We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”
Review of Hotel Lella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lella
Ranked #1,122 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This place is disgusting and misleading! We found this as "hostel" lella. This is not the case. This is a dingy hotel. It offers free wifi but can only be used in the reception which is slow anyway. The actual room was very old. There was holes in the bed sheets and we found hair in the bed before we got in it. As two women in our early 20s we thought it was weird that you have to give them your key when you leave so they know you're gone. Coming back from dinner the one night we stayed the room smelled of men's cologne as if someone had been in there. The shower was scummy and the plug was clogged with other people's hair. When we said we weren't happy and wanted to leave early the receptionist laughed in our face and told us there was no way we were getting a refund for the nights we had paid for in advance. Disgusting and worst place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laineyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed in a private room in a separate building down the street. The room was pretty much a 3 bedroom apartment. It had a shared bathroom, which was a little dirty. We had not seen anyone else in the apartment, so it was like having our own place. We could lock our room for added security. It's a pretty easy walk from the Roma terminal, but can be a drag if you have suitcases. The complimentary breakfast was a simple coffee and danish from the local store next to the hostel. The staff is not always there, so make sure you have enough tp and towels during the day. We felt very safe walking around the area at night. Overall, I say it was a great price for a private and convenient location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bp567924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Lella hostel is placed in a very good location, near to Rome's railway station and next to a sub line. We booked a four bed room there and we stayed for two nights. It was the dirtiest room i have ever been. Small bathroom, with dirty towels which were full of holes, uncomfortable beds and a small closet which contained a dirty kitchen!!! The only good thing besides the location is that the staff is very friendly and helpful. Generally Lella hostel is not value for money and i don't think that it is a good option for any kind of traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ftylos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

They lost our reservation & ended up giving us a double ensuite (we had booked a shared bathroom) which we thought was good but the bathroom was terrible. Lots of mold and mildew and it really stank. There was a terrible air-freshener smell that the room was saturated in to try to mask this awful bathroom stench but it just combined to create extreme nausea. We left the windows wide open all night and it only made it barely tolerable (though it was a very noisy street so that resulted in a lousy night's sleep). There was a pregnant lady who arrived at the same time as us who ended up leaving because their room smelled just as bad (it was midnight and we were really only sleeping there so we decided to stick it out rather than finding someplace else so late).
Wifi is weak & only in the lobby. The free luggage holding is just leaving your bags in the lobby.
If you're on the 2nd floor, you have to tell them everytime you want to go in because they have to buzz the door open for you, also they wanted you to leave the key to the room at the front desk whenever you left (We just "forgot" and took it with us!).
There was supposed to be breakfast included, but they don't advertise it at all, and I saw from another patron that you have to get a voucher from the front desk then walk to some restaurant not onsite.
If it weren't for the smell it would a decent place to just spend the night given Rome is so expensive, but I'd rather pay the money for someplace nicer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Location not too bad from Roma terminal,really nice and helpful good staff and also free breakfast. Even though just a muffin and a drink.Reasonable price with the service with a bathroom and tv. not bad in general

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel Lella is fantastic! Ali in the reception is highly cooperative if you are gentle towards him. He can make your stay way better from that what you were first expecting. Any problem, inside or outside, he can deal with it ;) We didn't try the breakfast because we were allowed to sleep so long, but the hotel's position is anyways brilliant. A few minutes walk from the main train station Termini, cheap but classy restaurants all over the streets and a good nightlife. Don't forget to say hello and bring muffins to the guards at the British Embassay ;)

Room Tip: Ask for A/C, and you'll see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jussi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

lella was a big disappointment for us. it has at least two parts, i think there's a big difference between them. we had a four bedded room with the cheapest, oldest beds. my "pillow" was a folded old blanket. the bathroom has no window or any ventillation, so it is black from mildew. there's no mop, chair or peg for your clothes. the towel is really tiny. the bar was ok, the caffee and the croissants are great. it's close to the termini station, and there are a lot of bus stops nearby.
if you travel to visit rome, and spend most of the time in the city, you can easily survive this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szerintem_nem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#684 of 1,272 in Rome
162 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,145 of 1,272 in Rome
60 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,037 of 1,272 in Rome
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#683 of 1,272 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#1,032 of 1,272 in Rome
172 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lella

Address: Via Palestro 9, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,122 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £33 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lella 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lella Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing