We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, great price, and charming host.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Paba

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Paba
Ranked #273 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great price, and charming host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

If you're planning to visit Rome, then you simply MUST stay at Hotel Paba.

We selected Hotel Paba after reading lots of reviews, comparing prices, and weighing our options for quite a while... and we chose wisely, indeed! Hotel Paba is run by the delightful Signora Castelli and we received a warm welcome every time we returned to our room after long days of site-seeing. (For those of us who aren't lucky enough to have an Italian grandmother, Signora Castelli provides a glimpse as to how delightful that experience would be.) It's located on the second floor (which means the third floor to those of us who count the ground floor as the first) of a building with a charming, tiny elevator and wide marble stairs. This is not some cookie-cutter hotel... there's only a handful of rooms and you really feel as though you're slipping into Italian life by living in an apartment during your stay.

Rome is a pretty grueling town for tourists... so you need a hotel that's both centrally located and comfortable. Hotel Paba is right by the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, making it ideal for tourist activities (and making for a great walk home in the evenings after dinner, with all the ruins lit up!). It's also close to the train station, the Colosseum metro stop, and several bus lines -- you'll be well-situated for all your exploration and transport needs. We visited Italy in August, which means we were prepared for high temperatures, and with Hotel Paba's air conditioning, we were always grateful to collapse into its cool embrace. We were in the "Honeymoon" room, which featured Italian posters of Roman Holiday, To Catch a Thief, and Gone with the Wind. It had windows that opened on to the street, giving you a bird's eye view onto the bustling street below -- but once the windows were closed, the room was wonderfully quiet and serene. The bed was enormous and is perhaps the firmest bed I've ever slept on, but after running around the city all day, we never had any trouble sleeping. Signora Castelli brings breakfast to your room and she's a warm, wonderful woman with all kinds of information about her city.

Do yourself a favor and stay at Hotel Paba when you visit Rome. You'll be getting a wonderful deal for your money (without breaking the bank by any means) and you'll come away from your own Roman holiday with charming memories of a unique and sweet establishment. You'll wish that every other hotel you stay at had a Signora Castelli waiting behind the desk to greet you upon your arrival. Hotel Paba really made our trip to Rome a delight.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedheadedWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    115
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
72
221
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

I traveled with my husband and 3 kids (6, 9, & 10). We stayed in the Happy Family room - one very large king size bed and two twin beds and a bath - still with plenty of room. Alberta, who owns and runs this fine hotel, was so kind and helpful. The best croissants in ALL of Italy were served with breakfast. The location was fantastic - we walked everywhere! Alberta easily provided my family with internet service (included in your stay), reservations, directions, and recommendations. You cannot get better than this! I highly recommend this hotel if you want amazing service from a personal hotel. This hotel has all the hospitality one should want and need!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sflubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Very small Hotel located in a building shared with other owners. Hotel room was very large, clean, with a big bed. Bathroom had blow dryer on wall. Room had mini fridge, and A.C. above the door. Room was very quiet for a big city. Owner made Taxi calls for us, and provided wake up phone service, and breakfast delivered to room. At night you have to unlock three doors to enter your room, my husband loved the elevator. If you like quiet rooms with personal service, you will love this place. If you like big showy Hotels-keep looking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Touring the key sites of Rome and the Vatican means one is out and about most waking hours, so being conveniently located within walking distance of the Colliseum and the Forum plus the metro and buses; while having clean,comfortable, simple, secure overnight accomodations was key to our selection of the Hotel Paba. We were entirely satisfied with our selection of accommodations without paying an outlandish amount of money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baldy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hotel is quite simple, but the room is really comfortable and both the bathroom and the room are very clean. The owner herself takes care of everything, the service is very good. Great location. Only the building is not so good, the lift is very old and is very easy to get into the building, since there're lot`s of offices in there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MIchigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

We loved Hotel Paba and Alberta! The place was very clean, quite, & in an excellent location! An Alberta - the perfect hostess - she gave us great ideas for dinner and making our connections to other sights and the airport - she was very helpfull! You can't go wrong with this one!!! Jackson, Michigan USA

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

We can not say enough about Hotel Paba and Alberta. Wonderful location, beautiful room with balcony, warm, clean and comfy, and very quiet even though it is just around the corner from the Colosseo. Alberta was so lovely and always helpful with good advice on eating, travel and bookings. She even bought us breakfast every day. We can highly recommend staying there when in Roma.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#421 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#172 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#92 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#562 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#165 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Property: Hotel Paba
Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#95 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing