We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Ranked #388 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed two nights in early September and one at the end of October. Very convenient small budget hotel, close to Termini and airport bus. Staff helpful and pleasant ( eg made a phone booking for another hotel later in the trip which we had been unable to do due to our lack of Italian, also helpful with allowing us to leave luggage). Breakfast was fine with fresh coffee made to order. Both times had a quiet room at the back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adonisb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    292
    56
    13
    5
See reviews for
131
328
59
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Olathe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I chose this room based solely on online reviews and was a little nervous going in. I can honestly say that I was very pleased. The hotel is clean and comfortable and an excellent value. We stayed at a hotel in Venice that was 3X the cost and of similar quality. Would stay there again and would reccomend to others.

Room Tip: There is a street market in the mornings that I imagine could be loud. I would request a room that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great hotel that is only a few blocks to the train station. Our room appeared to be newly renovated. The staff was friendly, and breakfast was pretty good. Overall, an excellent option for great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This stay.., 2 x 2nights Sept & Oct 2013

I first stayed at this hotel in Sept 2010, so when I decided to go back to Rome it was a given that I would return to this welcoming family run hotel.
Whilst planning my trip I contacted the hotel in March 2013and enquired about availability for the dates I required in Sept/ Oct , I received a prompt reply stating the dates were available and a quote for the cost per night as I had requested.
Just about 2 weeks before my trip I received an email asking if I still required accommodation for these dates.... Horror filled me... I had forgotten to confirm. I cannot thank the wonderful owners enough for contacting me, as I would have turned up, travelling alone, on the given date without another thought.
This mix up was entirely of my causing, but was sorted out promptly to everyones satisfaction. Thank you again.

I was slightly disappointed this time to get rooms, on both 2 night stays, facing internal courtyards rather than the great street view I had in 2010, but merely put this down to the confusion with the booking. I was just glad I had somewhere to stay!!

This hotel is great value and in a convenient location close to Termini station. Although the area can look a little shabby, as a mature female travelling alone I never at anytime felt unsafe, even returning to the hotel late at night after dinner across town.
Wifi is good, breakfast is very basic, but plentiful. Rooms are very clean, staff are polite and helpful at all times and are able to communicate well in English, for those of us still trying to master a second language!

I will be returning to Rome again... many times I hope, and I know where I will be staying everytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the Front overlooking the street, although there is a market in the street most da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've been around Europe a time or 2 and I found this to be a great choice. The good: it's clean, safe, quiet, well located and a good value. The bad: I had trouble with wifi and hot water. Having said that, it was fine for me (not too picky) and I will certainly stay again. You can read the past reviews to figure out the specifics of location etc. One tip; as a solo traveler, they offer a single room that I did not find on the major travel sights, but only on their website, so i booked directly and saved 30Euro per night over the double room. The staff was better than average to be sure and it was literally a few blocks from Termini (3 minutes at a good clip). Try Agora restaurant across the street for a great dinner and Alice Pizza across the street for an easy, tasty and cheap pizza lunch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomusPraetoria, Manager at Hotel Domus Praetoria, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank You for staying with us.
We are happy to hear You would choose our hotel again for your stay.
Can happen sometimes that signal in the rooms is not very strong, should have come to the lobby at reception for wi-fi.
I am surprised You hade some problems with hot water, I am wondering why. Shoul have report us and we would have checked to understand and solve the problem.
Sorry for any inconvenience and looking forward to welcoming You again!

Best regards,

Famiglia Menichelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel last september. The hotel is 3 blocks away from Termini station. Most of the main historic sites are within walking distance. The room was large, comfortabel and clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was simple yet sufficient (coffee was excellent!). The hotel is somewhat difficult to find at first as it is situated in an appartment building. Excellent value though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McDownload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is my second stay at Hotel Domus Praetoria in Rome. A hidden gem, fantastic value, very clean rooms, and two fantastic brothers that own/operate the hotel. We were in Room 105 on the ground level this stay, a great room! We reported the first day that the TV in the room wasn't working. The same day they had a serviceman check it out, and the TV was replaced with a brand new TV the next morning. The brothers who run the hotel are very, very helpful as are the other staff in the hotel. So close to Roma Termini station too. I believe the hotel is rated as a 2 star, but I would rate it easily a 3 to 3.5 star hotel because of the helpfulness of the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel, the well appointed rooms and the excellent value for money. I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Domus Praetoria to anyone. Excellent!
Jonathan from Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#204 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#266 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Augusta
Domus Augusta
#638 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#189 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#383 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Esquilino
Astoria Garden
Astoria Garden
#372 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domus Praetoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Praetoria

Property: Hotel Domus Praetoria
Address: Via Milazzo 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#225 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#256 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domus Praetoria 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Rome, few minutes walk from the Termini station and well located for visiting the main sights. All rooms with private bathroom, free Wi-fi and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Domus Praetoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Praetoria Rome
Domus Praetoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing