We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad and disappointing”
Review of Moscatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moscatello
Ranked #614 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad and disappointing”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I have never written a bad review before but travelers deserve to be warned about this place.
We were extremely dissatisfied and disappointed with our stay at this hotel.
The neighborhood seems unsafe. The hotel itself is only the third floor of a building and the reception area is tiny and 10 feet from the rooms. The rooms are average looking, ours had a small hole in the ceiling with a metal bar coming out of it. The sheets were old and with holes. There is no wifi. We could have tolerated all of these hotel's shortcomings but what truly made our stay extremely uncomfortable in Rome was that the noise level was intolerable. You can hear every conversation from the reception and the noise from the other rooms, even worse was the fact that there was construction going on every single day of our stay from 8am to 7pm. I am talking about loud drilling and hammering right above our room for 6 days. We expressed our discomfort to the reception but they were unresponsive.
No matter how desperate you are for a hotel DO NOT STAY HERE. It is truly a bad place and you won't be able to rest or relax in here.
Do not waste your money here like we did.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    69
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
23
78
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Nebraska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The room I had, adjacent to the reception area, got a tremendous amount of street noise. You're next to a major street, and you get trucks and buses, though it eventually quiets down late at night and early morning. I'd only stay in this hotel on an overnight basis.
It's still a long walk to the train station, 15 minutes for me, and that's once I knew the way. There's no wifi, and no English language TV channels, though there is a safe and the a.c. was ok. The bed was squeaky, the floor was dirty, and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

5min walk to metro stop, so can pretty much reach every tourist stop within 20mins, and only 10-15min walk to termini station.
Perfect for budget stays as our room had a minifridge and theres a supermarket 50m up the road for breakfast and lunch stuff.
feels a bit odd first time u go into the building as its mainly flats in the block but u quickly get usd to it. would definitely stay again if we go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank oli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This was a perfect little hotel with everything you could need for a stay in Rome. Not far from the Metro stations with helpful staff. Would stay again if I went back to Rome. Excellent value for money. Clean room and bathroom. Nice little courtyard entrance area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie_crawford2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I loved my stay here. The staff where so welcoming and helpful. The hotel room was cleaned every day. The bed was excellent. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked Moscatello purely because of the Tripadvisor reviews listed for 2012. We have visited Rome on numerous occasions and know what we are looking for now. It was exactly what we wanted. An inexpensive hotel, a short walk from Termini (10-15mins) Metro 5 mins away, which took us all over Rome for only €1.50 (100mins) tickets can be used on metro, bus or tram and we made our way with ease around the city. This is a small hotel, like many in the area, just one floor of a lovely old building. Other floors are private residential apartments so it felt like real Rome and not tourist Rome. It is set in a peaceful suburb (Asian district) we felt safe at all times and comfortable walking the streets even late at night. Our room was on a corridor away from the main reception and at the back of the building. It was shining clean, air conditioned,modern bathroom, clean towels everyday, bottled water in a little fridge, a complimentary bottle of white wine on arrival, we couldn't hear any traffic. We didn't see any staff from arrival to departure. It felt like our own private apartment. We wanted for nothing. It was fully booked with people of all ages. There is no breakfast, but there is a breakfast snack left in the room (no charge) and hot drinks are available at the reception. We preferred to breakfast in the lovely cafes nearby. We will definitley be back and will recommend it to seasoned travellers who want to experience Rome, not a hotel chain.....

Room Tip: We had number Room 20 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fridayroiCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Moscatello. Was skeptical once going thru the door to the courtyard and dingy looking elevator but once we went into the small "hotel" everything went up. The lady at registration took less than 5mins to get us checked in, gave us a map explaining where we were in comparison to the sites. Room was clean with a private bathroom and tv. We weren't looking for a hotel to hang out in, just a clean space to rest our heads at night not too far from everything. The hotel was a little further from the metro than I would've preferred but still great for the price and cleanliness. Would return if they got wifi.

Room Tip: we had room facing courtyard and never heard any street noise that others complained about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fLyBydoLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#811 of 1,256 in Rome
61 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#402 of 1,256 in Rome
241 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#705 of 1,256 in Rome
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Pensione Giamaica
Pensione Giamaica
#679 of 1,256 in Rome
50 reviews
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#820 of 1,256 in Rome
88 reviews
Esquilino
Fenicia
Fenicia
#662 of 1,256 in Rome
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscatello

Property: Moscatello
Address: Via Principe Eugenio 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #614 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moscatello 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moscatello is in the residential area near Piazza Vittorio. Here you can find a park and the Vittorio Emanuele Metro Station (line A), one stop to/from Termini.The Moscatello is on the 3rd floor of a renovated 19th-century building, right by one of the most famous ice cream shops in Rome. All rooms at the Moscatello are new and include a minibar. Central Station is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, architecture and ancient landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moscatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moscatello Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing