We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Paba well run”
Review of Hotel Paba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paba
Ranked #316 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Paba well run”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Hotel Paba in early September 2011. Everything was fine except the air conditioner was having problems. But Alberta did her best to get the repairman on it and so it became functional enough to get us through the heat. A thoughtful touch: there was a 1' square clothes rack in the bathroom with clothespins! The hotel is on Via Cavour (a major street) about a mile south of the railroad station. It is slightly downhill from the station. So you can walk it if it's not too hot. The street noise was a problem, so try to get a room without street windows. There is a post office across the street which is a big plus with me as I mail home a package with souvenirs etc. in it on my trips every few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    119
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
225
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hotel Paba is a few rooms inside a big and old house in the very centre of Rome - it's only a few minutes walk from the Forums and Colloseum.
The rooms are big, also the bathrooms, everything is in a good condition and very clear.
The staff - Alberta is amazing woman that did everything for us to feel like a dear guest in this great city.
Waiting to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelK_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valhalla, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We spent 3 weeks in Italy and wanted to spend the last couple of days in Rome but didn't book a room before we left. We were scrambling to find a hotel and LUCKILY a room was open at Hotel Paba. Alberta was EXCEPTIONAL helpful when we called. She gave us directions and suggestions on how to get to the hotel from the train station. We we getting into Rome very late and she was able to accommodate that. She was up and waiting for us when we arrived with are MANY, MANY luggage’s. The room that my family and I stayed in was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked well. No trouble sleeping, great blinds on the windows. One morning we woke up and wasn't sure if it was day time yet since the room was so dark (I can't sleep with lights coming into the windows). Oh and the towls were so soft. She provides a free breakfast in your room, which I thought was awesome. The location was perfect!! It took us one day to get use to the buses and we were taking them all over town. There was a great restaurant right next door (Biccesteria that we ate at twice after long days of sightseeing. This hotel is center of most attractions. This may not be a 5 star hotel but if your looking for an a location in the center, close to transportation, and helpful management this is your place. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KV33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We loved this hotel for our first trip to Rome. We booked the family room and comfortably fit 2 adults and 2 teens plus luggage. The room is so thoughtfully appointed with luggage racks and plenty of storage closets to organize belongings during your stay. The air conditioning worked well, and our kids enjoyed a little down time one evening before dinner watching the cable/satellite television in the room. The bathroom is very small, but has the essentials. Because the air conditioning was on we kept the bathroom door shut so did not hear the noise from the street and nearby restaurant while we slept. We slept very well, and the hotel was very quiet, in part because of the small size of the accommodations (less than 10 rooms).

Each morning when you are ready for breakfast, you ring Alberta (or one of her staff if she is out of town for a day or two) and they bring a tray with continental breakfast -- croissants, bread, juice, cocoa, coffee. Basics to get your day started. We found it tied us over until we had a light snack mid-day and then a full dinner in the evenings.

As other reviewers have noted, the real gem of this hotel is Alberta -- she was so responsive by email before our stay, arranging for airport transport (so nice to step out of the terminal at Ciampino and see the driver holding the sign with our name on it!), making restaurant recommendations and reservations for dinner. She and her staff are wonderful.

Via Cavour is a busy street, without much charm, but step off a block and you have the character-filled streets of the Monti neighborhood full of cafes, churches and shops. Down the street you see the Forum, and around the corner you glimpse the Colosseum at the end of the narrow streets. We walked virtually everywhere to reach the classic sights of central and Ancient Rome. We even walked back to the hotel after visiting the Vatican. The day we went out to Ostia Antica, the metro station was conveniently located up the street a block at the Cavour station.

I would certainly stay at the Hotel Paba if we return to Rome in the future, particularly if Alberta still graces the front desk!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We were in Rome early July for 3 days. I booked this hotel based on Rick Steves travel book. It's very close to Colosseum and walking to Tiber River took about 20 minutes after dinner. Alberto is very helpful. She helped us call taxi to Vatican and Borghese Gallery in the morning. The hotel has a bookshelf where you can find a lot of travel books about Rome and maps. They have about 8 or 9 rooms, so if you want to be there in summer and need more than one room, book early.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maple2004maple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Our hotel en-suite room was very clean and spotless. It is on the second floor and an elevator is provided. The vintage elevator is small but really charming! We had a room with a king size bed plus a rollaway, which were both very comfortable. The 3 of us were satisfied with the room size. We also had good air conditioning. We had a nice big window with door shutters which could open onto Via Cavour. It was fun to watch the activity. After closing the shutters, the street noises vanished and presented no problem in getting a good night's sleep. Alberta, the owner, was wonderful and she manages the hotel well. She was very professional, friendly, informative, recommended restaurants, and gave us directions many times. Her staff was very nice. The free delicious breakfast, which is served in your room, consisted of cappucino (great!) or coffee/tea, juice, bread, croissants, fruit, yogurt, butter, jam, milk and cheese. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to the Roman Forum and the Coliseum. The hotel is close to other tourist sites plus many restaurants and shopping areas. Hotel is on a bus route and is walking distance to a Metro station. Therefore, a car is not needed (nor recommended) to enjoy all the sites in Rome! We went to a wonderful restaurant recommended by Alberta called the Wanted, which is within walking distance of the hotel. We took another one of Alberta's recommendations and bought our train tickets to Venice at the Tiuk Travel Agency, which is also within walking distance of the hotel. It was so much easier to purchase these tickets at the agency because it was less stressful, the agent spoke adequate English and helped us tremoundously in making ticket choices, plus she found us a family discount. On that particular Saturday (May 7, 2011), the Trenitalia train tickets were two for 1! We saved 76 euro! We enjoyed staying in this very charming and quaint hotel and definitely recommend it. Thank you Alberta! - Tom, June, Becca

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eringobragh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Our room was gigantic, beds were comfy, lot of space to put our things and it had a refrigerator. It is located a stones throw from Palantine Hill and the Colosseum and has lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.
The owner, Alberta, was very helpful. She recommended great places to eat and gave us directions numerous times. Breakfast consisted of cappucino, juice, brioche, yogurt, jam and cheese was included in the price and was served in-room.
The hotel can be tricky to find the first time. It is located on a busy street and the sign is pretty small. There is an elevator but if you have to hoof it, the stairs aren't excessively steep. The hotel will also give a discount for paying in cash and there is a very handy ATM close by. The hotel does not have its own parking but there is a ton of parking available on the street and a few parking garages nearby too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JilgesAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,263 in Rome
284 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#247 of 1,263 in Rome
214 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#174 of 1,263 in Rome
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#517 of 1,263 in Rome
152 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#643 of 1,263 in Rome
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Property: Hotel Paba
Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#95 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing