We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful small hotel”
Review of Hotel Azzurra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Azzurra
Ranked #501 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
peyia, cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful small hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel seemed to be too good to be true for the price.
Took a bit of finding as Taxi driver had not heard of it. If arriving at ciampino airport note that taxi fare is fixed at 30 euros into Rome!
Anyway found hotel late at night. Entrance is through locked doors so make sure you say if its a late check in. 3 hotels in 1 building and i think ground floor is 4 star middle 3 and this is 3rd floor so 2 start. Tint lift but all very lovely. Rooms were spacious and fully equipped with fridge and complimentary drinks. Good TV with Sky and ability to watch in english/ Cleaned every day. Breakfast is continental but adequate and staff very friendly. Hotel is located a few minutes from trevi fountain which is great for walking about the sites. Care again on leaving as taxis outside are 30 euros but 48 from hotel!

Room Tip: all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kastalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    105
    38
    21
    8
See reviews for
86
105
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights over new years. The hotel was easy enough to find from Barberini metro and as others have said, the lift was an experience!

When we went in, we were greeted by the hotel owner on reception, who took time to highlight some main sites near the hotel etc on a map and tell us about breakfast times. He was a friendly chap and we found that all the staff were friendly too.

I had booked a 'small' double, which was indeed very cosy, however was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The complimentary water and can of soft drink in the fridge was a nice touch. The room could get a bit warm, but opening the window for a few minutes solved that. There was sometimes noise from the street, but it's an old building in a busy city, so that isn't unreasonable.

Breakfast was basic but nice enough and provided a decent start to a busy days sight seeing.

The best thing about the hotel is the location, for the price no other options came close, with most being some miles out from the centre. Azzurra was within walking distance of everything except the Vatican. We loved taking some wine or gelato down to the Trevi fountain which was just 5 minutes away.

The owner also gave an unprompted small discount for some very minor issues, which we thought was a nice gesture, as was inviting us to join him for a drink before we departed.

Rome is all about being out and about, be that sight seeing in the day or leisurely long dinners and walks in the evening, so this hotel is a very good value for money place to base yourselves centrally.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h_kanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, canada
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Was a little nervous about staying here after reading reviews but have to totally agree with post below. If you're looking for a bellman and valet, this isn't your place. However if you are looking for engaged, happy, interested staff, super comfortable beds, Very clean and considerate housekeeping, then you've found the place. There is a lift for the baggage. Don't let the stairs scare you. Not far from metro, trevi, shopping and food options in every direction.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adalide
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Lets be realistic - by Rome standards this is a budget priced hotel - so if you like luxery its not for you.
However if you prefer friendly and extremly helpful staff, a cosy, comfortable and clean room, a good breakfast and top location all at a more than reasonable price you may be, as we were, pleasantly surprised by this quaint small hotel.
When choosing this hotel the location and price were the main attractions. From the hotel major attractions including Trevi Fountain (5 min), Pantheon, Spanish Steps ,Colluseum, Vatican, Termini railway station etc are all in reasonable walking distance (for a 50+ year old).
The added bonus was the attitude and helpfullness of all the staff, from reception to breakfast service, they were all very good.
On the flip side
1. be aware all rooms are on the 3rd floor and the lift is not suitable for those with claustraphobia
2. the rooms and bathrooms are clean and functional but are "compact" (not that with so much to explore nearby you should spend much time in your room)
3. There was a bit of external/traffic noise especially early morning (but you are in the middle of Rome!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank south_aussie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aire-sur-l'Adour, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We travelled as a family of four and stayed in a quadruple room. In fact, the room could have slept five - it had two large doubles and a single. The room was large and well-decorated, but the bathroom is very small and a little tired. The only serious gripe about the room is that the window is single-glazed and doesn't close tightly, so you get some noise from the street - not excessive, just the usual bustle of city life.
The staff at the hotel are really welcoming and chatty. The breakfast room (which is now within the hotel) is cosy and like a little cafe. Whilst breakfast is the same each day, we enjoyed it for our four-night stay - the coffee is excellent, hot chocolate for the kids and fresh pastries, plus yoghurts and cornflakes. The juice isn't very nice.
The hotel location is terrific - easy to get to from Barberini Metro and within a short walk of pretty much everything in Rome. We only used the Metro to go to the Vatican and then to get to Termini with our bags when we left, otherwise we just walked everywhere.
If we come back to Rome, I think we'll stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke_de_Tort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in the triple room last week - within easy walking distance to the Pantheon, and we got to see the Trevi Fountain without all the crowds, late at night. Nice touches like bottled water and cool drinks in the little room fridge, the staff were very helpful too. We loved the old lift. The beds were comfortable, but the bathroom was tiny, like on a boat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shellsea001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel could not be located any better. 1 minute from Barberini metro station, 3-5 minutes from Trevi and 5-8 minutes from Spanish Stairs. You can also easily walk from the hotel to the Ancient Rome. We would take the metro only to get to Vatican - all the other parts of Rome we visited by walking.
The hotel is very clean. The room could be bigger and the bathroom would benefit from repainting but I would definitely stay there again when visiting Rome. Very helpful stuff! We felt very welcome and the smallest request (and there were a few) was efficiently fulfilled with a smile.
After reading all the comments about the elevator I was actually quote positively surprised - it was tiny but didn't feel unsafe.
Very nice Italian breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacificdelfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#317 of 1,259 in Rome
639 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Boccaccio
Hotel Boccaccio
#616 of 1,259 in Rome
129 reviews
Trevi
Domus Julia
Domus Julia
#667 of 1,259 in Rome
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Roma Resort Barberini
Roma Resort Barberini
#402 of 1,259 in Rome
224 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#517 of 1,259 in Rome
216 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#170 of 1,259 in Rome
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azzurra

Property: Hotel Azzurra
Address: Via del Boccaccio 25 | Metro Barberini Fontana di Trevi, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#210 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Azzurra 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very central and economic, Hotel Azzurra offers hospitality in rooms freshly adapted all with bath/shower inside, frigo bar, air condition and phone. In the triangle of Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and Barberini Square is recommended for business trips and tourism journeys. All credit cards are accepted, groups till 22 people with facilities for tours, taxi service to airport, rent scooters. computer use, fax, international calls, laundry , iron full of services in a single place. 150 mt. metro Piazza Barberini, 200 mt. Trevi Fountain, 350 mt. Spanish Steps, 400 mt. Va del Corso the famous shopping zone, 800 mt. Piazza Navona & Pantheon, 300 mt. Via Veneto Dolce Vita, 15 min. Vatican City & Colossium by metro or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azzurra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing