer and deliver a high quality service. The breakfast gives few choices of almost everything pointing more on the quality of the product rather then the quantity.
Please take the chance to stay again in our Hotel Saint Paul.

Best regards

Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel was quite and clean but the breakfast was boring , no place to eat after breakfast , no tea it coffee making facilities in room and the safety box didn't work despite our reporting it to staff . In general I was not impressed .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swayne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for reviewing the Hotel Saint Paul Rome. Our is a highly professional staff and are used to deliver a high standard service on daily basis. As you can see on our official site map, the Hotel Saint Paul Rome is situated in the southern residential part of Rome where you can experience the real local life away from the tourist truck. Our breakfast offers a selection of high quality products that change according to the season and even if is the only meal service we offer around the hotel there are plenty of restaurants and bars where you can eat in any moment of the day. We also provide small kettles for in room tea just by asking the reception with no extra charge. Regarding the safe the maintenance was sent to unblock it and everything was set in just a couple of minutes from your request. The safe is still working and other people used the same room without reporting any inconvenience up to now.

I just want to thank you once more for finding your time to review the Hotel Saint Paul Rome

Best regards

Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#201 of 1,273 in Rome
217 reviews
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#410 of 1,273 in Rome
654 reviews
Hotel Turner
#799 of 1,273 in Rome
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#101 of 1,273 in Rome
1,308 reviews
Hotel Area Roma
#480 of 1,273 in Rome
169 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#434 of 1,273 in Rome
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Paul Hotel

Address: Via Vito Volterra 43, 00146 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £33 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Paul
Saint Paul Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing