We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel”
Review of Moscatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moscatello
Ranked #619 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 August 2012

5min walk to metro stop, so can pretty much reach every tourist stop within 20mins, and only 10-15min walk to termini station.
Perfect for budget stays as our room had a minifridge and theres a supermarket 50m up the road for breakfast and lunch stuff.
feels a bit odd first time u go into the building as its mainly flats in the block but u quickly get usd to it. would definitely stay again if we go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank oli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

This was a perfect little hotel with everything you could need for a stay in Rome. Not far from the Metro stations with helpful staff. Would stay again if I went back to Rome. Excellent value for money. Clean room and bathroom. Nice little courtyard entrance area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodie_crawford2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I loved my stay here. The staff where so welcoming and helpful. The hotel room was cleaned every day. The bed was excellent. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked Moscatello purely because of the Tripadvisor reviews listed for 2012. We have visited Rome on numerous occasions and know what we are looking for now. It was exactly what we wanted. An inexpensive hotel, a short walk from Termini (10-15mins) Metro 5 mins away, which took us all over Rome for only €1.50 (100mins) tickets can be used on metro, bus or tram and we made our way with ease around the city. This is a small hotel, like many in the area, just one floor of a lovely old building. Other floors are private residential apartments so it felt like real Rome and not tourist Rome. It is set in a peaceful suburb (Asian district) we felt safe at all times and comfortable walking the streets even late at night. Our room was on a corridor away from the main reception and at the back of the building. It was shining clean, air conditioned,modern bathroom, clean towels everyday, bottled water in a little fridge, a complimentary bottle of white wine on arrival, we couldn't hear any traffic. We didn't see any staff from arrival to departure. It felt like our own private apartment. We wanted for nothing. It was fully booked with people of all ages. There is no breakfast, but there is a breakfast snack left in the room (no charge) and hot drinks are available at the reception. We preferred to breakfast in the lovely cafes nearby. We will definitley be back and will recommend it to seasoned travellers who want to experience Rome, not a hotel chain.....

Room Tip: We had number Room 20 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fridayroiCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Moscatello. Was skeptical once going thru the door to the courtyard and dingy looking elevator but once we went into the small "hotel" everything went up. The lady at registration took less than 5mins to get us checked in, gave us a map explaining where we were in comparison to the sites. Room was clean with a private bathroom and tv. We weren't looking for a hotel to hang out in, just a clean space to rest our heads at night not too far from everything. The hotel was a little further from the metro than I would've preferred but still great for the price and cleanliness. Would return if they got wifi.

Room Tip: we had room facing courtyard and never heard any street noise that others complained about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fLyBydoLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The hotel is situated close to the underground and railway station, in some kind of a “china-town” with national shops and cafes, which is quite safe – not like the other places closer to a railway station. But it will take you quite a walk to get to attractions. Close to the hotel there’s the best ice-cream café in Rome! There is also a shop with everything you’ll need.
Rooms are clean, with comfortable bed, small but well equipped bathroom and a TV-set. As a nice addition – they give some snacks and water for breakfast, on our first day we even had a bottle of wine on the table. The bad thing was - street view is really noisy because of the trams - starting at 5 am.
Woman on a reception was very helpful – gave us a map and answered all our questions. You have you own keys to come whenever you like.


So if you are on a budget and are not afraid of walking – I’ll definitely recommend you to stay in Moscatello.

Room Tip: Rooms with a street view - are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Hotel Moscatello is a very pleasant small family-run hotel (more like a pension, really) of some 10 rooms, on level 3 of a large apartment building on Via Principe Eugenio. The rooms of clean, well furnished, the bathrooms are fine, and the reception is friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast, but the hotel provides package croissants and bottled water, so you can get a sugar hit first thing in the morning if needed... The only real disadvantage is that the hotel is some distance from the front entrance of Termini, so it is a 20 minute walk, or 2-3 stops on a tram or a bus if coming from Termini. The area is safe enough, with lots of Asian markets and shopping nearby. Generally, recommended if distance from the Termini is not a major consideration...

Room Tip: Rooms all seem similar and good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#604 of 1,272 in Rome
177 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#433 of 1,272 in Rome
560 reviews
Esquilino
Marcantonio Hotel
Marcantonio Hotel
#349 of 1,272 in Rome
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Roma Resort Trevi
Roma Resort Trevi
#447 of 1,272 in Rome
246 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#768 of 1,272 in Rome
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscatello

Address: Via Principe Eugenio 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #619 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £41 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moscatello 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moscatello is in the residential area near Piazza Vittorio. Here you can find a park and the Vittorio Emanuele Metro Station (line A), one stop to/from Termini.The Moscatello is on the 3rd floor of a renovated 19th-century building, right by one of the most famous ice cream shops in Rome. All rooms at the Moscatello are new and include a minibar. Central Station is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, architecture and ancient landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moscatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moscatello Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing