We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel for short trip to Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piccolo Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Piccolo Borgo
Ranked #314 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel for short trip to Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was there with my mother and we came by car. So first of all, the parking was safe. Second, the air smelled really nice because of the environment (traffic was a little further). And I've read that people were complaining about cow/horse smell but I guess our room was at a good spot so we did't sense anything. Next, I have to commend the staff. They were very friendly,polite, helpful, funny and nice. Hotel had a wi-fi, but the strength wasn't that good. But it was enough to surf a bit on internet, chat on viber and whatsapp. We didn't come to Rome to spend time behind the computer... Hotel Piccolo Borgo is near the airport and you could sometimes hear airplanes flying over but we did't mind, because it's better than traffic street with smell of car exhaust fumes. It was important for us, to get a good night sleep because we were very tired after walking all day long in Rome. And I just have to say that we didn't hear any airplanes during the night. And also, windows have a really good isolation (or whatever it is called) so when you close them, you can't hear the noise. Next, the room was very clean as well as the bathroom. Towels were changed daily. Everything was just perfect. We had a really nice time there, and I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    353
    108
    20
    26
See reviews for
167
349
32
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

An excellent hotel with nice clean rooms. Lovely porch for warm evenings out. Free shuttle to and from the Metro almost every hour all day. Lovely pool with a restaurant in close. And even a bar!! Great beds and very friendly staff who spoke English. A minus for flights from the nearby airport that go over the hotel. But they start not until 6 o'clock in the morning. So it was no problem!! Will definitely book here again if I come back to Rome!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie-Linmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Everything was fine. Rooms are very clean, big enough and well equiped. Breakfast is good. Free shuttle bus to Metro. Very friendly personal. The only possible negative Thing is the noise from the Airport which is very Close to the Hotel, but as this is known before you book the Hotel it is ok. IF we come again to Rome for sure we will choose the Piccolo Borgo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Piccolo Borgo provided us with:

A superb service
A smart and large bedroom
A clean and well equiped bathroom
A comprehensive breakfast
And a very usefull "free" shuttle bus to the nearby metro station
It is ideal for a short stay in Rome.

A special thank you also goes to Virgilio, who was very, very helpful, friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Not about the hotel, but book tickets for Vatican etc on line before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself appeared nice, but had ants and wasnt cleaned very well. Shuttle service was alright, the only bad thing was the time scheduling for it. Staff was rude (Marco in particular) to both my boyfriend and I making us feel uncomfortable to even ask questions. When we did talk with them they seemed to dance around the questions we had, treating is like we were stupid. Every question we had seemed to be inconviencing them in someway and It was because of this that we didn't pursue the majority of the ammenities that were offered. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will not be going back. Worst service I have ever experienced.

Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

When you arrive on Hotel Piccolo Borgo at Rome for the first time, you think: what's happen? I'm booking this hotel? Yes you booking. After you go to your room, is more like a small house... If you want stay sometime on lobby, they have a good and comfortable room, with comfortable atmosphere and sofas and also a big TV.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabral70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay Cornwall
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just arrived back from our holiday. The hotel was lovely. Staff friendly and rooms spacious and clean. The shuttle bus runs to the metro station and connects well with the metro trains which seem to run every 2 minutes to the Terminus. Once you get your bearings it is easy to see that there are only 2 metro lines A and B. The A line is the one used for this hotel.
Breakfast was included and was plentyful including scrambled eggs and bacon.
Their house wine was nice and only costs 9euros. Their restaurant was ok to be honest but if you walk down the lane to the main road and take a left turn, about 100 yards on the right is a lovely Trattoria. The food was great although a little difficult to understand the menu but the staff were great and tried hard to please - prices were good as well.
It was nice to sit around the pool after a long day in Rome and share a bottle of wine without paying the high city prices. Would choose this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bikerbabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Castle
#163 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Hotel Poggioverde
#104 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Gianicolense
Relais Castrum Boccea
Relais Castrum Boccea
#408 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Resort la Rocchetta
#299 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#196 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#526 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Borgo

Property: Piccolo Borgo
Address: Via delle Capannelle 134, 00178 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#251 Family Hotel in Rome
#260 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Borgo 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Is with great pleasure that we want to let you know a little paradise in the countryside and about 20 minutes from the historic center of Rome.This elegant Hotel retains the mystical Atmosphere and it 's the ideal place for those who want a quiet other times The hotel is located in the middle of one of the largest open-air museums of Rome, between the Appia Antica Park and the aqueducts . On request provides at free transfer Service and from Ciampino Airport , metro station , and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Piccolo Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Borgo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing