We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Azzurra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Azzurra
Ranked #474 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
orlando, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel at the beginning of August. Location is great, close to metro station and Trevi Fountain, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and so are the bathrooms. Neeraj, the owner, and his staff are very nice and very helpful. Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room which really makes this a very good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldaworld4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    101
    37
    21
    7
See reviews for
83
103
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

ideally located hotel in the heart of Rome, close to the Trevi fountain, I was pretty satisfied with the room which, though small, seemed clean enough, even though we had booked a room with twin beds and were given a room with a double bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only problem with this hotel is the tiny breakfast room (only four tables): I had to wait half an hour to be able to have breakfast the first day, and had to skip it altogether on the second day as waiting would have meant missing a visit I had booked two months in advance. The staff on that occasion told me it wasn't their problem, which I didn't exactly appreciate. Overall a pretty good place to spend a week-end in Rome if you don't have to keep specific times in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilonwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romahotelazzurra, Manager at Hotel Azzurra, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thanks for writing to us, we had modified our space that already exists, to have a small place to offer an Italian continental breakfast for all the guests, as we have only eight rooms, so rare we face this problem that the guest wait for breakfast that is included in the room price for 69 euro per night, an air-conditioned double room, with 32'' flat screen tv and mini bar with water and soft drink included at 300 metres to the Trevi Fauntain, unfortunately, you did not specified in your booking to have twin beds, and your stay was only for two nights otherwise we would have surely make it possible, to make your stay more reliable, we made some discount on your total bill.

Having a small breakfast room, we noticed that all our guest are so satisfied because, they don't need to go in the bar nearby as it is still indicated in the contract, they have a good breakfast inside the Hotel.

We are very happy to offer you good service, value of your money you paid.

Thanks to TRIPADVISOR.COM to make possible these communications between the Guests and the Hotel after their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My two teen agers and I have just returned from Rome where we spent five nights at the Azzura, and I can't say enough about the excellence of the staff, from the person who made our rooms up spotlessly everyday (really, I even saw her wipe a polish cloth over someone's shoes) to the young woman in the breakfast room who makes wonderful cappuccino to Neerajh (sorry if I have spelled this incorrectly) who is better than a concierage in a five star hotel: he arranged our taxi, our reservations to the Borghese, and was always ready with quick and easy directions to wherever we were going. Thank you all for making our stay perfect. If you are lucky enough to be able to book this hotel, do so. (re. the small bathroom--yes, it is small, but by Roman standards, it is completely normal).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just back from hotel azzurra Rome. Fantastic location, price, hospitality, cleanliness and most importantly was the proprietor mr mittal who couldn't do enough for us to make our trip to Rome very memorable. I would highly recommend this hotel for it's central location for all the popular sites. It was just fantastic xxxxxxx

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms so I'm sure they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, ze Nedderlands
Level Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The hotel is perfectly located, less than 5 minutes walk from the Trevi fountain. The hotel itself is a nice place, pretty small, with very helpful and friendly staff. The elevator up to the third floor took a little courage getting into, but at least there was one.The room itself was pretty large by Italian standards and had the most useful trimmings: fridge, tv, working airco, safe. The room was nothing fancy but clean and in a good state. We had a good night as the beds were fine. Bathroom was large enough and clean as well; hot water in the morning was all we needed. Breakfast was in a bar across the street and very Italian: strong coffee and a 'dolce'.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaagseBluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in Rome here, and the stay was great. We arrived early, but they kept our bags for us, the room was small but immaculate. They gave us great tips, were very friendly, and the location is terrific - easy walk to Trevi and Spanish steps, but not far from anything. I would highly recommend it - the elevator is so cool, too - 18th century.... Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Hotel Azzurra, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thanks for writing for us, we are also pleased of your stay in our Hotel and hope if you will back in Rome, will stay with us. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Unfortunately, we were not very pleased with Azzurra. Per Azzurra's website, a double room contains 140 square feet, and a triple room contains 269 square feet. Because we were to be in Rome 5 days/4 nights, we reserved a triple room because we wanted the extra space. We arrived early and our room was not ready. As a courtesy, the afternoon manager led us to a restroom at the end of the hall and as we walked past the open doors, we saw a number of triple rooms as pictured on Azzurra's website and I was very pleased that I had chosen a triple room. The afternoon manager advised us that we would be relocated from the room they were giving us the first night into a different room the next day, explaining that they were fixing a plumbing issue in the room we were to be moved into the next day. She assured us the first room did not have such a problem.

We left our luggage and returned later in the afternoon, when a different manager was on the desk. He showed us to our room, but it was a double room, not a triple as reserved. He stated that I had contacted Azzurra to say the third person had cancelled and requested to be changed from a triple room to a double room. When I said I had made no such request, he then thought maybe booking.com had contacted him to make the change. Absolutely not true, as there never was a third person.

The night manager's solution was to offer to put another bed into the double room to make it a "triple" room. As you can imagine, three beds in a 140 square foot room would leave mere inches for moving about and defeated the whole purpose for reserving a triple room, which was to have more space. We had checked Azzurra's website beforehand and knew that they were sold out for the time we were there, and so wondered if they ever even had a triple room for us at all. However, we decided to make the best of the situation and accept the double room. At first, the night manager did not offer to reduce our rate to that for a double, instead of a triple, until my boyfriend asked for the reduction, at which time the night manager agreed.

The beds were comfortable and the room was clean, but the room was next to reception and so there was a lot of noise from people coming and going and talking in the hallways. Again, we decided to just make the best of it and remain in the double room. BUT, and this is a very big BUT, the next night, we began to smell a sewer methane odor in the bathroom that permeated the bedroom as well. We turned on the fan and closed the door. We had commitments the next day and needed to leave early, and we expected the smell to be gone when we got back. It was not. It was even stronger. We were now on our third night of four, so we soaked towels and placed them over the shower, bidet and sink drains, but the smell persisted. Since the afternoon manager told us it was the "other" room that had a plumbing issue and not this one, we began to wonder if perhaps all of the rooms were having this issue and they simply were not disclosing it to their patrons and wondered about their ethics.

As with other hotels, the manager made copies of our passports when we checked in and sent them to the appropriate agencies. Subsequently, my boyfriend's wallet was stolen on the subway but the police found it. The money and charge cards were gone, but the driver's license was still in it. The police, of course, knew my boyfriend was staying at Azzurra because of the passport information provided, but when they called Azzurra, the night manager told them my boyfriend was not staying there. We were shocked to learn Azzurra only keeps track of the name of the person who made the reservation, and not of anyone else staying in the room, even though they copy the passports of everyone. The night manager had made no notes about what police station had called, its phone number, etc., so we had no way of contacting them to get the wallet back. We ended up going to the police department nearest to the hotel, but were told that without the information about which station had called Azzurra, they had no way of knowing which station had the wallet. Apparently, they are not connected to each other. We never got the wallet back, which meant that my boyfriend was not able to drive the rental car later in the week. This could have been avoided if Azzurra had kept more complete records.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1HappyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romahotelazzurra, Responsabile reception at Hotel Azzurra, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thanks for your notice, we will do more to remove this problems. We always try to offer more, even if we are a one star Hotel offering air conditioned rooms with private bathroom with satellite tv and a standered breakfast is included, at 300 metres from the Trevi Fauntain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#519 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#591 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#185 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#249 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Panda
Hotel Panda
#594 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azzurra

Property: Hotel Azzurra
Address: Via del Boccaccio 25 | Metro Barberini Fontana di Trevi, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azzurra 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central and economic, Hotel Azzurra offers hospitality in rooms freshly adapted all with bath/shower inside, frigo bar, air condition and phone. In the triangle of Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Barberini Square is recommended for business trips and tourism journeys. All credit cards are accepted, groups till 22 people with facilities for tours, taxi service to airport, rent scooters. computer use, fax, international calls, laundry , iron full of services in a single place. 150 mt. metro Piazza Barberini, 200 mt. Trevi Fountain, 350 mt. Spanish Steps, 400 mt. Va del Corso the famous shopping zone, 800 mt. Piazza Navona & Pantheon, 300 mt. Via Veneto Dolce Vita, 15 min. Vatican City & Colossium by metro or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azzurra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing