We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true jem, great value, Alberta is so helpful”
Review of Hotel Paba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Paba
Ranked #312 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Hotel Paba is a great hotel and Alberta, the owner, is so helpful. The rooms are European is size. They are very clean and very comfortable. We had room 5 which overlooked Via Cavour but the room was still quiet. It is walking distance to the Forum, the Coliseum and many of the sights you want to see. If you want dinner reservations just ask Alberta and she will not only recommend places for you but will also call in the reservation. It is a small hotel on the second floor of a commercial building. There is a breakfast included and Alberta brings it to your room which has a small table and two chairs. We are not big breakfast eaters, so the croissant, yogurt, coffee/tea, juice and rolls were more than enough for us. We had an early pick up to the airport and Alberta was very accommodating in bringing our breakfast early. We used RomeCabs.com and they were very punctual. There are also many travel books in the lobby for your use while staying at Hotel Paba. I would definitely stay there again. You also have free WiFi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butcher.T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2010

Family own small hotel with great location. Alberta is really, really nice and everything from restaurant reservations to airport pick-up works impeccable. Quiet hotel, slept like babies and everything very clean, the size of the rooms varies from quite big to quite small. The breakfast is not 5 star, but has all you need. I would definitly go back to Paba if I went to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eriksvartbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Don’t look now, but the Hotel Paba may just be Rome’s very best two-star hotel. After all, this roomy, very clean and comfortable accommodation, also somehow combines a central location while providing the kind of peaceful refuge one needs when traveling to the joyfully loud and lively Eternal City.
Solitude is one of the Paba’s many virtues. Though located on the busy and traffic-heavy Via Cavour, about a` ten-minute walk to Piazza Venezia and the Victor Emmanuel Monument. the Paba, is an oasis of calm, as it features large, high-ceiling rooms, air-conditioning (a must in August), mini-bar, and large double beds. The` author’s room had a movie theme, with posters from Who Framed Roger Rabbit, and a black and white tribute to the Marx Brothers. In addition, this room featured a small addition, with single bed (additional A.C.) and a fair-sized modern bathroom. There was satellite TV, plenty of closet space, and the bath towels were most satisfactory. In short, the Paba offered a room that was ample in space, very tidy, and most appealing - no small feat in the two-star category.
Breakfast at the Paba is a bit of an off-beat affair, as the hotel offers room service (there is no breakfast room). While this relative novelty is initially appealing, not too mention tasty, as the food on offer (croissants, yogurt, cappuccino, rolls) is agreeable enough, the concept becomes a little tired with a stay of more than a couple days. Indeed, by day number three, the author had a strong hankering for cereal, Nutella, and an egg or two sunny-side-up. Still, there was something appealing about ringing the Paba’s owner, and presto, within a couple minutes, you’re sitting down to a hot cappuccino.
While the Paba has little in the way of public spaces, kudos to the owner for providing a good number of Rome and Italy-related guidebooks for one’s perusal. These were most welcome. And while the Paba is located a few floors up from street level, travelers staying here can be treated to a ride in what seems like a vintage early 20th century elevator - an unexpected bit of functional nostalgia.
Lastly, one final and very compelling feature of the Hotel Paba is its nightly rate - 88 euros. That’s right - 88! (note that this included cash payment and the “Rick Steves’ discount.”) If that isn’t outstanding value for money, all in the heart of Rome, then the author doesn’t know what is. Well done, Hotel Paba!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

If you're planning to visit Rome, then you simply MUST stay at Hotel Paba.

We selected Hotel Paba after reading lots of reviews, comparing prices, and weighing our options for quite a while... and we chose wisely, indeed! Hotel Paba is run by the delightful Signora Castelli and we received a warm welcome every time we returned to our room after long days of site-seeing. (For those of us who aren't lucky enough to have an Italian grandmother, Signora Castelli provides a glimpse as to how delightful that experience would be.) It's located on the second floor (which means the third floor to those of us who count the ground floor as the first) of a building with a charming, tiny elevator and wide marble stairs. This is not some cookie-cutter hotel... there's only a handful of rooms and you really feel as though you're slipping into Italian life by living in an apartment during your stay.

Rome is a pretty grueling town for tourists... so you need a hotel that's both centrally located and comfortable. Hotel Paba is right by the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, making it ideal for tourist activities (and making for a great walk home in the evenings after dinner, with all the ruins lit up!). It's also close to the train station, the Colosseum metro stop, and several bus lines -- you'll be well-situated for all your exploration and transport needs. We visited Italy in August, which means we were prepared for high temperatures, and with Hotel Paba's air conditioning, we were always grateful to collapse into its cool embrace. We were in the "Honeymoon" room, which featured Italian posters of Roman Holiday, To Catch a Thief, and Gone with the Wind. It had windows that opened on to the street, giving you a bird's eye view onto the bustling street below -- but once the windows were closed, the room was wonderfully quiet and serene. The bed was enormous and is perhaps the firmest bed I've ever slept on, but after running around the city all day, we never had any trouble sleeping. Signora Castelli brings breakfast to your room and she's a warm, wonderful woman with all kinds of information about her city.

Do yourself a favor and stay at Hotel Paba when you visit Rome. You'll be getting a wonderful deal for your money (without breaking the bank by any means) and you'll come away from your own Roman holiday with charming memories of a unique and sweet establishment. You'll wish that every other hotel you stay at had a Signora Castelli waiting behind the desk to greet you upon your arrival. Hotel Paba really made our trip to Rome a delight.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedheadedWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I traveled with my husband and 3 kids (6, 9, & 10). We stayed in the Happy Family room - one very large king size bed and two twin beds and a bath - still with plenty of room. Alberta, who owns and runs this fine hotel, was so kind and helpful. The best croissants in ALL of Italy were served with breakfast. The location was fantastic - we walked everywhere! Alberta easily provided my family with internet service (included in your stay), reservations, directions, and recommendations. You cannot get better than this! I highly recommend this hotel if you want amazing service from a personal hotel. This hotel has all the hospitality one should want and need!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sflubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Very small Hotel located in a building shared with other owners. Hotel room was very large, clean, with a big bed. Bathroom had blow dryer on wall. Room had mini fridge, and A.C. above the door. Room was very quiet for a big city. Owner made Taxi calls for us, and provided wake up phone service, and breakfast delivered to room. At night you have to unlock three doors to enter your room, my husband loved the elevator. If you like quiet rooms with personal service, you will love this place. If you like big showy Hotels-keep looking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Touring the key sites of Rome and the Vatican means one is out and about most waking hours, so being conveniently located within walking distance of the Colliseum and the Forum plus the metro and buses; while having clean,comfortable, simple, secure overnight accomodations was key to our selection of the Hotel Paba. We were entirely satisfied with our selection of accommodations without paying an outlandish amount of money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baldy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#152 of 1,271 in Rome
317 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#105 of 1,271 in Rome
1,169 reviews
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#504 of 1,271 in Rome
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#631 of 1,271 in Rome
64 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#283 of 1,271 in Rome
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing