We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem in Rome”
Review of Hotel Paba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Paba
Ranked #312 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here in December 2011, and we had an incredible time in Rome & this hotel was certainly one of them. The place is run by a little elderly lady who checked us in & made our breakfast daily. The croissant was the most delicious breakfast pastry - I still dream about it. I Fresh juice & coffee every morning - i agree that I felt like i was staying at an old italian home complete with the authentic grandmother and all...the whole experience was so authentic. Ask her to recommend a "REAL" italian meal that locals would enjoy. We did, and it was by far the best meal we had in Rome. She actually had to write us a note to hand the hostess so that we could get a table - we felt special! the room was large with a balcony that looked onto the street...private bathroom...everything was clean..if you're looking for fancy, this isn't it, but if you're wanting an authentic experience, this is a great value. Doesn't hurt that the coliseum is around the corner!

Room Tip: ask for the room with a balcony, i don;t think they all have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claudia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 days in this great little place. Its a nice, clean, quaint hotel in a great location. 5-7 mins from the metro and very close to the colloseo. The hotel is run by an excellent elderly lady. Small, warm and cosy place and the only thing the place lacked was a better breakfast. BTW.. Don't miss the unique lift..we'd never seen the likes of it even in India.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 4camellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The location is close to the coliseum and many major sites. The rooms are nice and the service is great. The complimentary breakfast is good and it's like being taken care of by your grandma. A wonderful experience of Rome

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Psivak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for five nights at the precious Hotel Paba, located minutes from the Coliseum, the Forum and the subway to gain access to all that Rome has to offer. Our room was larger than we expected - we got the family room with an additional bedroom that was great for our luggage. Madame Alberta, the owner, works seven days a week because she takes pride in her hotel. She personally delivers breakfast to your room and makes sure that everything is to your delight. She is completely familiar with Rome and gives great advice about local treasures that may not be in your guidebook or are in the book, but not so interesting. She speaks six languages so no matter where you are from, Madame can help you. We would go back in a heartbeat. The hotel was clean, had free WiFI, TV (who watches TV whilst in Rome?), coffee or tea any time of the day and the best location one could imagine. Thank you Madame Alberta. A bien tot!

Room Tip: The windows had double pane glass so it was always quiet at night with the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank saintremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights during the first week of our honeymoon. It was our first time to Rome and we couldn't have picked a better location. 5 minute walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum and easy walk to many other attractions. Hospitality was lovely, our room was small but manageable and breakfast was served in your room upon your requested time. It's a few flights up to the hotel but the lift works just fine. We loved our stay and everything that Rome had to offer. Can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Flower room. This room had 2 double beds that we pushed together to make a spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_ollerenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was one of the best parts of our Rome experience. The Hotel Paba, run by the amazing Alberta, is a great little place to stay when in Rome. It's very clean, welcoming, the rooms are a good size, functioning wifi, and a nice breakfast delivered to your room each morning, which is included. The location couldn't be better. It's only a block to the Metro stop, stepping out onto the street you can see some of the columns that are part of the Roman Forum, and if you go to the end of the block there is the Colosseum just a few blocks away. There are several great little restaurants, just a stones throw from the Hotel Paba doorstep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWelfare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Location is excellent. Room perfectly functionable. Wifi works well, and value for money is outstanding. Alberta is a delight, she even gave me a birthday present!!
Nearby restaurant... Taverna dei Fori Imperiali outstanding also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyltonsurgery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#152 of 1,271 in Rome
317 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#105 of 1,271 in Rome
1,168 reviews
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#504 of 1,271 in Rome
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#631 of 1,271 in Rome
64 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#283 of 1,271 in Rome
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing