We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Ranked #538 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Most of the previous reviews have some substance. The area is full of non Europeans and quite scary. The reception desk is dirty and weird. Paint chipping off walls and bar drinks very expensive. Modern, quirky, pool area and sun loungers are great. 15 euros to trastavere in a taxi. 5 mins to train station, 15 to trevi fountain (closed till autumn next year). Beds comfortable, staff friendly and polite. Paid £100 a night which was good for this time if year because I wanted a pool. Without pool nothing special and if that's not the deciding factor stay elsewhere. £14 euros for a cocktail. They soon mount up.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank ScottJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in July for our wedding anniversary and hoped for a bit of luxury in the city centre of Rome so we didn't need to spend time travelling as weren't there for long. Location next to Termini Station was handy for metro, trams and bus to airport, however, it was still a bit of a walk to get to the sights and in a bit of a run-down area, you wouldn't expect a 5 star hotel here. Colosseum, palatine hill and forum are within easy 15 mins walk but Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are about 30 mins walk away.

Reception staff were friendly and check-in/out process was fine. Hotel rooms were very small and strange layout. Very modern but not practical. Tiny balcony but no furniture. No cupboards or space to put anything.

The pool area on the top floor is the best part of this hotel - it's excellent. Lovely relaxing pool area, well kept and perfect to chill out and catch some sun after sightseeing in the Italian sun. I was disappointed in being asked to get out of the pool when there was a little light rain (hardly a spit). The bar/restaurant had a great menu (although a little pricey) but we did not dine here. In Rome you will not go hungry - there are lots of lovely cafes and restaurants at every corner serving delicious Italian cuisine.

We also picked this hotel because of it's Spa and fitness facilities as were hoping to treat ourselves for our anniversary. We were extremely disappointed that this part was closed during our trip for renovation - something planned that guests should have been told about. We would've probably picked another hotel if we were told this.

Overall we had a fantastic stay in Rome but slightly disappointed in our hotel, not the luxurious 5 star hotel we were after.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elainemcgeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from staying here and are now covered in bites.
When we were packing up, I noticed some tiny blood marks on the bed, but as we were leaving I didn’t bother saying anything.
Now we are home I discovered bedbugs in our case, and it is apparent that this is what the marks on the bed where.
Putting the bedbugs aside here’s my opinion;
The hotel is very popular with conferences as it is right next to the train station so the staff don’t feel they have to be that accommodating as they are most likely always busy.
The bedbug room we had had a shower in the middle of the room, and the toilet had a tiny glass partition to separate it so if you are looking for any kind or room romance avoid this one (not to mention your fellow roomies the bedbugs), it was number 232.
The hotel food is expensive and below average, and if you want to pop out it’s quite a walk before you reach anywhere decent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Waltssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Claire,
we just inform you that we conduct on regular basis pest control in all the area of the hotel according to the Italian law.
After the report, as you know, we closed immediately the room, we double checked and started a deep pest control, but as result, no bedbugs were found in the room.
We also think that in the case that the room was infected, more areas of the hotel should have been affected by bedbugs, and consequently we would probably have several complaints about (and other reviews about it).
All the best

Gianluca Capone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in the middle of June and have mixed views. Food and cocktails in the bar were excellent as was the hostess welcoming guests into the bar/restaurant in the evenings, however the room was extremely disappointing.

Bed very uncomfortable, could not get any extra pillows when phoned housekeeping (this is meant to be a 4 or 5-star hotel!) as the ones provided collapsed immediately, no storage space in the room and the slopes either side of the bed meant things slid down them if not placed carefully, if items do slide down then you'll probably stand on them in the morning when getting out of bed. Two people in the room, but only one chair - not that there was space in the room for a 2nd chair.

Business class room so had a balcony, but no furniture on the balcony - not much use then especially as people in adjacent rooms were smoking on their balconies. Non-smoking room but a smoking balcony?

On arrival, the room had toiletries for one person only, however subsequent days there were sufficient provided for two people. Design for bathroom was unusual with only glass separating bathroom from bedroom.

This was an award stay and 66,000 points per night for business class award is not good value for money considering the issues with the room. Also charged for movies on check-out because, despite being a business class room, an award booking does not qualify for the usual benefits of a business class room? Not had this at other Radisson properties, and does not leave a positive feeling about the hotel.

All in all, I think this hotel is a disappointment for the Radisson chain and I won't be in a hurry to be back - not something I generally say about Radisson hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel was great overall! If you want to stay in comfort, the Radisson Blu is one of the places to stay. The hotel amenities were excellent, including the complimentary breakfast,if it is in your package. You must ensure that you know if you are or are not receiving a complimentary breakfast upon check in, otherwise you will be charged about 31 Euros + 8 Euros for beverages.

Room Tip: Our room was across from the Train/Metro station, but is was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Firstly - the staff we came into contact with were excellent ...Frederico (Night Manager) who checked us in, in the very early hours of the morning after delayed flight, Nico the pool attendant, Mario drinks waiter at the pool and Nicolson the doorman. All we very friendly and helpful.

Now - the hotel, Yes the area is a bit unusual, but not everything should be the same as where you come from. I can understand some people find it not the safest looking area, it's not glitzy, but we did not encounter any issues. 'Termini' (main train station) was very handy especially for the train to/from the airport and the nearest Metro entrance was an easy 5 minute walk away. In time the area will be very sought after.

The roof top pool is great.

Room servicing was good, but not consistent.

The round front desk was unusual, the fabric was a little tired and dirty, but the effect at night time looked good. Not sure being able to see everything behind the desk is a good look. The chunky seats and foot rests in the lobby were very comfortable whilst waiting for other guests.

Although I liked the glass between the wall and the bedroom, I was not a fan of the glass door to the toilet. Maintenance issues we reported were quickly attended to. All staff we met in the corridors acknowledged us and had a smile. The rug on the unusal floor was a little old and worn. The floor was soft and very unexepcted treatment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCGGrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at this fabulous hotel in the beginning of June 2014 after a conference I attended. The rooms are spacious and trendy. The hotel is very clean and the quality of the food as well as the wine are really good. The location is fine: easy to reach by train and on walking distance to major sites. The staff is very friendly, and was genuinely interested and caring. They showed personal interested which was not fake. A big compliment for the roof-pool and the life guard (Niccola): I have seldom seen such a well-maintained and clean pool with such friendly staff. That goes as well for the staff in the restaurant and in the reception. This stay combined the best of 2 worlds for me: culture in this magnificent city and a "lounge"-feeling at the pool and restaurant. I will surely recommend (I already have) this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the patio. these are very quiet. you can sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerrySusteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Grand Hotel Ritz
Grand Hotel Ritz
#558 of 1,271 in Rome
350 reviews
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#169 of 1,271 in Rome
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma

Address: Via Filippo Turati 171 | Esquilino/Termini, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Rome
#222 Business Hotel in Rome
#267 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £84 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Rome
Radisson Rome
Radisson Sas Rome
Rome Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing