We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A roman treasure”
Review of Hotel Solis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solis
Ranked #220 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just returned from a four night cultural weekend to watch England v Italy six nations match and to see some of Rome's sites. After a nightmare taxi journey from the airport Hotel Solis provided a warm welcome. We were given lots of useful information and a map by reception - except their hotel brochure with a good map which we were given as we departed. I would agree withe most comments- the hotel is immaculate and the rooms do vary. We had two double rooms looking out to the back - 107 and 109. 109 was far superior,and well lit with space for an extra put-you-up bed, a chair and tv table, large fresco and even a domed ceiling - although it had no balcony. Our room, 107 was very small and so dark that we had to use our phones to light up the safe to open it and we could not both get in the bathroom together- nor for large people without excellent eyesight. Beds are excellent quality with crisp, white bedding - an extra pillow I requested arrived immediately. Good quality white towels were provided - including bath sheets and also the best hair dryer I've seen in a hotel. Breakfast was served in a small but adequate breakfast room and was fine with excellent coffee and the staff could not do enough for us and were happy to book taxis and restaurants etc. Excellent location and short walk to Forum and Coliseum etc. Also Walking distance of Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Jewish quarter

Room Tip: Room 109 - no balcony but large, bright and well decorated. Room 107 - darker and quite small both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnied1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were very pleased with both the service and accomodations in this perfectly located bed and breakfast. Great location to explore Rome. Breakfast was typical continental Europe; expresso and capiccino's were great!! I would highly recommend a stay here. {We had rooms facing the street...there was a bit of traffic noise, but with the AC running, it did not bother us in the least. It may bother some, though...just request a room on the back side.)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiserdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisHtl, Responsabile reception at Hotel Solis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Cari ospiti,
Un ringraziamento a tutti voi per aver soggiornato ed apprezzato lHotel Solis.
Spero di potervi ospitare di nuovo nelle nostre strutture per trascorrere splendide vacanze Romane.
Distinti saluti da tutti noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here on a solo 4-day trip to Rome in January 2014 and loved it. This hotel is great value and perfect for solo woman travellers. It would also be great for couples and families. The room was spotless and comfortable, the breakfast delicious and substantial, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Best of all, the hotel is situated right between the Colosseum and the Roman Forum and walking distance to a subway station. Just behind the hotel is the historic neighborhood of Monti, with its beautiful little piazza, gorgeous old churches, and great places to eat. In addition, it's just a short taxi ride from Roma Termini train station. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisHtl, Responsabile reception at Hotel Solis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear visitor,

We thank you very much for the nice words you spent for us, I hope to be of help when you feel the need to make another holiday in Rome.
I take this opportunity to Send our more 'polite greetings to the whole family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location, and Diego was very helpful and kind. The breakfast was good
and the lady who serve it was lovely.as well. I would certainly stay here again. The Colosseum was very close in fact most places we wanted to go to were not far.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisHtl, Responsabile reception at Hotel Solis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear guests,

I know that if you serve 'a warm and welcoming place in Rome you'll know where to go.
The staff warmly thanks all of you fine words
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Hotel is small but well run. Spotlessly clean: beds made, rooms cleaned and tidied every day we stayed (3 nights). Breakfast was included - various rolls, croissants, yoghurt, eggs, cold meats & cheese, etc. Staff always on hand and very helpful. Made our 6-yr-old hot milk every evening with no charge. The hotel is on a main street, but the double glazing keeps the room quiet (we live in the country, with no roads around, so we know what quiet means!). Plenty of cafes, restaurants, gelaterias, pizzerias within a few minutes' distance, so easy to eat out, even for a family with different eating preferences! If you want a no-frills hotel to visit the antiquities of Rome, then this is a prime choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hithere82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisHtl, Responsabile reception at Hotel Solis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear guests,

You have chosen the best words to describe the hotel Solis and made ​​us proud of our work, but with beautiful people like you are all more 'easy.
Are to confirm and share with you that the Hotel Solis is an excellent 3-star hotel in the heart of Rome.
Best Regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The location was excellent, the customer service was the best I have ever had and the price was very good. The rooms although clean really need a face life for they are very old and warn down. All in all a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisHtl, Responsabile reception at Hotel Solis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Welcome guests

it is a real pleasure for us to have given you the right service to perfectly complement your visit to Rome.
We will take your suggestions in order to give all of you the best that is right to give
We send our more 'cordial greetings and see you in Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Came with wife and 2 grandsons ages 11 and 13. Hotel staff were very helpful location was great...short walk to Colosseum and major city attractions. Kids enjoyed breakfast and felt comfortable at the location with excellent eating establishments within walking distance. A special thanks to Mirko who went out of his way to provide assistance to myself and my family.....please pass our appreciation to him and entire staff for making our visit enjoyable....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#642 of 1,270 in Rome
63 reviews
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#513 of 1,270 in Rome
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#307 of 1,270 in Rome
615 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#267 of 1,270 in Rome
757 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#96 of 1,270 in Rome
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solis

Address: Via Cavour 311, 184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#155 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solis 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Solis you will immediately feel the warm and inviting atmosphere of a typical Roman residence, where you will feel right at home, just a short distance away from the Fori Imperiali (Imperial Forums) and from the Colosseum, in the fascinating historic center of the Eternal City. The hotel has rooms and areas that are tidy and well kept even in the smallest of details, managed by a multilingual staff who is always available to help you and provide you with useful information on Rome and on how to visit the most beautiful areas of the city. Hotel Solis in Rome has wi-fi free connection, an essential item for every traveller, convenient parking on the street area for those coming by car and a vast array of other services. The favorable quality and price ratio and the great location makes our hotel the ideal choice for those who wish to discover Rome and enjoy a splendid vacation, in addition to easily reaching the head offices of important firms and companies. The hotel's common areas include a bar and a reading room, great places where to spend an evening socializing with the other guests or enjoying a great movie, after a day spent visiting the historic center or at a business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Solis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solis Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing