We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Casa Il Rosario

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Il Rosario
Ranked #568 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Great place to stay. We stayed there for 5 nights. The location is great. We could walk to all main attractions within 15 minutes. The nuns are very nice and extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is not luxurious but we were not expecting that from a convent anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Team_Cole2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very well located near the Piaza Venezia, a picturesque street in the middle of many alleys, away from the bustle, yet only seconds of trade routes.

It is very centrally located in a small side street near Piazza Venezia close to Via Nazionale, the Vatican and within walking distance of the Colloseum, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, the Termini, etc. ..

The rooms are fresh and very clean. The Casa il Rosario has a beautiful garden terrace and rooftop terrace with fantastic views ! The nuns are very gentle and can book a taxi to pick you up at the airport in Rome.

Breakfast is simple but tasty. There are some lovely restaurants close by. Buses and subway stations are within easy reach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gloria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Knew I wanted to stay in a convent. The Sisters and staff are so kind and welcoming! Room are basic and very clean. We had a double with a private bath then decided to extend a day. They were so accommodating. They rearranged everything so that we may stay - we had to change rooms to two singles - which was just as comfortable. Breakfast is included which consists of cereal, yogurt, bread, coffee, tea, hot cocoa and juice. Location is a few blocks - 10 min walk from Cavour metro stop and a few blocks from the Colosseum. We got lost at first as the street names change. You can leave your luggage all day when you check out. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahyiweewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for great bedding and gourmet breakfasts don't go to Il Rosario. For our purposes it was wonderful. It set the scene for enjoying the religious treasures and artefacts of Rome with its tranquil and simple offerings. The monastic bedroom was restful and the location - five minutes walk from the Coliseum - unbeatable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarGoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I (seniors) stayed for 5 nights at Il Rosario in Rome in September. The location, within walking distance of all major sights and sites, couldn't be beat. The quiet, authentic neighborhood welcomed us at the end of days crowded with tourists. The sisters (from Colombia, SA) were charming and responsive, as was their hired staff. Breakfast was abundant, with unlimited cappucino. The rooms are clearly plain, but absolutely spotless with modern en-suite bathrooms. One can either have a street view (peer down over from a tiny balcony) or an internal garden view- which we preferred for the additional sunlight. The nuns are very strict about their 11 pm curfew, but after walking for 9-10 hours per day, that wasn't a sacrifice. The price is the best deal in town. Other convents are similarly priced, but they tend to be on the less-conveniently located St. Peter's side of the city, Il Rosario is clearly a "blessing".

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lppetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Rosario for two nights in mid-September. We had a very nice experience. We love the location in a more or less residential lane. It is a 15 minute walk to the Roman Forum and Colisieum. There are several restaurants within a five minute walk.

The price we paid was reasonable. The room was small, but spotless. There is no television or air conditioning.They do provide a fan that was more than adequate in the 80 degree (F) weather. The wireless internet connection only worked in their lobby. They had a good continental breakfast that was served from 7:30-9 am.

The Casa Rosario is the perfect choice for those seeking a clean, basic place to sleep in a prime sightseeing location in Rome. Your safety is assured since everyone is buzzed in by the front desk. There is an 11pm curfew. They have a delightful rooftop terrace to enjoy the views of the neighborhood which includes the Coliseum.

The front desk folks even called us a private Mercedes cab for the airport departure that is cheaper than the city cabs.

If you can deal with the spartan room and no air conditioning, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fridaynightlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This place is in an excellent location within a stones throw of all the main sights and a 5 minute walk to the Colosseum but as one fellow guest said 'It's a convent, not a hotel'. Problem is they charge like a 3.5 star hotel - 94 Euro for a double/night. For the same price you can find yourself in a very nice B&B or for 10-20 euro more in a 4 star hotel.

We stayed for 4 days during the height of summer in July. As a fellow reviewer also reported we were met by a woman at the front desk who was absolutely horrible, patronising, rude and impatient. A mix up in the booking which could have been dealt with with patience and good grace turned into a grand production. In the end we were moved half way during our stay which allowed us to experience more of what Casa Il Rosiario had to offer. The rooms are clean but not all rooms come with air-conditioning, we were told only 3 rooms in the whole building have air-conditioning leaving the rest to rely on fans which are barely adequate in an extremely hot, airless room. You can open the windows but watch out for mosquitoes. In our second room we had an army of ants in our room. There is no safe or mini fridge but there is a fridge near the lobby stocked with coke, juice, and still and fizzy water for a donation.

The comfort of the beds varied. In our first room the mattresses were quite comfortable in our second room one of the beds was made up of a couple of pieces of foam and a thinner futon-like mattress which meant it sank in the middle leading to an uncomfortable night's sleep. The bathroom is very old (maybe around 40-50 years old). The room is not made up every day.

The breakfast is adequate but compared to other generous continental breakfast spreads you find in budget hotels across Europe, quite limited. You get preserved fruit juice, coffee and tea, white bread rolls, cereal and spreads including jam, pate and honey.

There is now wireless internet which you can buy per hour or day for 2 euro.

The sisters are delightful as are most of the staff, with the exception of that one lady at reception, but ultimately this is a convent with dormitory-style accommodation suitable for a children's camp charged at prices you would expect from a hotel that has all the mod cons and high quality service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#417 of 1,269 in Rome
212 reviews
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#315 of 1,269 in Rome
424 reviews
Monti
Antica Locanda
Antica Locanda
#539 of 1,269 in Rome
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#521 of 1,269 in Rome
171 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana
Domus Sessoriana
#306 of 1,269 in Rome
892 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#12 of 1,269 in Rome
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Il Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Il Rosario

Address: Via di Sant'Agata Dei Goti 10, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Il Rosario Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing