We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fenice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fenice
Ranked #1,696 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Hotel was very warm and friendly, and close to everything in walking distance like Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, can catch a bus to Colosseum or other attractions, there are a lot of restaurants and shops close by. Staff is very friendly and helpful and will help organize tours and order a taxi to arrive for you in less than 5 minutes. They have the best cappuccino and free breakfast every morning. The rooms are very quaint but quite small. Beds are a little hard. You get get a free mini bar with sodas, water and some treats. All in all a nice place!

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. Its a boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    84
    37
    12
    20
See reviews for
22
99
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Great location, walking distance to all the main attractions. The hotel was lovely, staff are very friendly, and willing to offer advice/assistance. Rooms were spotless, and ours was very spacious. It is a bit noisy at night time if you want to keep your window open, but that is what you get for being in the heart of the city. Breakfast on the roof terrace when the sun was out was gorgeous. Lots of choice for eating out, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Visiting Rome for a long weekend, Hotel La Fenice was the perfect accommodation - well presented throughout, the rooms are warm, comfortable and clean. Free wifi and minibar were excellent perks to enjoy, alongside the top service from the staff whom could not be more welcoming and helpful to us during our stay. All major locations are within walking distance, 5 minutes to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 10 minutes to Pantheon and maybe 20 to Colosseo! We walked to the Vatican easily...no sightseeing hotspot is far from this perfect hotel in Rome :) We would definitely return, and stay here again :)

Room Tip: Some rooms face the rear courtyard (as ours did)...this is not a problem, we didn't visit Rome t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartridgeCC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

At the time you enter the hotel, it looks cozy, seems like a boutique hotel. I think there are less than 20 rooms in this building.

The room is very small but you have everything you need. If you're lucky, you'll get a nice view, otherwise, you'll be stuck with a dirty tunnel courtyard, which we got. The mini bar is free. OH. one thing i complain about. The fresh air system is really bad. The smell from the drainage goes into the room. We thought it was only in our room, but even in the lobby area.

Staffs are friendly, from the reception, to housekeeping to the f&b attendant.

Room Tip: Request for a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillCua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Excellent location especially if you are sightseeing - so close to the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room maybe on the small side but ideal for a short break and clean. Breakfast provided a selection cereal, toast, croissants etc and as much as you wanted. Free mini bar and snacks in room which must be a first!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens. Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I cannot actually write a review about La Fenice itself for the simple reason that I didn't stay there, despite having paid and booked there for 3 nights well in advance. They moved us to the hotel 'Pinco' round the corner, whose reception is in the hotel Concordia opposite!!, but only for 2 nights telling us that we would stay in La Fenice for the last night - we ignored this, and stayed put, only to find on our return that they had entered our room, packed all our belongings and placed them in the reception of the Concordia - the receptionist there (Miss Amalia) was extremely rude, shouted at us for not checking out, and sent us back to La Fenice where again we weren't given a room, but an apartment round the corner!! While complaining to the receptionist, Katalina, and the gentle 'bellboy' Kumar (who both seemed to feel sorry for us & were very polite but were obviously following strict instructions from the manager 'Laura' - who we NEVER saw) a French couple staying there told us the same thing had happened to them!!!! No apologies were given - but we insisted they pay for a taxi to the airport as compensation, which they did. Shame, as the rooms we stayed in and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Forget reviews from before 1.June 2012 - there are now new owners!!!
This little cosy hotel is absolutly fantastic. It's placed right between The Spanish steps and The Trevi Fontaine so it can't be more central. The staff is there for you 24/7 and speaks fluent english in the reception. Brenda - the manager - is so very helpful and even offered me to find a good price for terracotta pots and the also the transportation to Denmark. She and the rest of the staff are very serviceminded and do their upmost to make you as comfortable as possible. The rooms are not very big but has everything you need incl. free wifi and a free minibar - and who needs a big room when visiting Rome? The hotel terrasse on the top floor is amazing and a must-see. Every night the staff serves chilled white/redwines and mineral water on the terrasse - for FREE!!! The breakfast is very good with a broad variety of bread, croissants, cereals, fresh fruits and marmelades - and you they make the absolutely best cup of cappuchino.
Going to Rome? Well, make sure you stay at this hotel with Brenda and her great staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the street - you won't hear the traffic and you'll avoid the chance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Concordia
#744 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#578 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Trevi
Hotel De Petris
Hotel De Petris
#479 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#171 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Pincio
#504 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#114 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fenice

Property: La Fenice
Address: Via Francesco Crispi 15 | Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,696 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fenice 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an area surrounded by art galleries, monuments, refined boutiques, the Hotel Fenice, a 3 star Hotel, is without doubt a romantic choice for a romantic weekend getaway and cultural or business visit. Relax and enjoy the unique view of the city from our roof garden. Hotel Fenice offers guests double triple and quadruple rooms: comfortable and elegant, equipped with all amenities. 11 highest quality rooms guarantee your stay to be unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fenice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fenice
La Fenice Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing