We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Average Rooms”
Review of Hotel Solis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Solis
Ranked #173 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Average Rooms”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in early August. The man at the front desk was very friendly and carried our bags up to our room. We were on the 3rd floor, but there was only elevator access to the 2nd. The room was small but clean. It's only a short walk to the Coliseum. It also has free Wi-Fi and free breakfast. It was definitely worth the price for the location alone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosensgo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    247
    56
    16
    12
See reviews for
186
238
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abqaiq
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hotel has excellent location, so close to the Colloseum. Breakfast very good, although breakfast room small, this was not an issue. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and a good standard. My room was a little on the small side but it did not matter, it was clean and bathroom a good size. With a tv and minibar in the room and daily replenishment of toiletries you couldn't ask for more. Price is very reasonable. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was our second stay at Solis hotel already. First of all we like the location - it's absolutely central, just round the corner of Forum Romanum and Colosseum. Second: the rooms are clean, big enough (well, not huge, but you don't want to spend the day in the room, do you?), and have really good air conditioning (we went there in August!). The bathrooms are nice and well equipped (bathtub or shower, big stone washbasin, toilet, bidet). Everything you need is there, and it's clean. The service is really perfect, all people were very friendly. And the best: SUPER BREAKFAST with everything you want: ham, cheese, eggs, juices, different sorts of coffee, different rolls, croissants, pain chocolat, toast, different kinds of cereals, jam, honey, nutella, and of everything as much as you want! The breakfast room is a bit small, but okay. In 2007 everything was very good, that's why we took the same hotel again. But this year the breakfast was even better! The hotel is situated at a quite busy street (Via Cavour), but the windows are so good, that it is very silent in the room (and our room was at the front towards the street, but no problem!). - At checkout I wanted to ask if they can store our luggage during the day, but the man was quicker, he asked me! I mean, that's good service, isn't it?
If we ever go to Rome again, we don't even have to think about a hotel. It will be Solis in any case!

Room Tip: Attention: they have three different hotels in Rome. I am only talking about the one in Via Cavour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel is in the perfect spot in Rome. It's a short walk to nearly everything. A block away from both the forum and the coliseum. The street it sits on is lively, even at night, but with the windows closed you couldn't hear much noise inside the room. We had some problems getting hot water in our room the first day, but the hotel staff helped immensely. Great continental breakfast at the hotel as well. A few bad experiences with the night shift front desk clerk but otherwise a great hotel if you're visiting Rome.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKnapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The service was great - the man on the desk when we arrived carried both our heavy backpacks to our room without any fuss! The breakfast was basic. But, the room was really nice, comfortable and clean. And the location was just incredible!!! Stones throw from the Colosseum, the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill, and walking distance to almost all other sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just up the street from the Coliseum and Forum. Not a terrible walk to Termini, about 20 minutes but there is a subway close by that will take you there as well. Our room was at the end of the hall tucked away in a corner so the room was not much more than the bed and a bit of walking space to step in and close the door. That being said, the bathroom was quite room with an updated shower and fixtures. We did see into other rooms when they were being cleaned and they seemed to be much larger. Since we were only there one night it was not an issue at all, especially since who wants to be in a hotel room when there is so much Rome to explore!? The only issue we did have was that the internet didn’t seem to reach our room, so I had to go down to the lobby to use my laptop. Not a huge inconvenience, but something to be noted. The breakfast was included and was the typical European bread, cheese, meets etc. The price was decent, the location was great and the rooms where clean. You can’t as for much more than that!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We were a little worried as the hotel was very cheap compared to location but all for nothing. The service was great, the rooms clean and decent. I would definitely come back here. And breakfast and wifi included.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#255 of 1,261 in Rome
214 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#112 of 1,261 in Rome
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#99 of 1,261 in Rome
282 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#152 of 1,261 in Rome
1,131 reviews
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#654 of 1,261 in Rome
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solis

Property: Hotel Solis
Address: Via Cavour 311, 184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Rome
#155 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solis 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Solis you will immediately feel the warm and inviting atmosphere of a typical Roman residence, where you will feel right at home, just a short distance away from the Fori Imperiali (Imperial Forums) and from the Colosseum, in the fascinating historic center of the Eternal City. The hotel has rooms and areas that are tidy and well kept even in the smallest of details, managed by a multilingual staff who is always available to help you and provide you with useful information on Rome and on how to visit the most beautiful areas of the city. Hotel Solis in Rome has wi-fi free connection, an essential item for every traveller, convenient parking on the street area for those coming by car and a vast array of other services. The favorable quality and price ratio and the great location makes our hotel the ideal choice for those who wish to discover Rome and enjoy a splendid vacation, in addition to easily reaching the head offices of important firms and companies. The hotel's common areas include a bar and a reading room, great places where to spend an evening socializing with the other guests or enjoying a great movie, after a day spent visiting the historic center or at a business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Solis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solis Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing