We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Paba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Paba
Ranked #282 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This B&B offers a lot for the money. It has a great location very close to the Colleseum and Roman Forum and walkable to many of the local attractions . It is also conveniently located to the Metro foir more distant places like the Vatican. Owner Alberta is very helpful , particularly in making sure we had a reliable and fairly priced taxi to the airport . The continental breakfast is served in your room, a nice touch , every morning.. Our room was a good size and was quiet even though we were on the street side. There are a number of very good restaurants located in the neighborhood , including those largely frequented by locals. We have no hesitation in recommending Alberta's lovely little B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    115
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
72
222
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I was there from 18-20 March and enjoyed my stay. Alberta, the owner, and also the lady who personally sees to her guests, gives you that personal motherly touch. She comes by to serve breakfast, which although is simple, it's done from the heart. The only thing is that the room may need at least a spoon or stirrer for the drinks. It has a kettle and wi-fi (2Euros / 24 hours) so I think it caters well even for business travelers. Location wise, excellent. The room facing the road, yes, it's a bit noisy. Alberta has done her best by having blinds, an another glass window plus heavy drapes. I think a sound proof glass window may be better. Very clean. Thanks Alberta and I recommend this for anyone who's not looking for frills but a nice place to return back to after a day out in Rome!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road if you're sensitive to sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The pros for this hotel:
* The location could not be better, that's for sure. It’s just a few steps away from Forum Romanum and a few more steps away from the Colosseum and the Capitol Hill. And it is close to the subway if you want to go to the Vatican for example. Walking from Station Termini takes 20 minutes or so, (or take the subway).
* Well run! Everything works and the rooms are clean and tidy.
* Very comfortable beds (however the pillows were not very soft).
* The prize: 88 Euros a night for a double room in low season (late February).
* No noise apart from what we created ourselves.

During this visit to Rome we were four and occupied two rooms, room 1 and 2 that had a separate corridor with a door almost making the two room into a suite (room 1 is actually two rooms, one with a double bed and one with a single). These two rooms does not face Via Cavour, thus there is no real view from the rooms.

You ask to have the breakfast brought into the room when you wish for it. Coffee/tea/chocolate, juice, croissants and toasted bread with marmalade. A good continental breakfast, I'm not personally very keen on continental breakfasts, but that is what you get in Rome :-). It worked very well having breakfast in the room.

The actual hotel is on the second floor. There is an old elevator that appeared a bit scary. We tested it once and it worked, but we preferred to walk.

The reception is not manned after eight in the evening.

The wifi costs 2 Euros per day and it worked well.

Signora Alberta helped us print our boarding cards on the day of departure, and we got to keep one of the rooms for our luggage unit twelve o’clock.

However, this is not o five star hotel. It's a two star hotel that is very well run with an outstanding location. Much better than the ordinary three star hotel in my view. With the low season price it definitely brings great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea-mew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Tiny hotel, but quite large rooms. Ours faced the backyard/courtyard so it was also quiet. I would think street side rooms may be noisy as via Cavour is a large street. Only noise complaint is that our door let through all noise from the reception, which meant waking up at 7.45 when the reception lady arrived. Beds were reasonably comfortable, maybe would have liked another pillow.

The owner lady was kind and helpful. Also, breakfast, even if only adequate, delivered to the room is always nice!

Location is great too. We walked everywhere as that is my preferred way of seeing places. Easy 15 min reach from Termini, right around the corner to Colosseum etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank undome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed for 7 days at Hotel Paba in late January. The room was a good size, with a good bed. There was a small but OK ensuite bathroom. Everything was clean, and well organised. The location was perfect, within a block of the Colosseum. It was winter when I stayed, but the reverse cycle air conditioner keep the room comfortably warm.
Alberta, who runs the hotel, was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was basic, toast and coffee, but a good start to the day. When Alberta noticed that I didn't eat the Croissant (I am not fond of pastries first thing in the morning), she offered to provide more toast instead.

The hotel is small, on the second floor of the building, and the sign on the outside is not large, so pay attention to the street number. I had no trouble finding it, but I was using the street numbers.

There is a lift to the second floor, there are a few steps before getting to the lift though, so not wheelchair appropriate.

The hotel is not a luxury hotel, but is a very reasonably priced option in central Rome, very good value. I picked the hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor, and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

It is a nice, clean hotel where you can enjoy the historic part of Roma easily. We traveled with a toddler so were given a very comfortable King size bed room with a balcony. Simple continental breakfast brought to your room every morning was very nice. Though I would suggest to Alberta to switch it up a bit instead of the same every morning:) We felt very secure and safe at this hotel where we were part of the city. The elevator leading up to the hotel is small and has this system that needs to be adhered to. Great stay, would recommend with older kids though. Very kind host who is very accommodating and is much needed for weary travelers. Thanks Alberta for a great stay!

Room Tip: Choose the room with balcony for great sights for the streets. It wasn't noisy in January.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrny80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I am thrilled with this hotel. First, Alberta is a wonderful individual who runs the hotel. When you make the reservation on the website, she sends a confirmation email - and then you call her with your credit card number. It is an extra step - but it works just fine...it is worth it. I had been to Rome many times for work, and stayed at the usual business hotels. I decided to stay here because my brother was coming along. This hotel is footsteps from the Colosseum, Forum, Trevi Fountain. It is near the metro and Termini station. Alberta is continuously attentive. My bags came two days later, and she personally followed up to make sure they got here. She brings breakfast every morning. She helps with anything at all, and provides a map with all of the attractions upon arrival. The rooms have everything I needed. The wifi works great (I'm using it now to write this review). I emailed her a document and tickets that I needed printed while here. I will surely stay at this hotel when I come back for my next business trip. I think it is a 2-star hotel only because there is not someone at the desk 24hours (she goes home at 8pm). You'll get a key to the outside door for after hours access. It has all the amenities I would expect at a larger hotel - but with very attentive service.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#184 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#408 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#83 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#171 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#551 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Property: Hotel Paba
Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#95 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing