We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and location”
Review of Pincio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pincio
Ranked #554 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first stay at the Pincio Hotel and we would definitely stay again. The room was extremely clean and mostly comfortable, and the staff very polite and helpful. The only thing I would let other guests know is that we had to check-in and out at Hotel Concordia across the road - I don't know whether all guests have to do it, and it was no bother but it would have been helpful to know before we arrived.

The only negative really was that our bathroom door didn't lock, and occasionally would slide open by itself! We found it funny but I would imagine that other guests wouldn't...

We also ideally could have done with another pillow, but when you're at a Hotel in such a marvellous location you can't really complain over something so minor!

Overall, fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a very mixed experience at this hotel. It’s in a perfect location to be able to walk to all the sites easily. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the room we stayed in on our first night (102) was extremely cold on arrival and the air-conditioning controls did not appear to work correctly. The unit kept pumping out very cold air and every time we tried to adjust it, it kept resetting to the lowest temperature setting. The temperature was so uncomfortable that we couldn’t sleep and complained to reception during the night to see if they could help us make the system work. They said they were unable to help and gave us blankets, but it was so cold that these didn’t make a lot of difference. We eventually took out room’s the electricity card to totally switch the unit off, but as the room was at the back of the hotel and a bit damp, it never warmed up, so my wife and I had to try to sleep with extra layers of clothes on to keep warm (not what you’d expect in the Summer in Rome!).

In the morning, we complained again and the very helpful receptionist moved us to a new room, for which we were very grateful as if we were unable to move, we had intended to move to a different hotel. The receptionist said they were going to send an technician to our previous room to fix the unit. Thankfully, the new room (402) had a working air-conditioning unit and we were able to have a very comfortable second night.



When we checked out, we asked for a discount for the first night’s stay and felt this was a valid request. We were told by reception to email the manager and have since had an ongoing email conversation which we have been forced to leave unresolved. In short, firstly we were told that we hadn’t made any complaints during our stay, then we were told by the manager that it was our fault that the air conditioning unit was not operating properly. I hasten to add that my wife and I both travel a lot, so are not unfamiliar with air conditioning units; if we weren’t able to use them, how were we able to operate it with no problems in the second room? When we said that we felt we would have to include our experience in our Trip Advisor review, she replied to say she was displeased to receive a “threat” of negative comments and would not “respond to this sort of attitude” which we found quite shocking, given how polite and fair we have been in our communications.

So in summary, the hotel is in a great location, the reception staff are very helpful and friendly, but how comfortable your stay will be really depends on which room you are given. Whatever you do, don’t complain to the management!

Room Tip: Don't sleep in 102!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casualkilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had booked two rooms but when we went to check in, we like others were told there was an issue with the rooms, so they were putting us in two different hotels. After reading on tripadvisor that this seems to happen regularly, we gave them to options. 1. If we were happy with the other hotels, we would stay there for the 3 nights, or 2. Upgrade us to a 4star hotel for the one night to compensate us for the inconvenience. This clearly surprised the staff member who refused our options and surprisingly found two room keys.
We asked what the issue was, we were told there was an issue with the electronics, this excuse has been used before. It was obvious that the hotel was again overbooked, (we actually saw people coming in and out of every room, breakfast was full) it is irritating to know that the hotel consistently does this.
The staff member was rude, rolled her eyes and told us that other people don't mind moving hotels.
The room is sufficient but very small, bathroom ok, breakfast average but good coffee. Good location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gogo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The sister hotel to the Concordia across the road. Messed up checking in meaning our party was split in to the 2 hotels with the promise the 2nd room in The Pincio would be ready the following day. The Concordia room was very dated - functional but no A/C so very warm. Managed to relocate though later in the afternoon. The Pincio rooms were adequate. No frills or luxuries. The bathroom was a good size, the toiletries provided were of a very low quality so take your own shampoo, shower gel etc..... Shabby round the edges. The bed was hard but OK. No softness here! And the bells every morning at 7 am... irritatiing Breakfast adequate, no variety but the fresh coffee was good. The terrace is locked during the day so didn't feel able to use it as a chill area before hitting the streets. A good location but not the quality as indicated on the web-site

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soojread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Good clean, small hotel. Good breakfast, helpful staff and minutes from Spanish Steps and everything else! We had two rooms on two different levels and the AC in the lower level room was much cooler than the top floor that I had with my niece. Wifi was terrible, you step out of your room into the hall and its gone again and you have to sign in again!

Rome in summer is unbearably hot and crowded! You have been warned! Hotel and flight through expedia from London was an excellent price booked through expedia.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room in the hotel opposite the main hotel. There are two buildings and the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank attia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On our return from NCL Jade Med cruise we stayed at the Hotel Pincio in district of Spagna Italy-Rome We had a minimalist room-creative stall shower-bidet, but sadly amenities were more than mediocre Never replaced the tissues and the AC not controlled in room-central Too hot!!!!. The Sophia restaurant across from the hotel was fantastic and really inexpensive for the quality and service we received---the flatbread was superb and the entrees very inventive-

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank olympus903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel Pincio is centrally located, making it easy to hit all of the highlights of Rome (Fountain of Trevi, Spanish Steps, The Pantheon, Villa Medici, Piazza del Popolo), plus an easy walk to the metro. The rooms are modern and very clean. The two restaurants (not affiliated) that are downstairs from the hotel are both great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msamelia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#662 of 1,271 in Rome
585 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#113 of 1,271 in Rome
867 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#581 of 1,271 in Rome
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Spanish Art Hotel
Spanish Art Hotel
#595 of 1,271 in Rome
161 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#301 of 1,271 in Rome
285 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#152 of 1,271 in Rome
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pincio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pincio

Address: Via Capo le Case 50, 187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #554 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £71 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pincio 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pincio is located in the heart of the city between Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The Hotel offers a unique location for sightseeing, monuments, shopping and business. from the terrace where breakfast is served 365 days a year, you have a wonderful view of the city. All rooms have the best services and Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pincio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pincio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing