We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the major attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Solis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Solis
Ranked #165 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close to the major attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here mid June 2014. The hotel provides transport to and from the airport for about £25 for ease, however having already found something cheaper we decided to go with that. It is situated about half a mile from the Colosseum and the outside noise doesn't really penetrate the walls as some other reviews say. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel ranging from local cuisine to burger joints etc. The concierge was helpful and having arrived early he said we could leave our bags in the hotel so we could go and eat and check out the local attractions. This not being our first trip to Rome we knew where most of the major attractions were. As previously stated the Colosseum is very close as is the Metro next to it to get to the further away attractions. The hotel itself was presentable and clean. Towels were changed daily and the bathroom was fairly clean. The only downside to the room was that it was apparently a non-smoking room but seemed to smell quite strongly of stale smoke; perhaps this was the fabric walls which held the smell? We had a small balcony to dry some clothes when it rained. Breakfast...basic continental, a few stale loaves but we were greeted and offered tea, coffee and chocolate on arrival each morning. There are limited spaces at breakfast probably seating about 20 people. Again it's close to the attractions like colosseum, roman ruins, Vittorio Emmanuel monument etc. There is also free wifi in the hotel where a code is provided for you on arrival. There seemed to be booster hubs on each floor making connection speed easier. When we were leaving we were able to leave our luggage locked away and the concierge assisted us with phoning the transport company to arrange a pick up time. He was very helpful. Hotel Solis is a quaint little hotel close to the major attractions at a reasonable price. Although breakfast was pretty basic, staff were friendly and helpful, wifi was good, the hotel was clean and fresh laundry provided daily. I would recommend this hotel to couples and business travellers as it's close to the city centre. It's also suitable for families but remember that it will cost you €2 per person per night for staying in Rome as a standard tax. It could be costly for a family of four for a week, however this is not a hotel tax but a state tax and shouldn't represent the hotel quality. I would give it 3.5 out of 5.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    227
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
169
219
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned from a holiday in Rome. We stayed at Hotel Solis. It is a small hotel which is clean and well kept. The service is excellent and the staff is gentle and helpful. We will surely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirdeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

As one reviewer notes, the exterior appearance isn't quite as charming as one might expect, even by comparison to another hotel just up the block toward the Cavour Metro station. However, the interior is well done, though obviously dated and, well kept. In spite of it's location on a busy street, my 'light sleeper' tendency was not aggravated by outside activity, giving credit to proper sound insulation. By further comparison, my family rated all of our 4 hotels and actually rated this one as number 2 of 4, until an unfortunate, and certainly temporary, condition occurred on the day before our departure. Part of our favorable evaluation relates to the availability of temperature control by remote control for each room. It functioned as expected from check-in until day 3, when it began to fail in response. A call to the front desk received immediate attention. A remote reset remedied the malfunction, at least temporarily. We had the same issue on the last day. It was again reported it to the management for their attention, for the next customer. We felt strongly enough about this hotel to recommend it to friends of ours who are visiting Rome in October.

Room Tip: Our preference for a front window view was met and provided an additional dose of entertainment from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerpaw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Arriving at Hotel Solis, the run-down sign for the place had us immediately worried, but as soon as we were inside and in our rooms we found that the hotel was of a high standard! It's in a great location, a short walk from the Colosseum and Roman Forum, and is situated close to several restaurants and shops! One problem was with our room. We stayed in room 204 (I'd seen several reviews about this particular room previously, and have to agree with them!). The room is half the size of all other standard rooms in the hotel - we know this because we had our friends staying in the spacious room of 201. We were very disappointed to see we'd paid the same amount of money for an undeniably tiny room - the bathroom was long and narrow, and there was no room to walk around the bed. Our fridge didn't have a proper sealed door on it - just the cupboard door, and the bed was smaller than other rooms. In addition the wardrobe was tiny, there was no room to sit at the desk, and our window was quite small. This being said, it was comfortable and clean, but in hindsight I would like to have asked to be moved to a different room - it felt unfair!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlotteJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you intend to visit the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, this location is great. Its literally around the corner. Yes, our family room was small for 4 adults but the friendly staff made up for this and we only needed a place to sleep and store our bags. Mirko was particularly friendly and helpful, often making us coffees after returning to the hotel from our daily excursions. He gave us advice and recommended places to visit and where to shop. "Thanks Mirko. Much appreciated by the family from NZ". The hotel efficiently organised a taxi, one for 4 people plus luggage, to go to the airport and negotiated a good rate on our behalf. They were also more than happy to store our bags on our last day. The hotel was quiet and clean. Breakfast was as expected but it was nice to have hot drinks made fresh for us each morning. Service really does make a difference. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisHtl, Responsabile reception at Hotel Solis, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guests
Thank you very much for the nice words expenses for our staff and to our Hotel.
Serve our guests in the best way it is and will always be our strong point but with friendly people like you our work is more 'simple,
I hope to be of assistance in the near future
Arrivderci ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend break to Rome. Our third visit to this beautiful city. This time we chose the Hotel Solis. Initially chosen for its close proximity to the Colosseum. Backed up by the good reviews,
I wish to start by thanking the staff. From reception to breakfast room waitress to cleaners. All were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is very compact. which is usual for hotels created in old established buildings in Italy. If you like spending time in your room. Having loads of space. Marvelling at a grand reception area. This hotel is not for you.
As a base for being at the centre of Rome it is great.
Our room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. It was located at the front of the building looking out onto the main street. Initial concerns about traffic noise proved unnecessary.
Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast. Cereals, pastries, toast, cold meats and cheese. Fruit juice, tea and several types of coffee.
There are a good variety of restaurants surrounding the hotel. Turn left out of the hotel and then first left (looks like an alleyway) then first left again, and you will find La Taverna dei fori Imperiali. Famly run and well used by locals. Fanastic food and reasonable price. If you go in the opposite direction along the same street you will find a Chinese restaurant called La Pace. If you find yourself in Trestevera I can highly recommend Hostaria La Botticella, Vicolo de Leopardo. We stumbled across this restaurant by accident. The owner looked like Dawn French and acted like her. The food served was spectacular. The price was extremely reasonable. The nice thing was, when we were ordering, we wanted two side orders of roast potatoes. Dawn! said one is enough to share. She was right and we saved our self some money.
As far as sight seeing. Consider the Roma pass. Gives you three days of unlimited travel on buses trams and Metro. Plus entry to two attractions and then a discount on others. The Roma pass costs 36 euro. The beauty of this pass is you don't have to queue you just walk straight to the turnstyles. We used the pass to visit the ruins of the ancient city port of Ostia Antica, which was twenty minutes by Metro.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CenturianofRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisHtl, Responsabile reception at Hotel Solis, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guests
I take this opportunity to send you a warm hug and a special greeting to sincere and generous people like you.
We love helping our customers to make sure that your holiday is excellent and without a hitch
I hope that the hOtel Solis in the future I will be the starting point for another wonderful stay in rome
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Great location! Right around the corner from the colosseum and other main attractions.

The best part of our stay was Mirko working the desk during the evening. He was there to greet us when we checked in and was very informative about where all of the sights were, how best to reach them, and even a few insider tips on where to eat. Every night he greeted us with a smile and some friendly conversation. Without him it would not have been the same experience. His English was strong and he even taught us a few Italian phrases.

The complimentary breakfast is great and has a good choice of food and drinks. The waitress was always friendly and we enjoyed our morning meals very much!

Cleaning staff was just as friendly and always did a wonderful job.

Next time I am in rome we will definitely stay at hotel solis again and will tell our friends about it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D23b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolisHtl, Responsabile reception at Hotel Solis, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear customers,
The staff of the Hotel Solis thank you warmly and wish you a happy future and invites you back to stay at our facilities in order to offer the very best from all of us
We send our still more 'cordial greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#172 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#92 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#109 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#218 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#95 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solis

Property: Hotel Solis
Address: Via Cavour 311, 184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Rome
#155 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solis 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Solis you will immediately feel the warm and inviting atmosphere of a typical Roman residence, where you will feel right at home, just a short distance away from the Fori Imperiali (Imperial Forums) and from the Colosseum, in the fascinating historic center of the Eternal City. The hotel has rooms and areas that are tidy and well kept even in the smallest of details, managed by a multilingual staff who is always available to help you and provide you with useful information on Rome and on how to visit the most beautiful areas of the city. Hotel Solis in Rome has wi-fi free connection, an essential item for every traveller, convenient parking on the street area for those coming by car and a vast array of other services. The favorable quality and price ratio and the great location makes our hotel the ideal choice for those who wish to discover Rome and enjoy a splendid vacation, in addition to easily reaching the head offices of important firms and companies. The hotel's common areas include a bar and a reading room, great places where to spend an evening socializing with the other guests or enjoying a great movie, after a day spent visiting the historic center or at a business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Solis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solis Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing