We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming respit in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Il Rosario

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Il Rosario
Ranked #540 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming respit in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The Casa Il Rosario is very well located in the heart of Rome. Guests are within walking distance of most of the major sights, and close to the Metro as well. Located on a small side street near Piazza Venezia, we were protected from much of the traffic noise, so were refreshed for the next day's adventure. Rooms are sparse, but clean, and the continental breakfast, though not lavish, provides adequate choices. The charming garden and roof terrace provide spots for relaxation and rooftop views. Staff is very helpful, the price is right, and internet is available. The room was a bit stuffy, but that was the only drawback. I would definitely stay there again, and have recommended this location to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ljgotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    46
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
33
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

We loved the sisters at Il Rosario and would stay there again on a return trip. We felt it to be a great contrast to the busy and noisy streets of Rome. Our room was so quiet and we were not bothered with noise of other hotel guests either. The sisters were accommodating to our needs, but did not speak English well and had a hard time understanding my Italian, but would still recommend the convent to any of our friends or family members. Also very close to ancient Rome which makes it convenient.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is possibly Rome hidden gem! Down a quaint picturesque street it is away from the hustle and bustle of the street but only seconds away as well. Within walking distance to Colloseum, Pantheon, Piazza Navona and more. The Vatican is a €8 taxi away
The nuns are so helpful..and very nice.
The services are minimal but you want for nothing if we're honest.
Cheap, friendly and comfortable, it may not be 5* but its the place to go!!!

Room Tip: Windows to front of building are asked not to be opened due to possible burglary, so in hotter month...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jack186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

First convent stay, alone and looking for cheap and cheerful. Was superb. Location was great curfew a bit of a pain on first night as went out too late toi eat and had to wait so was late back.....not a good idea but ok. I am catholic but all are welcome. Get up and out early and back in good time. excellent value. Breakfast not too exciting so had coffee and ate out..without upsetting sisters.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank helencp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Quiet location, comfy, clean although somewhat spartan rooms. But the price is very good value and the location very convenient. Note, however, there is an 11:30 curfew. Breakfast okay, but coffee better taken elsewhere. Good restaurants locally, and staff very helpful. Perfect for a solo traveler.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cyborys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I'm still awed that I was able to get a room with a private bath for 56 Euro a night in rome at the tail end of the tourist season. Be warned, I had to book Casa Il Rosario about 3 months in advance, so plan early.

I had a single with private bath on the second floor, overlooking the courtyard. It is very spare, with a twin bed, little desk, a closet that locks, and functional bathroom (with a hairdryer :-). The bed was comfortable, and the room was spotless. Hot water was plentiful, but there was not a lot of pressure and the shower was tiny. I could barely turn around in it.

I loved the courtyard and the rooftop - they were a nice place to do yoga in the morning, and take a glass of wine at night. Rooftop is the fifth floor, the courtyard is accessed on the 3rd floor.

Noise: You can hear the door bell from the second floor, so if you are a very light sleeper you may want to ask for a higher floor. The hallways and rooms are all tile, so you can hear everything outside your room. For the most part people are very polite and quiet, but be warned. I stuck in earplugs and after a long day of tramping around rome, slept well.

Getting in and out: you have to be buzzed in every time, which didn't bother me as much as I thought it would. There is always someone around, so it might take them a minute or two, but for the most part they were very quick. And it did make me feel very secure.

The nuns: they are not interested in playing tour guide, however, everyone was very polite, and happy to answer questions to the best of their ability. There is a computer (again, you have to ask them to log you in every time).

Breakfast. As bare bones as you can get. There are blah rolls, with some packaged cheese, pate, butter, jams and nutella. There are three blah dry cereals with milk or homemade yoghurt. The coffee is from a machine. The juice was weird and icky tasting. It's enough to get you going, but I always ended up stopping for real coffee and a fresh pastry somewhere soon.

Rosario is located on a little side street about 5 minutes away from the Colosseum. It can be a little difficult to find at first - I would recommend a taxi from Termini, however, you can walk there from the Cavour metro stop. From Cavour metro: The metro stop pops you out on an island between Cavour and giovanni lanza - go down Cavour (towards the Colosseam) - tip, you want to go literally downhill. Take the first right onto Serpenti (there is a bank on the corner of Serpenti and Cavour), then go two blocks, and turn left at the square/fountain onto Baccina. Now, go to the second street, and turn right onto Goti. Casa Il Rosario is up the street on the left (you are going uphill for about 2/3 of a block). With a rolling suitcase, about 10 minutes ( warning: you are on cobblestones after the fountain).

Room Tip: Next time, I would ask for a courtyard room on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GoldenGateTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

All still excellent at Casa Il Rosario but just a quik update. I was in a single room overlooking the back lower courtyard. The room was clean and comfy. Again you are staying in a convent so don't expect anything other than a basic room. The location and price are perfect for me. The breakfast is bread and cereal with cheese and jams juice and tea/coffee from a machine.

The nuns are lovely and it's great to be able to pay by credit card. (you pay the surcharge but it beats wandering round with lots of cash.

There's a small computer room with a pay phone in too. This room also is where you can buy bottles of water (much cheaper than the local shops) although you only need to buy 1 then top it up from the drinking water fountains around town. you can also buy hot drinks from a machine too.

Last year upon checking out they gave everyone a set of Rosary Beads. which was a nice touch. This year it was a Decade of the rosary which I actually prefered.

Don't forget, to be sure of getting your booking book as early as you can. My first trip was 6 months in advance and I was lucky to get a room. This year I booked about 10 months in advance.

I will certainly be returning here on my next trip to Rome. Unbeatable value and almost unbeatable location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DublinBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#408 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#286 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
#340 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Antica Locanda
Antica Locanda
#597 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Select Garden
Hotel Select Garden
#538 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#47 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Il Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Il Rosario

Property: Casa Il Rosario
Address: Via di Sant'Agata Dei Goti 10, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #540 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Il Rosario Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing