We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Good Value”
Review of La Fenice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fenice
Ranked #1,696 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As others have said, the hotel is in a great location and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. The mini bar and drinks on the terrace were included in the price and were very thoughtful and welcome touches. The room I had was spacious, but it did smell of drains and the bathroom needed a face lift. The road noise did wake me up a bit early, but that wasn't a bad thing as there is so much to do and see in Rome. The breakfast was comprehensive with something for everyone. The good points definitely outweigh the bad - excellent value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abra665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have just returned from Rome . The Hotel is in a great location between the Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps , rooms were clean and comfortable , allthough because of outside pipe construction we had no hot water for two days , We were greeted by the very friendly staff with a welcome cocktail and snacks , in fact every night at 6 pm we had this complimentary service on the roof terrace , a very nice touch . The hotel could do with a face lift , especially the bathrooms , but for price it was good value . Also there was a free mini bar in the room which was stocked up daily , only soft drinks and snacks , but very welcome . Free Wifi throughout . The staff were all very charming , breakfast on the roof terrace was good . I would stay here again , the good points far out weighed the bad ones .

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned from a weekend trip to Rome and stayed at the Hotel La Fenice. The hotel is in a great location, close to the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain and close enough to a main road so it’s easy to get around and easy to find your way back to. The windows are good enough that you aren't disturbed by traffic noises either. The hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful (i emailed a couple of times before the trip to get ideas of places to visits, restaurants etc), also very happy to give advice on the best way to get around town etc.

The room itself was disappointing for the price paid. It was small and quite cramped, with the bathroom tucked into a corner. While it was all clean, the bathroom needed updating and redecorating (marks on the bath etc). Oh and the shower was no good for anyone close to 6 ft. tall. There was also quite a bad smell of sewers which you noticed when you first walked in the room. We asked about this and were told that it was due to the sewer system in the city and that when its warm the smell comes back up through the plumbing. They said they would put some 'product' down the drains to stop this but we didn't notice any difference.

Other good points were that there is a free minibar in the room (limited selection but still it’s better than nothing), free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel, continental breakfast buffet included (although only a small selection) and the rooftop terrace was very nice where they serve free drinks in the evening.

Overall, the good points far outweighed the bad, especially as we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. I would stay here again, but I’d want to make sure I booked much earlier to get a better price.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which was very small. I think they have larger rooms available but not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

When we got to the hotel on the first day there was a problem with our room, so they upgraded us for one night to a 4 star hotel nearby, all paid by them and organized perfectly so that it will be as smooth as possible and it were.
On the second day, going back to La Fenice we got the most amazing and kind service from the staff, from introduction to the city, to kind explain to the map and how to get to where etc' etc'.
Our room was ready in no time, very clean an comfy, as well as the free wifi there that was just great! they put a router on every floor, so the connection was super fast and reliable, that's a huge plus.
The position is very central, just a 2 minutes walk to the Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain, maybe 10 minutes to the Colleseum and the Forum and literally 2 steps away from the metro station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snirda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked Hotel La Fenice based on Hotels.com reviews & was disappointed. This was our longest stay in Italy on our honeymoon, 4 days in Rome over Easter. We arrived on Easter morning & our room wasn’t ready. We went to the Vatican for the Popes blessing so they said they’d bring our bags to our room when it was ready. We came back at 1pm, our bags were still in the lobby, but our room was ready. So we brought them up ourselves. Within a few minutes, I noticed a lot of problems. In the bathroom the toilet seat was falling off, the shower door was broken, the tub was dirty, & the sink had a broken stopper so the water couldn’t go down. There was a broken power outlet & crooked lights on the walls. The room smelled awful, like a mix of bad cologne, smoke & air freshener. I was furious & demanded we change rooms. We left for the day & came back a new room which was better but still smelled bad & had a broken drain stopper they had to fix. The fan was also broken in the bathroom & the first night kept buzzing. Over the next few days, my biggest complaint was the maid service. For some reason they didn’t refill soap, toilet paper, plastic cups, etc. I kept having to ask for things. The wireless also randomly shut off, & I had to ask for them to reset it. They had a rooftop area, but it was tiny & messy. Couldn’t enjoy sitting there. The free breakfast was tiny, which got really boring after 4 days of the same few options. They gave us a 10% discount but I wouldn’t stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't smell like they are trying to mask cigarette smoke with overwhelming ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights in April. It was lovely - about a 20 minute walk from the station. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the Spanish Steps & Trevi Fountain. The rooms are small, but very comfy with a good shower and plenty of wardrobe space. The room had a mini bar/fridge which was stocked up every day (free of charge) with a beer, few soft drinks, water and snacks. There was also free wifi which was really helpful, and the signal was good.
The hotel has a lovely rooftop terrace, next to which is the room where breakfast is served. The terrace is lovely and a real sun trap.
The breakfast was good, all continental choices with cereals, croissants, ham, cheeses etc.
The staff were very helpful with our enquiries and friendly. I would definetly come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vls137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel in a standard double room for 3 nights in January 2014. The hotel is located near a metro station and was quite easy to find. The room and bathroom was very small- much smaller than the professional photos suggest, but this may also depend on the suite you are given. We had two large suitcases and it was only possible to have one fully open at a time. However, the room and bathroom (a shower cubicle, not a bathtub as we would have liked) was very clean, so that made up for the lack of space. The negative points about the room included the TV that didn’t work during our 3-day stay (even though we mentioned this to the staff quite a few times), and the noisy AC that refused to turn off despite not needing it during January. I can imagine the room getting very hot and stuffy during the summer months so that’s something to be wary of.

The staff deserves a special mention as all of them were very friendly and helpful in terms of answering our questions about good restaurants, clubs, directions, etc. We planned a day trip to Naples on the final day, so the advice we got from the young man at reception was very helpful. The lady working in the kitchen during breakfast time was also very cheerful and kept the food refilled. The breakfast area on the rooftop was also lovely, although it was too cold to eat outside. A great view though! We asked for two glasses on the first night and were given proper wine glasses instead of normal plastic ones hotels usually give out. The free mini bar that got refilled everyday was also a plus! The location is very good too as it’s very near the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quirky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Cecil
Hotel Cecil
#210 of 1,272 in Rome
578 reviews
Colonna
Spanish Art Hotel
Spanish Art Hotel
#653 of 1,272 in Rome
163 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#572 of 1,272 in Rome
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#332 of 1,272 in Rome
658 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#451 of 1,272 in Rome
284 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#58 of 1,272 in Rome
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fenice

Address: Via Francesco Crispi 15 | Spanish Steps, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,696 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £73 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Fenice 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an area surrounded by art galleries, monuments, refined boutiques, the Hotel Fenice, a 3 star Hotel, is without doubt a romantic choice for a romantic weekend getaway and cultural or business visit. Relax and enjoy the unique view of the city from our roof garden. Hotel Fenice offers guests double triple and quadruple rooms: comfortable and elegant, equipped with all amenities. 11 highest quality rooms guarantee your stay to be unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Fenice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fenice
La Fenice Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing