We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome, fair price, great location & service”
Review of Hotel Azzurra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Azzurra
Ranked #510 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rome, fair price, great location & service”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hotel staff VERY helpful. Very clean, safe and in good location. Capuchins made every morning. A good budget answer for family of 4. Room was just big enough for beds. Bathroom modern & private. 4 star service in a 3 star property.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    102
    38
    21
    8
See reviews for
84
104
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We chose this hotel for location and price and were very pleased with everything about it, especially the staff who ran to get us a drink when we arrived hot and exhausted after our flight. They served a very nice breakfast of pastries, yogurt, fruit, coffee of any sort and toast and the rooms were clean and well maintained. The bells and street sounds at night were a little loud but acceptable and only added to the sense of being in Rome. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 909Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a great value, budget hotel in a superb location. A 10 min walk from Metro station Barberini or a 10 -13 euro taxi ride from Roma Termini. Always make sure you get a quote or that the taxi metre is used.

Ring the doorbell and gain entry. Up 8 steps and around and you are at a very compact lift to the 3rd floor.

Checkin was easy. Well managed hotel, all keys and information are given.

Simple, comfortable room with the only shuttered window which looked down the street towards the Trevi. Great for fresh air. We left it open at night. Bathroom is compact and narrow only about 1 metre wide with bidet, clean and modern. Good flow of hot water from shower. Good free wifi connection to our PC.

A continental filling breakfast is served in a small breakfast room from 8am. They will open early if you give them some notice the day before. Yoghurt, juice and cappuccinos included. Young happy staff.

The location of this hotel is perfect for walking to just about everywhere. We were busy and out everyday. We had a hassle free stay.

Hostaria Romana Restaurant is nearby and is superb for quality traditonal fare. Their antipasto selection is brilliant. Make a booking.

Don't waste your money on the icecream places around the Trevi, only OK. Try Rome's famous Giolitti Icecream a 10 minute walk away. Fig and Ricotta Yum!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The location of hotel is just wonderful, about 5 minutes walking to Trevi, Piazza di Spagna, via del Corso, via Veneto and etc. The hotel is clean and the personal is helpful and friendly, all speaking English. The only trouble is the elevator which is very tiny and some steps before elevator which could be a problem if you have huge luggage. Overall quite ok inspite of even elevator, i think i will stay there next time, cause location and cleanliness make me quite satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pazza7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Travelled in a party of 3 (2 x adults + 1 x 7 year old) so had a triple room. The location was superb - 5 minute (with a 7 year old pulling a hand luggage suitcase) walk from Barberini Metro station, 2 stops away from Termini, 5 minute walk to the Trevi, 10 min walk to Spanish Steps, 15 min walk to Pantheon & 20 min walk to Piazza Navona. The location alone was worth the price we paid for the 3 nights.

The hotel is in a beautiful traditional building. The hotel is the old rooms which have been converted. It is well maintained, with a funky traditional lift (very small but part of the adventure) & my daughter loved the old fashioned operation of a traditional lift.

Welcome was great. A map was provided with details on the usual must see's in Rome + some recommendations of local trattoria's/pizzeria's. Although our room wasn't ready, we were shown around & advised how the key system worked. We left our bags which had kindly been put into our room on our return.

Basic room (room 27) but clean, tidy & a decent size. Plenty of room for a kingsize bed, single bed & space to move. Double wardrobe, dressing table, coat hook area & fridge which was stocked with water & fanta. Their was a small tv, which had sky channels, but the only English channels were the usual news channel - personally don't see this as an issue as I was there to see Rome! I did find the room cold (I am always cold, even in intense heat) & the central heating is operated centrally but when I commented on this to the team, I was supplied with a mini heater which did a great job in adding the heat I needed.

Bathroom was tiny - but this is a building which has been converted & therefore expected. Shower was a decent temperature, fluctuated early in the morning when other people were using the water in the building, but again, for the price it was perfectly fine. Be warned though, if you are a little bigger than the average, the bathroom (for this room) is a tight squeeze.

The staff could not do enough for you. There are great postcards in the reception which were free to take (and made a great school project for my daughter), refills on the mini bar, the room was cleaned every day & the towels changed daily too - even though we were told these would be changed every other day.

Breakfast consisted of full range of coffees, full range of teas, water, OJ, pastries/doughnuts, toast, bread roll, jams & yoghurts - which was well prepared & a great start to the day. Only critiscism is that brekkie is served from 8am, which is quite late if you plan on starting a tour at 9am or want to be at the main attractions early, but again, the team were great - we had a tour booked at Roman Forum for 9am & they were happy to start serving at 7.45.

This is a simple hotel, with great staff, a warm welcome & in a superb location. The rooms are basic but for the price we paid, it was great value. Would definitely stay here again & recommended as a great value, budget hotel. The staff were fantastic & well deserve the other positive feedback on here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecj1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I spent 6 nights in Azzurra hotel in January 2013. The hotel has a fantastic location!!! 1 minute walk to the metro station (line A), 2 minutes walk to Trevi Fountain, 5 minutes walk to Spanish steps and via del Corso (shopping area), 2 metro stops to Termini train station (also line A), most of greatest historical places are in walking distance, a few nice restaurants are nearby, the food supermarket is in 100 meters distance, the Rome Sightseeing Tour bus stops in 1 minute walk from the hotel.
Amazing staff – very friendly and helpful, doing their best for your comfort! A real home atmosphere is added by many little things like umbrella, proposed you on a rainy day, free water and soft drinks in your fridge, or free yogurt you can take from the kitchen any time. My room was always perfectly cleaned. The bathroom had all things I required. The hotel provides very good service for reasonable price (actually cheap for such location – it is not easy to find something similar in Rome!). For sure I will stay here again! I also will advise this hotel to my friends traveling to Rome.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 24. It was a good double room with all what I required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

My friend and I spent 8 nights in this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay in this small hotel: very clean room, good atmosphear, polite and nice staff and the best location ever!!! The hotel is located on the 3rd floor of the bulding, elevator always worked. Continental breakfast is included (yogurt, fresh croissant, cornflakes, coffee, tea etc.). If you want a budget hotel, 10 minutes walk from the most of attractions, go ahead and choose this hotel. You will feel like at home here;)

Helpful?
3 Thank Anet1982
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#512 of 1,256 in Rome
215 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#611 of 1,256 in Rome
128 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#322 of 1,256 in Rome
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#672 of 1,256 in Rome
71 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#168 of 1,256 in Rome
760 reviews
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#406 of 1,256 in Rome
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azzurra

Property: Hotel Azzurra
Address: Via del Boccaccio 25 | Metro Barberini Fontana di Trevi, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azzurra 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central and economic, Hotel Azzurra offers hospitality in rooms freshly adapted all with bath/shower inside, frigo bar, air condition and phone. In the triangle of Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Barberini Square is recommended for business trips and tourism journeys. All credit cards are accepted, groups till 22 people with facilities for tours, taxi service to airport, rent scooters. computer use, fax, international calls, laundry , iron full of services in a single place. 150 mt. metro Piazza Barberini, 200 mt. Trevi Fountain, 350 mt. Spanish Steps, 400 mt. Va del Corso the famous shopping zone, 800 mt. Piazza Navona & Pantheon, 300 mt. Via Veneto Dolce Vita, 15 min. Vatican City & Colossium by metro or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azzurra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing