We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place depending on your room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Firenze

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Firenze
Ranked #1,039 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place depending on your room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Like all European value hotels it really depends on the room you get. Ours was great. The only quirk was the elevator stops on half floors meaning that you had to carry luggage down a half flight of stairs. Also elevator was small.

Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was fine. Very convenient to metro, Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain. Front desk people were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerZielinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana Z, Direttore at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your words. We know that our lift is small this is due to the fact our hotel is inside an ancient building situated in the heart of Rome so you can imagine that lift has been added many years later than construction...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    28
    33
    14
    17
See reviews for
13
38
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Hotel although centrally located had extremely small rooms and once bags were put in cupboard no room to move. The safe in the room did not work and despite assurances it would it never was. Breakfast would have been better not to be included. It consisted of a pastie, coffee and fruit juice. The lift was typically Europe very small, but you had to carry your bags up one flight of stairs before you entered it, no real point.

Room Tip: All rooms were basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana Z, Direttore at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for using your time in writing comments on our Hotel.
Just few comments:
our Hotel is located inside an ancient building in the heart of Rome, so it is normal that the lift has been addedd long time later than the construction, so you can imagine can't be a huge and quick, modern lift.
our breakfast is traditional italian it means that we use to drink cappuccino (or coffe, tea, chocolate) and we eat "crostata" (cake with marmalade) and cornetto (croissant) of cours different type of succo and biscuits are available for Guests. We understand it is much different from English breakfast with eggs and bacon! Hope Guests will appreciate and try any way our breakfast so we offer it for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stinky with terrible dark rooms.. If you want to have the worst holidays in Roma in your life go to this hotel. Our first impression was terrible: smell of mushrooms, entrance like to the private flat in the dirty building. The second impression was - the worst wiev from the window ever.... at the wall covered with mushrooms and the darkness... - the third impression was: just escape! And we did. Were were lucky to find another hotel (thank you Tiziana!!) Stay away of this hotel!

Room Tip: Escape! Just escape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorotakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana Z, Direttore at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for personal thanking to me but I would appreciate to keep you with us and change opinion on our Hotel: I'm sure you would be able to enjoy your vacations. Tiziana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Paid for Hotel Firenze but was given a room at Hotel Doge. The shower was so tiny and as the enclosure was broken they had shower curtain instead!! - I'm 9 stone and it was a struggle for me to shower without having water everywhere in the bathroom. Breakfast was not worth it. But this hotel was OK if you only look for a place to sleep, not to shower though! WiFi was super fast

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana Z, Direttore at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your time and comments.
Just a brief comment: in the same Building we have two Hotels Doge and Firenze, they are very very similar. We regret you did not appreciated your room, if we knew when you were here we would be pleased to change room in order to satisfy your requirements.
hope to see you again in Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Dont stay here, its horrible. Nothing good about this place.
See reveiw for Doge Hotel Rome as they are the same hotel. I spoke to a few others guests whilst there and they too were very very disappointed. Breakfast is just shamefull, they should be embarrassed to serve this to guests.
There was work going on at the building across the road and it wasvery very noisy, guest dhould have been informed of the noice prior to arrival. Plus the street us really noisy till late and starts up again very early in the morning.
Spend the extra money and Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana Z, Direttore at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Google Translation
Hotel doge e hotel Firenze sono all'interno dello stesso palazzo d'epoca e sono della stessa proprietà .
Siamo spiacenti apprendere dal cliente che non ha gradito la nostra colazione, che evidentemente può non corrispondere agli usi e consumi degli Australiani.
In quanto ai lavori sulla strada in cui ci troviamo : se si rendono necessari non possiamo impedirli, fermo restando il rispetto degli orari di riposo degli Ospiti dell'albergo e dei residenti della zona.
La zona in cui si trova l'albergo e' centralissima e' ovviamente interessata dal traffico urbano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I booked this hotel and then read more reviews and thought - have I made a big mistake!
Far from it!
Yes the building is old but that is part of the charm. Having stayed in Rome before I can say that the rooms are large, great size bathrooms as well
The house cleaning is first class.
breakfast is not the best but it is included in the price
The location could not be better
3 minutes from the Spanish steps where there is a Metro station
All in all a good value hotel in a great location

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana Z, Direttore at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. Hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while in Rome and the staff could not do enough for you. The reception staff speak excellent English (which put me to shame as my Italian is poor) they are always willing to give you good advice and direction which they supply free maps for. The room was very good quality and air conditioned with fresh towels every day and fresh bedding every other day. They will go out of their way to help where they can and draw directions on the maps for you. The breakfast is traditional Italian and the service is very quick and friendly. I would happily stay there again what do you want for a centrally located budget hotel. It is better than most UK centrally located budget hotels. The location was absolutly fab 5 minutes to Spanish Steps, 10 to the Trevi Fountain and walking distance to all other major locations. The local transport is busses are free (no one came to take any money) metro is very cheap 1.5 euro to go to the Vatican City (but you can walk there in 45 minutes). A great location and great service all round.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the main street as the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GMC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiziana Z, Direttore at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. Very pleased to have you again among our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
City Hotel
City Hotel
#555 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Colonna
Rome Style Hotel
Rome Style Hotel
#354 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Colonna
Erdarelli
Erdarelli
#746 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#376 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#267 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Colonna
Spanish Art Hotel
Spanish Art Hotel
#579 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze

Property: Hotel Firenze
Address: Via Dei Due Macelli 106 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,039 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing