We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful proprietor, comfy room”
Review of Hotel Paba

Hotel Paba
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paba
Ranked #332 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sedona, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful proprietor, comfy room”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

After searching and searching for the perfect place to stay while visiting Rome for the first time, we settled on Hotel Paba (based on Rick Steves' guidebook). We were definitely not disappointed. The hotel is minutes away from the Colosseum, Arch of Constantine and Forum. It's also near a metro station, so getting around Rome was easy. We read other reviews that said the rooms were small, but based on other experiences we've had in Europe, we thought the size was perfect. The bed was huge (the mattress and pillows were ultra firm) and the water pressure was divine (if you've traveled around Europe, you know that is a luxury). The shower was definitely small, but we appreciated the hair dryer which was an actual hair dryer, not the odd, vacuum-cleaner-attachment type of devices we found in other hotels in Italy.

Hotel Paba is on a very busy street, however, once we closed our window, the room was quiet. Alberta, the proprietor, was very sweet and helpful. When we were ready for breakfast, we called the desk and she would bring it to our room (our room had a table and chairs next to the window). She also assisted with dinner and train reservations.

Choosing a hotel in Rome is daunting, so we were thrilled to wind up at such a great spot. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends and family visiting Rome. It's not fancy or luxurious, but you're in Rome, and you aren't going to be spending much time in your room. If you're looking for a centralized location and a good night's sleep, this is the place. And make sure to visit Enoteca Cavour 313, just a short walk from the hotel. Incredible, affordable bottles of wine, and meat and cheese plates we will be talking about for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Finaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    117
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
225
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Quaint hotel in the thick of historic Rome. Great location. Hotel is small as are the rooms and the bathrooms and showers are super small but lots of hot water. Alberta the host is very nice and quite helpful regarding seeing the sights of Rome. Breakfasts are the same each day so a visit of more than 2 or 3 days gets a little old. Recommend in recognition of its limitations.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Via Cavour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguys221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here based on Rick Steve's recommendation. Great location by the Colosseum, not a bad price for central Rome. Hostess was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast could be better (simply croissant/pastry and coffee and juice) - adding some fruit and/or meats would be nice. The bed was a little hard for our liking. Overall, a hotel I can confidently recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Paba during a week long trip to Rome in March. The location was terrific -- short walk to the Colosseum, metro, and several markets/restaurants. After visiting the nearby Church of St. Peter in Chains, we found a park where we were able to purchase espressos and watch the locals. It was only a short 10 min walk from the hotel and we enjoyed returning several times during our trip to get away from the hustle & bustle of the traffic.

The hotel was extremely clean and tasteful. The bed was a bit hard and the bathroom needed some updating but these were only minor issues. Alberta was a wonderful host. She provided many useful recommendations regarding local markets for supplies as well as restaurants. As we had an early morning flight back, she was kind enough to provide some instruction on how to prepare cappuccinos since we were leaving before she arrived in the morning. We did tire of the same simple breakfast each morning by the end of the week although it was always fresh.

My only true concern was the noise from Via Cavour at night. There is a restaurant/bar close to the hotel entrance. Workers cleaning up around 1-2am would make quite a racket before they left. After two days, I purchased a set of ear plugs at the pharmacy next door which took care of the problem. Overall, I would strongly recommend this facility on the basis of the location, convenience, and attentive host.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garza007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have just returned from a weekend in Rome staying at the Hotel Paba. What a find! Smallish room but with all amenities and spotlessly clean. Alberta is very pleasant and helpful, providing fresh milk on demand and plenty of information about the city. Basic breakfast of croissant, roll, yoghurt, jam, tea or coffee to eat in the room, but perfectly adequate. Mini-bar and air conditioning. On the second floor but there is a lift. Only downside is that the bed and pillows were rather hard, but excellent value and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumof4Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Reading all the recomandations, me and my boyfriend decided to stay at Hotel Paba and i'm glad we did. As mentioned in all the other reviews, the location is superb, Roberta was charming and helpful and evrything else was more than expected. The room was big and with air-con, the shower was specious and clean and at the end of a long day it felt like coming home (Roberta even turned on our air-con one evening before our arrival so that the room won't be cold when we return. She's really wonderful). What more can we say? Tell your friends, but only the ones you trust won't ruin the nice atmosphere at this lovely hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA3
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We read the reviews and our expectations were surpassed. My husband and I and our 21 month old daughter stayed with Alberta for 7 nights in November 2011. Alberta is so kind, professional and attentive that it makes you feel like you have someone looking out for you. She helped us find answers when we needed them and was always available to talk about our adventures of the day. Breakfast with fresh croissants were yummy. The location was fabulous - close to everything. The real reason to come back is stay with Alberta who makes sure your needs are met and you enjoy our stay. Thank you Alberta!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelloveto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#210 of 1,258 in Rome
213 reviews
Monti
No photo provided
Hotel Solis
#175 of 1,258 in Rome
561 reviews
Monti
No photo provided
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
No photo provided
Hotel Labelle
#533 of 1,258 in Rome
150 reviews
Monti
No photo provided
Monti
No photo provided
Relais No9 Colosseo
#670 of 1,258 in Rome
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Property: Hotel Paba
Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#95 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing