We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable but could be better”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #3,225 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This is one of the few hotels available in the Fleming District, located in the North of Rome across the Tiber river. There are few reasons for tourists to stay in this area, since it is relatively far from any points of interest, and the neighborhood is mainly modern residential. The hotel itself has a very helpful staff, and a pleasant entry area, done in dark woods, green and gold, with a sort of East Asia colonial theme to the place. The rooms themselves are variable. My first on this visit was a small, musty double with a dubious-looking carpet and a tiny shower, and was suffering from a lack of maintenance. All sorts of things were falling apart - door frames, handles, drawer pulls were literally dropping to the floor. I changed room and was given a considerably nicer room, with wooden floors, more space, and fewer falling objects. Both rooms were quiet. Breakfast appears to have a large selection, but virtually nothing is fresh. Every morning I saw the same selection dates, figs, a huge piece of cheese, and inedible pastries. There was a little fruit, but only two types. The coffee, however, is excellent.

I have stayed here many times, and with only the much reviled Fleming Hotel as an alternative, would return if needed. Although the staff is great, the place needs some upkeep and rethinking to justify the 135 Euros per night I was charged. The small touches need to be improved - the breakfast as noted above, the spotty internet, the return of the the complimentary newspapers (not the free rags handed out now) - are examples of where one's stay could be made better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UChicago74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2010

I attended one workshop in Rome together with many colleagues from different offices worldwide and about 40 of us were accomodated at the Colony hotel. At first sight, the hotel looks nice, old-styled and easy, but once inside the first impression deteriorated rapidly...

The hotel and the rooms are anything but spacious. Also, the bad was surely clean by any standards, but it was quite old so that it didn't look so clean at all. The room I had was quite small and old. I left one shirt for the laundry service after check in and informed the reception when I left, they assured me it was going to be taken care of but it wasn't. Finally, the day we left, there was only one person at the reception and the check out bills were not ready, so the unlucky ones who got last on the queue had to wait for almost one hour (!) to check out.

I understand that this is not necessarily the standard in this hotel, but for me it was enough to try it once, I'm surely not coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank drfruenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I live in Toronto, and was in Roma to cover the World Aquatics Championships. My stay at the Colony was good. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and spoke good enough English.(my Italian is terrible). Restaurant serves a good continental breakfast and an excellent dinner buffet. My room had a safe,was clean, a good size, double bed,bathroom with stand up shower and a nice balcony (reccomended) facing the garden . The hotel is near some excellent restaurants and is 2 buses away from downtown Roma, (piazza Del Popilo) costs 2 Euros and takes 30 mins. By taxi 15-20 Euros and takes 20 mins. There is a small gym, but it had everything I needed for a good workout . Next time I'm in Roma, i'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bajanorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Staff very friendly and always helpful. Food in Hotel Restaurant well priced and of good standard. Very Relaxing enviroment situated in quiet residential area. A couple of good local restaurants in walking distance. Local Bus service into Rome 5 minutes walk from hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

The pictures on the website are a bit misleading. I would say that the lobby looks very nice, as does the outside of the hotel. But, if you look closely, you'll see tears in the couches and lampshades...actually you don't need to look too closely, they're pretty obvious.

The rooms were small and adequate. As someone else mentioned, if you consider yourself to be large, you will not be able to fit in the shower. And the airconditioning was iffy.

Even though it is outside the center of the city, it wasn't difficult to get into the city. We just jumped on a bus stop nearby, grabbed a tram and were at Piazza Popolo in about 20 min. And from there you can walk to the old town about 20 min again (but this might take longer as along the way are the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon) or jump on the subway to go to other destinations, including the train station.

Breakfast very limited. Basically a lot of sweet breads, cereal, yogurt, fruit and milk. Nothing inspiring.

Oh yeah, the internet is EXTREMELY slow. So don't imagine that the four hours you pay for will actually equal four hours online.

I would not recommend this place for the price. But, if it's the cheapest you can find, it'll be fine, it's just old.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fuedli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

I returned to the Colony for a second stay this year, and again found it to be a fairly good experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities clean, and the room was fine. Of note, the room contained a safe, in which guests could store valuable. The shower was tight, but usable. The hotel was going through a series of plumbing repairs, but this did not prove to be overly inconvenient. On the whole, my stay was similar to my previous one. The Colony remains a good choice for someone staying in the Fleming District. It is not a convenient location for sightseeing, but a good choice if circumstances require that you stay in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UChicago74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

WE choose this hotel as fair price and quality . We knew it is not in center and acctualy that is not a problem,a s we were a group and we had our own transoportataion. Rooms where small, fair. Bathrooms smaller and if you are big size you will have problem to go in to tiny shower.
Breakfast a bit sad, if you take in mind that you are in Italy country of so good food.
THan it comes the "best " part.
We came back from city tour and girls from one room found the room was ROBBED. But it wasnt simple robbery but very original. Somebody stolen their underware, pijamas, leder jacket, some more cloths. They even took a buttun which was in pocket of the jacket and put it on night table as regard. Receptionist did not want to do anything, after a lot of talking we called policew hich did not want to come niether, thay asked us to go to station. We insist to talk with hotel manager, but she did not want to come as it was saturday, and she doesnt work on weekends????!! They did not want to call maid to explain things becasue the room was also cleaned very strange, no tavel excanged, sliperies inside the bad...
Recpetionits said that is not the first time that this happend.
Ignorance and completly not profesional response from hotel and management especially.
Our stay was destroyed , we were all affraid to stay and leave things ( you can not put underware in safe!?) .

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dimitry88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Fleming
Grand Hotel Fleming
#461 of 1,271 in Rome
1,321 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#540 of 1,271 in Rome
412 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Church Village
The Church Village
#1,090 of 1,271 in Rome
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Casa La Salle - Casa per Ferie
7.7 mi away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#501 of 1,271 in Rome
146 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aurora Garden Hotel
Aurora Garden Hotel
#1,025 of 1,271 in Rome
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: Via Monterosi 18, 00191 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,225 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £31 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing