We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and charming”
Review of Hotel Flavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Flavia
Ranked #696 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, very charming, with a very friendly staff.

Our experience was that the staff were super helpful, they did everything we asked of them, and were keen to be of service.

It is ten minutes walking from the Triton fountain and it took us 25 mins to Colosseum.

The breakfasts were pleasant, with plenty of choice and a lovely breakfast room.

The rooms were basic, functional and clean. However, as we spent very little time in the room, that was totally fine.

Would stay here again, and would recommend.

Thank mbigshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back from Rome with 2 friends, the hotel is well situated for sightseeing, the rooms are small but very clean and have everything you need, the breakfast was good, the bed very comfortable, all the staff were extremely helpful especially Albert, our taxi on departure was unable to get close to the hotel due to local problems and Julio just grabbed my bag and walked us to a meeting point 3 streets away, now that was priceless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueSoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel for the weekend of Valentine's day to celebrate my birthday. Great hotel, convenient location, not far from the nearest metro station, with not many stops to go to get to the city centre. Very well organized and beautifully designed, with very helpful staff. The friendliest and most hospitable person we had the pleasure of meeting in all of Rome happened to be the receptionist in this hotel named Albert. Extremely helpful and detailed with directions, advice on places to visit, and down to earth and very friendly with all customers, which made our hotel experience as easy and as pleasant as we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeanPrestonDoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Hotel Flavia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Mr.Prest,

thank you very much for the great review of the Flavia shared on this website.
We are happy to know that you appreciated our staff and our hotel and you had a wonderful stay.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is perfect for a short stay in Rome if all you want is a place to rest your head after a day of exploring this breathtaking city.

The room:
It's basic and was fairly small but we only stayed for 3 nights and didn't have a lot of luggage, so no reason to complain. A little tv, comfy and clean double bed, small ensuite with a shower.

The service:
All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
We were greeted by a really nice young man on arrival, he presented a paper map and highlighted the best routes around the city. He recommended a few local restaurants and some of the most beautiful back streets to visit whilst travelling from monument to tourist attraction. Unfortunately we didn't see him again to thank him, so if he's reading this then - thank you for all of your help!!

The location:
You are right in the centre and just a short walk from the Spanish steps and the trevi fountain (around 15-20 mins). It's about a 40 min walk to the colosseum- but there's lots to see on the way so may take longer. We took the underground to the Vatican and walked back, which is recommended so that you are full of energy to explore the galleries when you arrive at the Vatican.


Tourist tips:
We made the mistake of paying around €35 each for a guided tour of the Vatican. The tour was sold to us on the basis that we'd skip the queue- unless you are visiting in peak season you do not need to do this. We were overcharged massively and wasted time on this tour.

If you are staying in the Flavi Hotel and being dropped of by your transfer at the central train station note that the hotel is a VERY short walk from the station- print off a map before hand.
We paid €3 for a bus which was only one stop, and ended up walking further than if we'd just walked from the station! (note a taxi driver tried to charge us €20 for a 8 minute walk from the station to the hotel!!!)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaJacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Hotel Flavia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guests,

thanks for your positive review of our hotel, we are very happy you had a wonderful stay in Rome and with us.
We hope to see you again, we wish you a Happy New Year!
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The room was very very small...Although the bathroom was hot at night..the bedroom was a little cold....The staff in the kitchen was excellent,,..The staff in the reception was ok....The location very good and safe....It would be better for the hotel,, the staff begin learning english.....and the most important of all..too expensive at saturdays-sundays....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEORGIOS v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Hotel Flavia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your review of our hotel.
We are happy you had a positive impression of the hotel Flavia and we will analize your suggestion to improve our services.
Best Regards and Merry Christmas.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The location is okay. 15 min of Statzione Termini. In a side street, didn't hear a lot of noise from the street. Big Plus for honesty! The pictures on their webiste are not sugar-coated. It's a servicable hotel, not a fancy one. We got a good deal on it. To be frank, not sure if I would pay the standard price as advertised on the web page.
Other than that it was clean, the receptionist was friendly, but obviously not at ease speaking english.
Breakfast was included and good for Italian Standards. Tip: The coffee at the buffet is instant (which they tell you) Ask the friendly service for a Cappucino or Expresso or whatever you want, you are in Italy after all, the coffee is made fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EK1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager34, Direttore at Hotel Flavia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Sir,

we are glad you spent a few time to review the hotel Flavia.
We are happy to know you had a positive stay with us. We will surely analize your suggestions to improve our services.
Thank you and Merry Christmas!
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013, the front desk guy was okish, not over friendly and not rude, check in was fast and easy and soon upto the room, the hotel is old, I mean seriously old, it clearly has seen better days, and the room whilst clean was a bit tatty and not what you would expect from a 3 star hotel!

The location is not too far from Termini but you would need a taxi if you have luggage, we used (Republicca) which is the A Line train, and was a 10 minute walk from hotel door, the guy was helpful on the last day and arranged a taxi to Tiburtina, (order taxi from hotel) we had a good exeperience and didnt get ripped off, which is a common scam.

Breakfast was really a simple affair, but you had the choice of a number of different coffees and the rolls were fresh and warm, the pastries and juice was good too, filling and all you need really to prepare for a day in rome!

Overall expensive for what it is, but then this is roma!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steevo86186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#945 of 1,272 in Rome
427 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Invictus
Hotel Invictus
#902 of 1,272 in Rome
255 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Margaret Rome
Hotel Margaret Rome
#802 of 1,272 in Rome
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#200 of 1,272 in Rome
737 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ranieri
Hotel Ranieri
#285 of 1,272 in Rome
540 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#575 of 1,272 in Rome
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flavia

Address: Via Flavia 40, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #696 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flavia 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Flavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flavia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing