We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presidential suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Ranked #526 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked this hotel because of its close proximity to the train station - you can literally get off the leonardo express at Roma termini and cross the road to get into the hotel. It's also very handy for the metro which is a cheap and convenient way to get around Rome. However the downside of this location is that it is a relatively seedy area - there were a lot of groups of men just hanging around on the street - not that there's anything wrong with that, but it didn't always feel safe. We arrived at about 1:45 pm to be told the room would be ready in 5 mins. 10 mins later we were told it would now be 20 mins and then 20 mins later we were told it still wasn't ready and we were invited to go upstairs for a free drink at the poolside bar. After about an hour of waiting at the bar with no one coming to check on us or let us know what was going on we went downstairs and finally got the keys for the room. At that time I requested a late check out as our plane left at 5 pm - but was told that I would have to call back on the day of check out for availability - I didn't really think this was fair given the problems with check in and just informed them that I would be checking out at 2 pm which they agreed to. The presidential suite is a large space that has many interesting design features. There is a large living space with a lounge room which contains a big tv and the cocoon couch which has its own integrated playstation (no controllers or games - I guess they were available on request). There is a massive outdoor terrace that overlooks the train station and an old viaduct that is in front of the hotel. The bedroom is very large and contains a huge bed which leads on to a space containing a jacuzzi and an exercise bike. I couldn't find a powerpoint in the bathroom which is a bit odd. The things that let this suite down were the lack of cleanliness and the general state of disrepair. There was a huge set of cracks in one of e sliding doors to the terrace, several long black hairs were on the shower wall (definitely not mine), multiple brown/yellow splatter stains were seen on the toilet and bathroom walls, there were cigarette burns on the room information folder and the cocoon couch, there were brown stains around the outside edge of the spa and there were also stains on the tv stand. The pillows were also too soft for my liking (collapsed down to nothing after lying on them for two minutes). However despite all the things the room was comfortable, spacious and aircon worked really well. Another massive drawcard of this hotel is the fantastic rooftop pool which we enjoyed a lot during our stay. Do not wait for someone to come around and offer you a drink or menu while sitting by the pool (I don't know why - this is such an easy way to make money). Also the hotel wifi does not reach the pool - again why? We checked out the gym which just contains a couple of exercise bikes and free weights - not possible to have a proper workout. The breakfast was great I really enjoyed the free pour prosecco and various hot dishes - but there was notably a very limited selection of fruit, a proper coffee was also included. Overall I liked the massive room, rooftop pool and breakfast, but felt that is hotel was let down by the lack of cleanliness and general maintainenece. The staff were all very friendly and helpful if occasionally a little bit ineffectual.

Room Tip: A lot of people complained about the train station noise but we didn't notice any problems the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcus493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are currently still in this hotel. Another 4 nights to go. Only one person at the check-in counter when we arrived: 15 minute wait to check in. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful though. The TV did/does not work, yes it is/was plugged in. Not that we even watch television, but in a hotel which dares to call itself a 5 star hotel, these things should be checked on a daily basis to ensure that all is in order. On the first day we had to ask THREE times to have someone clean the room. The room was finally yet half-heartedly cleaned at 21:00 whilst we were out having dinner. The coffee cups, water glasses and spoons were left unwashed and unclean, we received no coffee, no sugar, etc. for the next morning. We had to call customer service and request this. We were asked if we really need it?! In a 5 start hotel one should not have to make extra calls requesting amenities which are in the price of the room! This should be done automatically! Clean cups, glasses and instant coffee were brought to the room in about 10 minutes time after calling, so, plus points for that. The room itself is very modern, but also very badly designed. Totally impractical. Minimalism does not have to mean impractical! We've stayed at extremely modern and minimalistic hotels in Switzerland and Thailand which were impeccable and perfect. The roof-top deck with its pool area is quite nice, but be aware that a simple gin tonic will cost you a whopping €14,-!! We waited about 25 minutes before even being asked if we would like to order something. The ONLY plus point we can give this hotel is its very close proximity to the stazione termini, the main train station. Also, beware that this hotel is in an area of Rome where you will see mainly Chinese, Indians, Sri Lankans, Africans, etc. but NO Italians. Never, ever again we will book this hotel, nor will we ever recommend this hotel to anyone! This hotel is definitely NOT a 5 star hotel but indeed 5 star prices are charged, so beware. Do NOT let all of the pretty pictures fool you. We give this hotel 3 stars at the MOST.

Room Tip: If you do decide to book this hotel, make sure that you request a room facing the courtyard, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pierrealamode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,
in the moment we read your review we tried to contact you to discuss your complaint and find a solution as we usully do, but without success. Despite many messages and calls you did not want to confront yourself with us: it was as you were disappeared from the hotel.
I really do not understand the reason of your review.
Problems can happen but we are here, working to resolve any issues with the guests.
Unkuckily you used Tripadvisor only to defame our hotel from the first day of your stay.
The score you gave us is far from the reality and I am sure that the other readers will understand what I mean.

Gianluca Capone
Geneal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were aware of the issues with the location (i.e. the neighbourhood, which is especially interesting in the evenings if you are a young woman) on booking so that can't really count against the hotel.

However, everything was just a bit disappointing. On check-in everything was fairly efficient, when we had managed to get their attention, but there was no service. It was just going through the motions rather than feeling welcoming, or saying hello how are you etc. The room was not properly cleaned in the bathroom or toilet and the bedding, while clean, has old stains which you wouldn't expect in a hotel of this class. The headboard on my sister's bed was also broken and rocked back and forth when you leant on it. The fittings all just seem a bit sad as if no upkeep has been done since it was installed.

The restaurant food and service was very good but the buffet breakfast was extremely expensive (approx. EUR25) for the quality of food they have on offer. The pool area nearby is also nice but you can't escape from the noise of Termini in the background!

On check out again we had to struggle for any attention and there was no one in the left luggage section so after 10 minutes we had to go and get someone from reception to do this for us.

I don't think I would stay here again just because of the area alone but the hotel itself was disappointing for the experience I was expecting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I am a great fan of the Radisson group but this hotel was a disapointment. It lacks soul and character.
It's easy to find close to the station in an area full of little shops, mostly Chinese next door to a wonderful market.

Check in was OK and we were upgraded to a suite - well really a very large room with a mirrored wall complete with exercise bar (ballet time!) and an exercise bike. The large double bed was in the middle of the room with no bedside tables.

The bathroom was a part of the bedroom with no dividing wall and the shower was just a rainshower with a curtain. The "jacuzzi" bath was also fully open to the rest of the room and lacked any instructions.

The room had a nice balcony area with seating.

Breakfast was OK but pretty chaotic. The bar was nice in the evening.

Staff were either excellent or dreadful. This was particularly true of reception and the breakfast room.

This is one Radisson I'd be loathed to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We wouldnt use any other hotel in Rome. Accomodation, courtesy, cheerfullness of the highest order. Beside the railway station that services all airports. Most helpful staff, both in initial phone enquiries and in person. Food excellent, and inexpensive for what you get. As a retired management consultant I viewed it as a hotel well-run in all departments we could see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

First - this hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful. When we asked for a very early wake-up call, they suggested a "grab and go" breakfast bag to take with us.
The location was handy to subway (2 blocks) and trains (terminal was 1 block). However the area that the hotel was in was not the best when returning at night.
Radisson Blu Rome was designed and decorated by someone who really likes contemporary designs. Features in our room were not convenient. The safe was located on the bottom shelf of a floor cabinet so you can to sit on the floor to use the safe. There were no conveniently located extra outlets in the room. The mattress was a bit smaller than the platform it was on so you had to be very careful going around the bed or you would hit your shin on the corner of the platform.
There were no closets or dressers or cabinets in the room so you had to put your clothes out on a counter or area behind the bed or work from your suitcase. That did create a bit of a messy room.
The breakfast buffet assortment was certainly large enough to suit all tastes but was the same every day. The breakfast sweet cakes were attractive but seemed to have little taste.
Would I stay here again? I would definitely look for another hotel that would provide a more pleasant ambience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After arriving in Rome you don't want to have to search for your hotel. For ease of finding your hotel, the Radisson Blu in Rome is the best. It is literally across the street from the main train station. While the train noise might be a problem for very light sleepers it wasn't a problem for me and my wife has described me as a light sleeper. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We often asked questions about touring Rome and the staff was quick with answers. The room we had was spacious and very modern. The bed was comfortable (I would give it a 8 out of 10). The room was clean and promptly taken care of each morning by the staff. Breakfast was top notch. For the money this hotel is a good buy as compared to other hotels in the same price range. Considering ease of location, cleanliness, staff and overall quality this hotel is the best Radisson Blu we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArkansasMinister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Grand Hotel Ritz
Grand Hotel Ritz
#574 of 1,272 in Rome
355 reviews
Esquilino
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Trevi
Trevi Palace Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma

Address: Via Filippo Turati 171 | Esquilino/Termini, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Rome
#222 Business Hotel in Rome
#262 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £87 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Rome
Radisson Rome
Radisson Sas Rome
Rome Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing