We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to be Admired in a Two-Star Category”
Review of Hotel Paba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Paba
Ranked #319 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Much to be Admired in a Two-Star Category”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Don’t look now, but the Hotel Paba may just be Rome’s very best two-star hotel. After all, this roomy, very clean and comfortable accommodation, also somehow combines a central location while providing the kind of peaceful refuge one needs when traveling to the joyfully loud and lively Eternal City.
Solitude is one of the Paba’s many virtues. Though located on the busy and traffic-heavy Via Cavour, about a` ten-minute walk to Piazza Venezia and the Victor Emmanuel Monument. the Paba, is an oasis of calm, as it features large, high-ceiling rooms, air-conditioning (a must in August), mini-bar, and large double beds. The` author’s room had a movie theme, with posters from Who Framed Roger Rabbit, and a black and white tribute to the Marx Brothers. In addition, this room featured a small addition, with single bed (additional A.C.) and a fair-sized modern bathroom. There was satellite TV, plenty of closet space, and the bath towels were most satisfactory. In short, the Paba offered a room that was ample in space, very tidy, and most appealing - no small feat in the two-star category.
Breakfast at the Paba is a bit of an off-beat affair, as the hotel offers room service (there is no breakfast room). While this relative novelty is initially appealing, not too mention tasty, as the food on offer (croissants, yogurt, cappuccino, rolls) is agreeable enough, the concept becomes a little tired with a stay of more than a couple days. Indeed, by day number three, the author had a strong hankering for cereal, Nutella, and an egg or two sunny-side-up. Still, there was something appealing about ringing the Paba’s owner, and presto, within a couple minutes, you’re sitting down to a hot cappuccino.
While the Paba has little in the way of public spaces, kudos to the owner for providing a good number of Rome and Italy-related guidebooks for one’s perusal. These were most welcome. And while the Paba is located a few floors up from street level, travelers staying here can be treated to a ride in what seems like a vintage early 20th century elevator - an unexpected bit of functional nostalgia.
Lastly, one final and very compelling feature of the Hotel Paba is its nightly rate - 88 euros. That’s right - 88! (note that this included cash payment and the “Rick Steves’ discount.”) If that isn’t outstanding value for money, all in the heart of Rome, then the author doesn’t know what is. Well done, Hotel Paba!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    116
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
224
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

If you're planning to visit Rome, then you simply MUST stay at Hotel Paba.

We selected Hotel Paba after reading lots of reviews, comparing prices, and weighing our options for quite a while... and we chose wisely, indeed! Hotel Paba is run by the delightful Signora Castelli and we received a warm welcome every time we returned to our room after long days of site-seeing. (For those of us who aren't lucky enough to have an Italian grandmother, Signora Castelli provides a glimpse as to how delightful that experience would be.) It's located on the second floor (which means the third floor to those of us who count the ground floor as the first) of a building with a charming, tiny elevator and wide marble stairs. This is not some cookie-cutter hotel... there's only a handful of rooms and you really feel as though you're slipping into Italian life by living in an apartment during your stay.

Rome is a pretty grueling town for tourists... so you need a hotel that's both centrally located and comfortable. Hotel Paba is right by the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, making it ideal for tourist activities (and making for a great walk home in the evenings after dinner, with all the ruins lit up!). It's also close to the train station, the Colosseum metro stop, and several bus lines -- you'll be well-situated for all your exploration and transport needs. We visited Italy in August, which means we were prepared for high temperatures, and with Hotel Paba's air conditioning, we were always grateful to collapse into its cool embrace. We were in the "Honeymoon" room, which featured Italian posters of Roman Holiday, To Catch a Thief, and Gone with the Wind. It had windows that opened on to the street, giving you a bird's eye view onto the bustling street below -- but once the windows were closed, the room was wonderfully quiet and serene. The bed was enormous and is perhaps the firmest bed I've ever slept on, but after running around the city all day, we never had any trouble sleeping. Signora Castelli brings breakfast to your room and she's a warm, wonderful woman with all kinds of information about her city.

Do yourself a favor and stay at Hotel Paba when you visit Rome. You'll be getting a wonderful deal for your money (without breaking the bank by any means) and you'll come away from your own Roman holiday with charming memories of a unique and sweet establishment. You'll wish that every other hotel you stay at had a Signora Castelli waiting behind the desk to greet you upon your arrival. Hotel Paba really made our trip to Rome a delight.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedheadedWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I traveled with my husband and 3 kids (6, 9, & 10). We stayed in the Happy Family room - one very large king size bed and two twin beds and a bath - still with plenty of room. Alberta, who owns and runs this fine hotel, was so kind and helpful. The best croissants in ALL of Italy were served with breakfast. The location was fantastic - we walked everywhere! Alberta easily provided my family with internet service (included in your stay), reservations, directions, and recommendations. You cannot get better than this! I highly recommend this hotel if you want amazing service from a personal hotel. This hotel has all the hospitality one should want and need!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sflubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Breeze, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Very small Hotel located in a building shared with other owners. Hotel room was very large, clean, with a big bed. Bathroom had blow dryer on wall. Room had mini fridge, and A.C. above the door. Room was very quiet for a big city. Owner made Taxi calls for us, and provided wake up phone service, and breakfast delivered to room. At night you have to unlock three doors to enter your room, my husband loved the elevator. If you like quiet rooms with personal service, you will love this place. If you like big showy Hotels-keep looking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Touring the key sites of Rome and the Vatican means one is out and about most waking hours, so being conveniently located within walking distance of the Colliseum and the Forum plus the metro and buses; while having clean,comfortable, simple, secure overnight accomodations was key to our selection of the Hotel Paba. We were entirely satisfied with our selection of accommodations without paying an outlandish amount of money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baldy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hotel is quite simple, but the room is really comfortable and both the bathroom and the room are very clean. The owner herself takes care of everything, the service is very good. Great location. Only the building is not so good, the lift is very old and is very easy to get into the building, since there're lot`s of offices in there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MIchigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We loved Hotel Paba and Alberta! The place was very clean, quite, & in an excellent location! An Alberta - the perfect hostess - she gave us great ideas for dinner and making our connections to other sights and the airport - she was very helpfull! You can't go wrong with this one!!! Jackson, Michigan USA

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#415 of 1,257 in Rome
203 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#230 of 1,257 in Rome
208 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#175 of 1,257 in Rome
553 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Antica Locanda
Antica Locanda
#560 of 1,257 in Rome
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Property: Hotel Paba
Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#95 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing