We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, best breakfast, rooms need refurbishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Ranked #537 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Vaxholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location, best breakfast, rooms need refurbishing”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I usually stay here when I am in Rome. Location is perfect if you are on a business trip. A few minutes walking distance to Termini. There are trains to all Italy, airport "express" train to Fiumicino and the Rome Metro. The area around Termini is not entirely fresh but the location makes up for it. The hotel is a design hotel but the rooms need a serious renovation. It is more design than practical. It's extravaganza from the beginning is fading fast. The time has taken its toll with very little maintenance. OK to sleep in this hotel. Comfortable beds and also to work in the rooms. Bring your own 3G-WiFi router, you'll need it. The hotel WIFI is almost non-existent in some rooms. The best thing about Radisson Blu is the location, an absolutely stunning roof terrace with large swimming pool and fantastic view and a very excellent breakfast. Book on a internet service and make sure breakfast is included, otherwise it costs 27€ only. There are a lot of staff and they are nice and helpful. That's often needed since it happens that not everything gets right from the beginning. This hotel must have been amazing when it was newly built. Now the rooms need to be renovated. Still I give it a 3.

Room Tip: Book on internet and make sure breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bosse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Bosse,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel.
We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy one of our superior rooms, just renovated: from the beginning of the year, we started to refresh all the rooms and all the common spaces. In these day we are ending the total renewal of the hotel, and I am sure that if you will come again, you will see what an improvement!
I really apologize for the wi-fi problems: it has been a general problem during the days of your stay. Usually our wi-fi works very well (by two months we have bought a new router more powerful) and it is free for the guest, in the common spaces and in the rooms as well.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our staff and food, and let me suggest to you and to other travellers to book directly on our web site to find the best available rate guaranteed, breakfast included.
Really wish to see you again to show you all the renovated rooms.

Gianluca Capone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    694
    498
    243
    152
See reviews for
261
865
87
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at Radisson Blu in Rome for four nights. The hotel is in a good location for all public transport - very near to Metro, rail and handy for tour buses. Express train to and from airport was reliable and fast. The hotel is definitely quirky but our room on the 2nd floor was clean and comfortable. The 7th floor restaurant and Bar are excellent - reasonably priced good food. We ate in the restaurant and the Bar and enjoyed the food. The staff are all friendly and helpful (and understood our Scottish accents). Breakfast is excellent - lots of choice fruit, cold meats, cakes, fresh bread and rolls cheeses, cereals, hot bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs etc. Lots of choice and kept topped up.
We felt safe walking in the surrounding area to the hotel.
We used the Blue Roma tour buses and found them to be unreliable and slow. The red hop on hop off bus appeared to be much more frequent and reliable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim50gsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Jim,
Thank you so much for taking the time of this beautiful review.
We are happy to know that you liked our hotel and the service we offer to the guests.
It is very important for us to receive feedback from our clients to improve our work, and it is important as well to know that our hard daily work is the reason of guests enjoying their stay.
Thank you for your nice description of the seventh floor – breakfast and restaurant.
I am sure that other travellers will found very useful your suggestion about the city tour.
We hope to meet you again for another break, maybe next time longer than it has been.
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Radisson blu in Rome is a strange one. The hotel location for starters. It is directly opposite one of the side exits from Rome Termini station. You can literally walk out the side door of the train station , walk across the street and enter in the back door of the hotel. Inside you find a very on trend designer type lobby and this theme continues throughout the hotel. We spent four nights there in October 2013. The room was cool as in it had a very modern feel and the hotel is definitely upmarket. The area around Termini has good and bad points. There are a couple of pubs and restaurants in easy walking distance but the back of the hotel in particular leads onto a road you dont want to spend time on at night. We saw nothing happening but it felt insecure. having said that , during the day there was no issue and the cafe in the train station was very reasonably priced with great coffee . If you eat breakfast in the Radisson it can add up to 20% to your bill. 2 coffees and 2 croisannts cost 5 euro in the train station. The bar and pool area in the hotel are fantastic, drinks are expensive but ours came with mini sandwiches and peanuts ( like a lite supper). The staff in the bar were good but the ones on the reception were hit and miss and it took us 25 minutes to check out when we were running for a train to the airport (which leaves from termini station by the way, another strong advantage of staying in the Radisson). All in all I enjoyed the stay there and would go back again. We got a great price for the room on the net , (avg 110 euro per night ) but I would not pay five star hotel prices for this hotel.

Room Tip: ours was the basic room and it was still very very good. There are rooms with private balconies if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Charlie,
Thank you for taking the time of this review.
We really appreciate your analysis about our design and the very convenient location for moving from/to the hotel.
Our prices of food and beverage are in line with a five stars hotel’s prices, central in Rome, and - let me say - in my opinion is better to have breakfast on our panoramic seventh floor, with an excellent choice of cold and hot food, than in a bar, but it depends from the way you live your holidays . Most of the time our rates include breakfast, and if you will come again, please check them on our web site!
Thank you for your comments about our staff service and we really hope to see you again.
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for convenience of getting from the airport and to my office. Area surrounding termini is not pleasant but you can find an OK route from the hotel to Metro avoiding it. Hotel rooms were nicely decorated although starting to look worn. Did not use facilities, so can not comment on them.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjonasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Kjonasher,
thank you so much for this review and for suggesting to other travellers how to move in this area.
We are sorry that in your opinion our hotel looks warn, because by the beginning of the year we started to renovate all the spaces (rooms and common spaces) and by the end of this year the hotel will have a total new look!
You have to return to take another ride and to use our facilities: you will change your mind!
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived in Rome by train and the hotel is opposite the Termini. The area is dodgy but we walked inside the termini instead of down the street when we used the train to get to all the attractions. It felt much safer. The rooms are interesting and breakfast on the terrace every morning overlooking the city was great. The concierge desk was friendly and had good knowledge of the area and travel info.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Wilma,
Thank you very much for your opinion of our Radisson Blu es hotel in Rome.
Your suggestions are very clever and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are also pleased to read this compliments about our concierge service and surely we will share your words with him.
We will waiting to see you again
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have been to Radisson Blu es Hotel Rome before and this time I was really surpriced and happy about that the rooms have been renovated and it now all looks really nice. The hotel has a really good location both for sights and for going to and from the airports since it is just across the street from Termini. Yes a strange area but I never felt unsafe!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Kim,
we really do thank you for highliting how different is our hotel, reason of the total renewal of spaces. After money spent and men working hard, by the beginning of the year, we much appreciate that guests coming in our hotel for the second time could see the improvement.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you for the third time.
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Positives are
1. Excellent location, convenient for all transport and major attractions (despite the immediate neighbourhood being mixed, didn't worry us)
2. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the city, even in mid November - and food was excellent

However the ultra modernist design came at the price of practicality. Having booked a standard double room,. we found that:
i) it was stifling hot, the temperature controls &/or air con didn't work and the only way to get a reasonable temperature was to have the window wide open, all the time; (when reported, the receptionist said 'well just open the window') so at night we could hear the traffic & trains;
ii) we couldn't switch off the lights at night, the only way was to take out the smart card and turn off the electricity completely (then finding the loo in the middle of the night was quite hazardous!)
iii) several of the TV channels advertised didn't exist
iv) the 'double bed' was in fact 2 single beds 100 cms apart covered only by the sheet so extremely uncomfortable if one strayed off ones own side!

We did tell reception about all these problems, they moved us to a 'business executive suite' on the 6th floor which had the advantage of a proper double bed. However in all other respects it was even less comfortable then the standards room - same size room, but no bath, only a very poor shower; fancy modern bed and surround, 2 stupid partial headboards which meant the very inadequate pillows disappeared down a gap in the night; nowhere beside the bed to put anything as the surround was all curved wood; the kettle sat on the floor as nowhere else for it to go anywhere near a plug; Generally no way of relaxing and it was still stifllingly hot - balcony doors had to be kept open all night.

This has got to be the most uncomfortable hotel I have ever stayed in!

When asked when we checked out if we had enjoyed our stay and we said ' not really' there was no response from the receptionist, just a shrug. And strangely there was no feedback form in the room, or even at the reception desk. Do you not want to know what is wrong with the place? Despite a notice saying that 'satisfaction would be guaranteed' !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear guest,
I am really sorry that you didn’t like your stay and I really apologize for you feeling bad.
So thank you for the positive comments about our food and location.
We really believe in 100% satisfaction guests and obviously we try to improve our service, sending to the checked out guests a survey with the chance to evaluate all our services. We dont’ use paper forms but an electronic ones. If it has not arrived, maybe you didn’t gave your email address, but I will check what happened.
I really apologize for the hot heating, that’s our fault due to a general problem, now resolved.
Sorry also if you didn’t find the lights buttons – the next time, even if you will go in another hotel, we suggest you to ask an help to the front office staff.
In every room we offer a selection of SKY channels, free of charge, with news, movie and sport. This is what we advertise and this is what we offer: we are sorry if our proposal was not in line with your entertainment expectation.
I am sorry of this complaint and that you prefer to write on Tripadvisor, instead of talk with us directly.
Maybe the next time, if you want to give us a chance to change your mind about our hotel.
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#168 of 1,257 in Rome
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma

Property: Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Address: Via Filippo Turati 171 | (Esquilino/Termini), 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Rome
#222 Business Hotel in Rome
#265 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Rome
Radisson Rome
Radisson Sas Rome
Rome Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing