We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Come for the City, Not the Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amico Hotel
Ranked #953 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You Come for the City, Not the Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Rome is notoriously expensive so we knew that a budget of 150 euros for 3 nights wasn't going to get us anything immaculate.
But what we got was fine. The rooms are old fashioned, and the shower and bathroom is not up to modern standard - but it did the job. Having walked around Rome relentlessly for the day, and finished with some great wine on the little pedestrianised street about 5 mins walk from hotel, we slept very well every night.
It's about a 15 min walk to the nearest metro, so I would say that this is NOT a place for people with walking difficulties. The lift also wasn't working so we had to to hike up the 6-7 floors to the hotel.
Wifi only works near the reception area.

Overall, I would say that were this hotel in another city then I would probably share the largely negative views on this page. However, if you want to go and discover Rome then this is a good place to drop the bags, and go wondering for the day in a glorious city. Save your money for that!! Also, the little street of bars I mentioned earlier is lively at weekends and I would recommend dropping by there to finish the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingolfsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    31
    14
    26
See reviews for
11
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

They say it is very close to the train station, but it is not so true. You have to take the tram and it is a 20 minute ride. Walking would take more than 40 minutes, so dont try it :). But 2 different trams, 5 and 14 go very often which makes it accessible enough. The room was clean and it was cleaned every day. Fortunately we could use a good wifi, the staff was very nice always, especially Aleksandar. Nex time in Rome, I will be back here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilihipsojic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

this hotel is about 15 minutes to the city center by tram,this makes the price more cheaper,it is not in the best area of Rome,the hotel itself is ok ,but the area is not really ok,the staff was very nice always,the room was clean everyday,just a basic room,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Gyor, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed there last week because of Roma-Juventus and the staff was very kind and helpful, The room was clean and it was cleaned every day. Fortunately we could use a good wifi. Thank you!

ps. we will return surely when we will come to Rome again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

They say it is very close to the train station, but it is not true. You have to take the tram and it is a 20 minute ride. Walking would take more than 40 minutes. But 2 different trams go very often which makes it accessible enough.
When we arrived we were very disappointed with the location, but it was sort of cheap (staying in Rome is brutally expensive). The location doesnt look safe at all, but during 3 or 4 days we didnt have a problem at all. It is not actually a hotel, they are located in the 6th and 7th floor of an apartment / office building in corner. No sign for the name, just some kind of "Hotel" sign which is not very visible.

The room was ok, not very clean, but some how what I was expecting by the location and the "cheap" price. The shower was super dirty.

My main complain was the guys from the service desk during the afternoon, they were acting friendly but it was obvious that they didnt care that much. I asked them fro the password of their Wifi, and it took me 30 minutes to get that done. The lady in the morning was quite friendly.

If this is just only last minute option, it is a good choice. If you can book in advance in some other place closer and for the same amount, I would rather look for something else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jma1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

NOT GOOD AT ALL.. When We saw the place that was totally EWW.. so we find another place even if we booked in that hotel, I can't live a day in that apartment-like-hotel...Its not even a Called Hotel... So avoid this hotel if i were you, you will be very disappointed:(

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 123SMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADMINAMICOHOTELF, Direttore at Amico Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for comment! Could you be so kind to explain us a very curious fact: how can you say that the hotel is “horrible” if you're not even in? It's like saying that your home is dirty and horrible without seeing it!
We are sorry for your no-show and hope you'll be more attentive with your choices.
Sincerely,
Amico Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I've read some of the reviews before and most of them are correct about this place.
Location: we couldn't find this place easy, because it's situated in a living house, which looks awful. The only sign was 'Hotel' on the side of the building and nothing more. It might sound stupid, but at least you might expect some name alongside with the word hotel.
The area looked not very pleasant, but good thing was that there was a Pigneto street very close, where the vibe was similar to London's Bricklane!
From an inside: it looks very dirty, because it's based in residential building. Hotel doesn't look very clean neither, but that's what you can expect for that price.
Rooms were quite tidy, but no one has sweeped the floor under the bed entire time of stay. Bathroom and toilets were also not very clean. I could even see some insect crawling on the shower cabin - I'm glad my girlfriend didn't see it.
Service: service was OK, after showing our disappointment they let us choose from some rooms, which was very good. However we had to ask three times to reduce the volume of TV in the reception, because we could hear it even with the earplugs and couldn't fall asleep!
Bed sheets were changed occasionally. One day the room service tried to get into our room when we were not ready! And the sign was there, telling clearly 'DO NOT DISTURB!' Girlfriend tried to explain them, but poor communication of room service lade skills made mad, because she couldn't get in!
Receptionists were nice, but that's it.

Overall, if you have some nerve and not afraid of crawling things, living in not very pleasant location and being disturbed of noise, you can go for this cheapo. But if you can afford more expensive place, spend more and avoid this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugenijus_Sochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Termini Accommodation
Termini Accommodation
#834 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#988 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Albergo Laura
#1,070 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#968 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#610 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#457 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amico Hotel

Property: Amico Hotel
Address: Piazzale Prenestino 15, 00176 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #953 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Amico Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing